We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene joy at La Serena”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Serena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castiglione della Valle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Serena
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Serene joy at La Serena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

La Serena is a quiet, relaxing place, ideal for recharging one's batteries. We had a great welcome from Stephanie and Derek. We had a palatial suite with a huge bathroom and a very comfortable big bed. It was beutifully furnished and well thought through with the guests' convenience in mind, from the non slip mat in the shower to the morning tea tray. We loved the personal touches such as the bathroom favours and chocolates on the pillows. The breakfast was a real feast - the best we have ever had in Italy. We shall definitely return, the area is great for out of season exploration. A definite recommendation!

Room Tip: The downstairs suite is very private and spacious and suitable for wheelchair users.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Owner at La Serena, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you SO much for such a lovely review, Steph xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

A warm welcome awaits you at La Serena, Steph and Derek go out of their way to ensure that their guests have everything they need for a fabulous holiday, from guided tours of Perugia and Assisi to wine tasting in the local area - nothing is too much trouble for this amazing couple.
When you stay there make sure you book for dinner - Derek's cooking is out of this world, we had the best meal of our holiday at La Serena.
Everything about our stay was top class - we hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ele2618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Owner at La Serena, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you SO much for this lovely review :)) Looking forward to seeing you again as soon as you can come over...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We cannot praise La Serena high enough. It's been the true discovery of a trip whose main objective was the discovery of Umbria. We not only discovered an amazing land but also an amazing couple. Stephanie and Derek run La Serena with exquisite care, passion and dedication. You feel at home and in some respects even better than being at home. We are vey much looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agazzaniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Owner at La Serena, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review - looking forward to seeing you again!
All the best, Steph & Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Great service, great food and fantastic friends.
Steph and Derek makes your holiday into a great experience.Dereks cooking and Stephs
cakes are to die for....
They help you with a visit to different cantinas around the area.Don`t drink too much wine!
The swimmingpool is very nice and clean. The BBQ they served us was magic.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank øyvind f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Owner at La Serena, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

‘La Serena’ isn’t just a B&B. It’s a place you dream about and a place that you don’t want to leave.
The location is perfect for soaking up the riches of Umbria. The charming B&B is surrounded by stunning countryside and views of historical villages with cobbled streets and character. Beyond the scenic surroundings are places of great interest and curiosity such as Assisi, Todi, Gubio and many more intriguing towns with castles and churches. You don’t need to be on the coast to find a sandy beach because the lake at Castiglione del Lago has its own.
The choices for day trips, restaurants and vineyards are endless and that is one of many reasons why we are returning to ‘La Serena’ next year.
When approaching the delightful B&B from an elevated position you can admire the style of the building. It is a large Italian villa where the grounds are divided into what feels like little rooms. There are landscaped gardens, a lawn area, vines and a good choice of outside seating options. The swimming pool is a great added bonus, an ideal size with ample sunbeds and umbrellas.
The property is kept in pristine condition and there is ample space for parking. We recommend that you hire a car for your stay in this part of Umbria although transport can be organized if requested.
‘La Serena’ is an enchanting B&B and the owners, Steph and Derek have a great eye for detail and the care for their guests is refreshing, helpful but not intrusive.
The catering is of a very high standard. Fresh, varied, ambitious and extremely tasty. There are refreshments available all day and plenty of Vino!
The en-suite bedrooms are a generous size with good quality bathrooms. In the bedroom there are dressing gowns, tea and coffee making facilities, pool towels, a hair dryer and chocolates on arrival.
I am well-travelled and I would say that Steph and Derek have hit the nail on the head and created a wonderful B&B. Their knowledge and hospitality makes 'La Serena' an ideal place for couples and families to stay at.
Steph and Derek seem to have achieved the perfect balance and many should learn from them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel-Bedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Owner at La Serena, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review of La Serena.
Very much looking forward to seeing you again next year!! All the best, Steph & Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

I can only endorse what everybody else says about La Serena. Steph and Derek could not be more welcoming, the house is beautiful, the rooms superb and the breakfasts and dinners are absolutely teriffic. The dogs are great fun as well. The great thing is that Steph and Derek are plainly interested in making your stay as memorable as possible. They really go out of their way to make you feel that you have a home from home in their house and to ensure that you have everything that you need.

Great value and we shall certainly go back again when we can.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spurstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie M, Owner at La Serena, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments - we hope to see you again soooooonnnnn.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Had a wonderful 3 night stay either side of renting a villa in Umbria. Derek & Steph are very friendly and accommodating; extremely knowledgeable about Italy and the bonus; great cooks (Steph makes the desserts)! The house is bigger than the pictures suggest with a lovely family feel, large swimming pool and breakfasts as good as any boutique hotels I have visited. Also, La Serena is a perfect base from which to discover Umbria (Assisi, Trevi, Terni, Todi, Spoleto) and only 40 mins from Perugia airport.
Steph & Derek deserve the best reviews as they work incredibly hard to make you welcome, show a genuine interest in children and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSWtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena

Property: La Serena
Address: Vocabolo Capannella 3 | Castiglione della Valle, 06055 Castiglione della Valle, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Castiglione della Valle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglione della Valle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Serena provides a peaceful luxury "home-away-from-home" - with wonderful food too (our guests tell us so!). All rooms/suites are en-suite with lots of little extras to make your stay very comfortable. Outside we have a very large swimming pool, access to lots of paths and tracks, plus bicycles and other activities. Located centrally, you can explore old towns and villages, lakes, mountains, and both the Mediterranean and Adriatic coasts! Come soon.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Serena Italy/Castiglione Della Valle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing