We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
68
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteph and derekhome from homeevery morningexcellent accommodationhire carhostsumbriamealshousecookingholidaycuisinetoursheartwinevillabase
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 72 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Absolutely excellent place to stay if you want to see Umbria. Wonderful food, high standards, lovely pool,comfortable spacious en suite double rooms, The warmest welcome from lovely English Italian speaking couple whose main aim is to make sure your holiday is memorable from morning till night, offering a delicious hearty breakfast down to helping out with trips/directions etc. Dinner can also be arranged for a very reasonable price. Also one evening was a superb Barbie!!

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and well appointed.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobby63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

What a holiday! Excellent accommodation and cuisine. Superb views. Steph and Derek couild not be more helpful or hospitable. Nothing to criticise! Derek's cooking iand knowledge of food is a real experience. Steph's knowledge of the region, with regard to geography, culture etc was an enormous help. Superb swimmimg pool. always with enough sun loungers! Swimming towels provided, but necessary for claimimg a lounger! Large bedroom with two armchairs, ceiling fan, and bath/shower. In all, a wonderful experience which we will repeat!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliveatturweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

A very welcoming hotel, clean, nothing was too much trouble . A very peaceful location, yet close to wonderful cities and villages. Food fantastic.
I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kangasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

From the moment my daughter and I meet Steph and Derek, we knew we were going to be "taken care of" in the best of ways. La Serena is lovely -- its location (the Italian countryside is amazing), its furnishings, its comfortable beds, its big bathrooms, its library with wifi, its solar panels, and most importantly, its hosts! Steph and Derek are just the nicest couple and they are very knowledgeable about the Umbrian region of Italy. Their ability to speak English and Italian was very helpful to us. My daughter and I really enjoyed taking the escorted tours with them to the Medieval villages and Perugia. Steph booked our train tickets for a one day trip to Florence and she provided transportation to and from the train station. And then there is Derek and his kitchen -- he cooked a yummy breakfast every morning and his dinners were absolutely delicious. Our favorites were the lasagne and the roasted potatoes. Steph and Derek truly share their home with you and for that -- my daughter and I will be forever grateful. Without a doubt, Steph and Derek's La Serena is the best B&B ever!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101610Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

A warm welcome awaits you at La Serena. Nothing is too much trouble for the kind and generous hosts Steph and Derek.
The bedrooms are beautiful with nice attention to detail, from the tea and coffee making facility (rare in Italy) to the bathroom soaps and shampoo's.
The guest house is set in a peaceful location in the Umbrian countryside that affords beautiful views. Steph and Derek's hints and tips were invaluable helping to make the most of visits to the hilltop towns and villages - where to park, easiest routes, where to lunch....
I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at La Serena, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mango33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews