We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Life at its Best”
Review of Brompton Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brompton Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Brompton B&B and Inns
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Country Life at its Best”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Brompton several times since December 2010 as we have needed to visit an elderly relative in nearby Cross Houses. We have been made very welcome on each occasion and for this we thank the friendly staff and especially Anda.
We love staying in the Attingham room which overlooks the front of the Farmhouse, but every room is tastefully decorated and charming with en suite facilities. The lovely Georgian sitting room with log fire in the winter months, coffee and homemade cake in the afternoon, and the great breakfasts (with free range eggs) all contribute to a warm and pleasant stay. Our only complaint is that we wish it was our house!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Y0rkshire_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Friendly staff, a clean spacious room, nice lawn with seating, prefect for a nice coffee.

Try the restaurant (not the bar) in the nearby Mytton and Mermaid for a wonderful meal at a great price!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanhardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I stayed here for one night last night, the 22nd Feb. From a lovely greeting with a hot, fresh pot of tea to a fab breakfast on departure I rate this B and B a rare 5/5. Just don't book when I want to come back..... I am a regular visitor to Telford for work meetings and I have found a gem of a place to rest my head. I am middle aged with very young children and found the place very very quite (lovely for me!!) and off the beaten track so it wouldn't suit young folk I don't think. The house is in the middle of no where! Nick in Harrogate.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NICK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend with my partner. It's in a beautiful rural location yet only 5-10 minutes drive from Shrewsbury town centre. Very comfy beds and friendly staff. Spent the Saturday night at the cookery school which is on the same site as the B&B on one of their demo and dine evenings which was great, lovely food and lots of tips picked up from the chef. Planning to visit shropshire again in the summer when the weather is a bit warmer and will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RB452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

greeting by beautiful staff, house itself set in a stunning garden, bedroom very spacious with everything we needed, and food topped our weekend off, cooked to perfection. would definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becky1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

After a long drive, to be greeted by a smile, a roaring fire and tea and cakes was pure heaven. Our room was attractive, clean and most importantly super quality beds.
We were advised to eat out at the Mytton and Mermaid which was excellent. Our breakfast in the morning was superb. I had eggs benedict with a lovely hollandaise sauce, my husband went for the full cooked, which set us up for a day of house hunting.
Returning back that evening, it was as though we were old friends. Anda was so helpful, always smiling and her breakfasts top class.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate186414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2010

stayed here for a friends wedding,farmhouse bit out of the way,even the taxi firm couldnt find it! We were shown to our room on the top floor which looked ok on first glance as we unpacked i noticed a terrible smell coming from the bathroom,which also looked ok on first glance,unfortunately we couldnt use it for our stay as someone had been sick in there probably on the carpet the smell was terrible,complained to the only member of staff on duty who said she could smell it,the only solution was to use a bathroom on the next floor down in a room that was being refurbished! Not a happy visitor complained again by letter and not even had a reply! Would never recommend this farmhouse!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonbdisappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brompton
1.1 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Wroxeter Hotel
The Wroxeter Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wroxeter
638 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
634 reviews
5.8 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,190 reviews
4.6 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brompton Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brompton Farmhouse

Property: Brompton Farmhouse
Address: Lower Brompton Farm Near CROSS | Shrewsbury, Brompton SY5 6LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Brompton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brompton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brompton Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our delightful National Trust Bed and Breakfast Farmhouse is set in extensive lawns and gardens just three miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. The house is a haven of peace, comfort and elegance. It has been beautifully decorated and refurbished. Enjoy our lovely farmhouse breakfast with local Shropshire produce. Surrounding the bed and breakfast are a fantastic range of outbuildings with stables and 450 acres of farmland which leads down to the River Severn. We have rare breed chickens, horses in the paddocks and bees busy around their hives. A few steps across the garden will take you to our vegetable garden and orchard - why not choose something fresh for your supper. Elegant and stylish rooms - super king beds, comfy chairs and fluffy white towels allow you to relax and pamper yourself. All our bedrooms have televisions, tea/coffee making facilities and hair driers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Brompton Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing