We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Paradise Resort
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Ngwe Saung
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a lovely hotel set in lovely gardens right on the sandy beach. Hawkers are mostly kept at a distance. The room was excellent and clean and good bathroom. The staff all friendly and well dressed. Not many other foreign guests, mostly well-heeled Burmese. The happy hour which was 2 hours long was an attraction. The restaurant was terrific with good choice of meals all presented well. Outside restaurants were a little hit or miss but all friendly. I think they don't see many foreigners.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 67 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel has a mixture of really good and really bad. Unfortunately the really bad predominates so I would not be recommending this hotel to anyone!

The first problem is the location. In a fast car, flying over the bumps, uneven surfaces and pot-holes it is just under a 5 hours transfer from Yangon airport. In a more luxurious coach, another group took 7 hours to do the same journey. Because it is so difficult to get there, at least the resort was quiet (in October) with only about 6 groups staying in what is quite a large hotel complex at the north end of Ngwe Saung. The sister hotel next door, the Dream Paradise Resort, appeared to be open but empty!

Then there are the rooms ... Our first room was dark, damp and musty. On arrival we asked to change room, but the second room if anything was even worse. Not only was the room warm and still smelling of a horrid musty dampness, but the cushions were also dirty. Later when I went to bed, even the bed smelt damp and musty! The staff though were excellent. They changed the cushions and damp towels and sprayed the room with air freshener and mosquito repellent. However the musty smell remained for the 3 nights we were there.

The hotel suffers from lack of power. Air conditioning is turned off between 7am and 1pm, and the hot water is also on a part-time supply. There is no air conditioning (not even a ceiling fan) in the central hotel complex, which can be really hot if there’s no breeze.

On the positive side there are the hotel grounds, pool (salt water), children’s pool area, Jacuzzi and beach. The setting on clean and a deserted beach is just wonderful. The sea is never far away, and is free from rocks, sea-urchins and other nasties. There were a few motor cycle boys offering lifts up and down the beach, a few horses and other peddlers, but they were not a problem at all.

There’s a few good local restaurants in the village (about a 20 minute walk), but really, the food at the hotel is excellent, with similar prices and offering excellent vistas across the Bay of Bengal. I recommend the Prawn Tempura (about £3)! If you do eat locally, many of the restaurants are not licensed for spirits, so if you order a local gin, rum or whisky you’ll get a whole bottle from a local shop to pour yourself for the same price as a beer!

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get a damp room. So-called Superior rooms are basic, so go for Delux !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John4One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We decided to add a beach extension but with political unrest at the booked Ngpali beach it was off to Ngwe Saung instead.

Firstly... the 6 hours from Yangon by minibus is long, boring, very rough road and with very little 'amenities'. That said you do see a lot of local way of life. Also, when you get to the winding teak road...its still an hour until the sea appears - be patient.

When we checked in we were allocated a Superior garden view room.. read dark, dingy, cramped, old rooms... old ac, big old tele and a bucket in the cramp bathroom - no idea! However, a mere $70 a night extra and we were soon in the Executive sea view rooms... well worth the nominal fee.

Massive beds, separate shower, toilet and sink, flat screen 42" tv (only Chinese channels though), a veranda, balcony, sun loungers, fridge etc. etc. Right up there with western deluxe rooms. The view over the Bay of Bengal past the palm trees was stunning!

The hotel food was excellent, especially useful as the town of Ngwe Saung didn't really have any perceivable restaurants that we saw. The beach was clean, the crabs abundant, the locals very friendly and the sun very very hot.

At the time of our stay, 12 guests were in the whole resort making this an extremely quiet, relaxing and attentive stay. At times we were the only ones on the three miles of beach! The spa was acceptable, but don't expect Sushido as advertised.

So all in all, pay for the Exec rooms, go in the quiet season and so long as you're not expecting Maldives style luxury, by Myanmar standards this is truly luxurious hotel indeed...

The only downsides were no a'c from 7am - 1pm and hot water slots in am and pm.. but the water was still hot outside those hours. And in context to the local village, this is a small price to pay and easily overcome.

Just need a local airport to avoid the journey back to Yangon!

(PS, although we didn't stay in the sun too long, it could do with a) beach bar service, b) pool bar open, c) pool not looking like its full of chemical mist ... but the you do have the sea!)

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Executive rooms... worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJK0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were warned and we should have listened. They told us that all the good beach hotels were closed in July. Ngapali was closed, the good hotels in Ngwe Saung were closed. But our family loves beaches and we thought, even if it rained, the beaches would be beautiful. Well, the Bay water is indeed warm and exhilerating. But the Ocean Paradise Hotel is smelly, hot, lacks water, has horrible room service food and its beaches are dirty. The manager is enthusiastic and the people who work there are kind and pleasant; they seem thrilled that anyone would stay with them in the off season. The breakfasts are good. We booked four nights and jumped ship after two. We thought we would redeem the long drive by riding elephants at the famous park near Ngwe Saung, but they were unavailable when we showed up.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank KatherineKyiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We were expecting very much to this hotel but we were really disappointed when we checked in. We chose to stay in the most expensive sea view rooms n we were told that there will be 24 hrs power on with limited time of AC. But we have to change 3 rooms cos the AC of each room is not working. The staff were already aware of the spoiled AC of those room n they put us in those rooms. I was so nervous and annoyed n when I made complaints to them, they didn't take it seriously n just acting it was what we deserved. Breakfast is also disappointing with very limited choices. Staff responses are really slow. Many improvements are needed to be done there.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huizhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This hotel is only OK. The gardens are nice but everything else is only fair. I stayed in an overpriced garden view room that really had a view of the driveway and was far from the beach- far enough I couldn't hear the surf. The room was clean, two twin beds (why not a queen or king for a single traveler), and was cheaply constructed.There's no 24-hour AC although it is on at night which is important, and the hours on the hot water are limited also. The breakfast buffet was fair- heavy on fried noodles and rice, although they did make fresh eggs to order. The reception didn't have my reservation when I checked in and spent 10 minutes arguing with me that there wasn't one but I could pay there if I wanted. I had to suggest they call their Rangoon office where they did indeed find the paid reservation. Why didn't they think of that rather than arguing with me?

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesTravels2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The hotel was clean, felt safe and the staff were very accomodating.

My main concerns could be viewed in the details of the hotel, electricity is limited affecting the air conditioning (difficult during the hot season) and the hot water. I also felt the international buffet while sufficient, was primarily Asian food.

Their masseurs (at the spa) were quite good and professional.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigger2lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ngwe Saung hotels
4.3 mi away
Ngwe Saung Yacht Club and Resort
1.0 mi away
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
Eskala Hotels and Resorts
#1 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Paradise
Ocean Paradise
#12 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#7 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
42 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Emerald Sea Resort
The Emerald Sea Resort
#3 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay of Bengal Resort
Bay of Bengal Resort
#4 of 13 in Ngwe Saung
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Paradise Resort

Address: Ngwe Saung, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Ayeyarwady Region > Ngwe Saung
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ngwe Saung
Price Range: $103 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunny Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Paradise Hotel Ngwe Saung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing