We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Derek and Steph's Umbrian Oasis”
Review of La Serena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castiglione della Valle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Serena
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our second visit and there's still so many attractions to see and experience within easy range of La Serena. The guest house is so thoughtfully equipped to accomodate both abled and disabled visitors in comfort and it is a perfect base for visiting central Italy.

But it's Derek and Steph that really make the holiday with their local knowledge, their command of the Italian language and their tireless efforts to ensure that their guests enjoy their stay. Derek "ices the cake" with his delicious breakfasts and gourmet dinners and Steph puts the cherry on top with her desserts.

I've read through almost all of the reviews posted by other visitors and heartily concur with the praise given. Many give great detail which I won't repeat here but I recommend these reviews to anyone considering a first-time visit to La Serena.

Something that I didn't notice in the previous reviews us the well-stocked library that includes novels and biographies, music CDs and DVDs of well-known movies and TV shows. There is a DVD player in the guest lounge and a portable DVD player available for use in your room.

We enjoy La Serena so much that we're hoping to bring our whole family back for a third visit soon.

John and Carol x

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Owner at La Serena, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you SO much for such a lovely review and for coming back to stay with us again. As before, we really enjoyed your company, both of you and certainly look forward to seeing you again :))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 71 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Delightfull place to stay for a few days, charming hosts, luxury of space and quality of fittings unusual for Umbria. Good breakfast with cheerful hosts
Execllent for we two worn out travellers. Easy access from Perugia airport on arrival
Feeling of space from car park to dinning room
regards
George & Edith

Room Tip: Ground floor has very good acess for impaired walkers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Owner at La Serena, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review... Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

La Serena is a quiet, relaxing place, ideal for recharging one's batteries. We had a great welcome from Stephanie and Derek. We had a palatial suite with a huge bathroom and a very comfortable big bed. It was beutifully furnished and well thought through with the guests' convenience in mind, from the non slip mat in the shower to the morning tea tray. We loved the personal touches such as the bathroom favours and chocolates on the pillows. The breakfast was a real feast - the best we have ever had in Italy. We shall definitely return, the area is great for out of season exploration. A definite recommendation!

Room Tip: The downstairs suite is very private and spacious and suitable for wheelchair users.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edith22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Owner at La Serena, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you SO much for such a lovely review, Steph xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A warm welcome awaits you at La Serena, Steph and Derek go out of their way to ensure that their guests have everything they need for a fabulous holiday, from guided tours of Perugia and Assisi to wine tasting in the local area - nothing is too much trouble for this amazing couple.
When you stay there make sure you book for dinner - Derek's cooking is out of this world, we had the best meal of our holiday at La Serena.
Everything about our stay was top class - we hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ele2618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Owner at La Serena, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you SO much for this lovely review :)) Looking forward to seeing you again as soon as you can come over...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We cannot praise La Serena high enough. It's been the true discovery of a trip whose main objective was the discovery of Umbria. We not only discovered an amazing land but also an amazing couple. Stephanie and Derek run La Serena with exquisite care, passion and dedication. You feel at home and in some respects even better than being at home. We are vey much looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agazzaniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Owner at La Serena, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review - looking forward to seeing you again!
All the best, Steph & Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Great service, great food and fantastic friends.
Steph and Derek makes your holiday into a great experience.Dereks cooking and Stephs
cakes are to die for....
They help you with a visit to different cantinas around the area.Don`t drink too much wine!
The swimmingpool is very nice and clean. The BBQ they served us was magic.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank øyvind f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Owner at La Serena, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments :))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

‘La Serena’ isn’t just a B&B. It’s a place you dream about and a place that you don’t want to leave.
The location is perfect for soaking up the riches of Umbria. The charming B&B is surrounded by stunning countryside and views of historical villages with cobbled streets and character. Beyond the scenic surroundings are places of great interest and curiosity such as Assisi, Todi, Gubio and many more intriguing towns with castles and churches. You don’t need to be on the coast to find a sandy beach because the lake at Castiglione del Lago has its own.
The choices for day trips, restaurants and vineyards are endless and that is one of many reasons why we are returning to ‘La Serena’ next year.
When approaching the delightful B&B from an elevated position you can admire the style of the building. It is a large Italian villa where the grounds are divided into what feels like little rooms. There are landscaped gardens, a lawn area, vines and a good choice of outside seating options. The swimming pool is a great added bonus, an ideal size with ample sunbeds and umbrellas.
The property is kept in pristine condition and there is ample space for parking. We recommend that you hire a car for your stay in this part of Umbria although transport can be organized if requested.
‘La Serena’ is an enchanting B&B and the owners, Steph and Derek have a great eye for detail and the care for their guests is refreshing, helpful but not intrusive.
The catering is of a very high standard. Fresh, varied, ambitious and extremely tasty. There are refreshments available all day and plenty of Vino!
The en-suite bedrooms are a generous size with good quality bathrooms. In the bedroom there are dressing gowns, tea and coffee making facilities, pool towels, a hair dryer and chocolates on arrival.
I am well-travelled and I would say that Steph and Derek have hit the nail on the head and created a wonderful B&B. Their knowledge and hospitality makes 'La Serena' an ideal place for couples and families to stay at.
Steph and Derek seem to have achieved the perfect balance and many should learn from them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel-Bedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Owner at La Serena, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review of La Serena.
Very much looking forward to seeing you again next year!! All the best, Steph & Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena

Address: Vocabolo Capannella 3, 06055 Castiglione della Valle, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Castiglione della Valle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglione della Valle
Price Range: $100 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Serena provides a peaceful luxury "home-away-from-home" - with wonderful food too (our guests tell us so!). All rooms/suites are en-suite with lots of little extras to make your stay very comfortable. Outside we have a very large swimming pool, access to lots of paths and tracks, plus bicycles and other activities. Located centrally, you can explore old towns and villages, lakes, mountains, and both the Mediterranean and Adriatic coasts! Come soon.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Serena Italy/Castiglione Della Valle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing