We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very civilised Afternoon Tea”
Review of The Wroxeter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wroxeter Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxeter
Telford
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very civilised Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Could not have picked a more perfect afternoon (well Sunday lunchtime to be exact) with regards to weather to take Afternoon Tea at the Wroxeter Hotel. We bought the Groupon deal a few months earlier and was very very impressed with what we got.

We were served by very professional staff and seated away from the Sunday lunch diners, in a lovely conservatory with lovely views of The Wrekin in the distance.

After a large glass of bubbly, our food arrived on a bone china afternoon tea cake stand and was so plentiful I would not recommend eating much before hand. The sandwiches had obviously been made a little earlier then stored in the fridge as they were a little bit 'cold' but everything was tasty, beautifully presented and all served on bone china.

A very civilised way to spend a sunny Sunday afternoon in September.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffees_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    192
    129
    54
    53
See reviews for
105
353
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was a very enjoyable break.

The food was excellent, even the 16 course Roman Banquet.

The room was spotless.

The only thing marring the break was the noisy extractor fan in the bathroom, when you used it, and the noisy floorboards from the bedroom above us.

Apart from that it was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Two night deal which included the Roman banquet. Room was okay, we were in the older part of the hotel. Breakfast was very good with quite a good variety. Wouldn't really recommend the Roman banquet unless it was part of a deal. Banquet was not great value for money if paying full price. Hotel located in a lovely part of Shropshire.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
302 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lovely selection of cakes but sandwich fillings could have been a little more inventive and nowadays there is a great variety of bread available so to be served with ordinary brown and white sliced was also a little uninspiring. Waiter was pleasant but I did have to go looking for him when we wanted our hot drinks to be served

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed for a two nights on KGB deal. The driveway up to the hotel is beautiful trees and lawns kept really lovely what a great setting for a wedding. On entering the hotel we were met by a very friendly and helpful member of staff. The bedroom was very nice lovely views over the fields and the room and bathroom were extremely clean. In with the deal we had breakfast on both days could not fault it staff again really helpful and friendly.
We enjoyed this break so much just booked again for September .

Room Tip: We stayed facing the front over looking the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liddier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here on a 'special' 2-night B&B plus 16-course Roman Banquet. The banquet was not the best cooked food I've ever eaten but was plentiful and readily edible and the waiting-on staff were extremely good sports, resulting in a thoroughly entertaining evening.

The hotel itself is spacious and welcoming and the rooms spotless and is located in open countryside with ponies and alpacas grazing in the adjoining fields. A mere quarter mile away is the Wroxeter Roman City remains; the 4th largest roman city to have existed in Britain and well worth the visit.

Furthermore, it is only 5 miles from Shrewsbury with its plethora of restaurants and historic buildings and a similar distance from Much Wenlock (the origin of the modern Olympics). This makes the hotel an ideal location for a short break or even a week-long break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

terrible night, food was nothing special, and the entertainment was horrendous, i complained to the manager who was of no help, and the lady who was in charge on the night remembers us being upset,along with others..i have put a review on the Wroxeter hotel and resturant instead of this one, so im doing the review again on here!!.. what they advirtised is not what we got!! 40/50 yr old men acting like they did was not entertainment, and the ladies who clothes and handbags which got distroyed should complain too... avoid any night out there if i was you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelainay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wroxeter hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroxeter
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
5.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
4.8 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
4.5 mi away
Lord Hill Hotel
Lord Hill Hotel
#13 of 16 in Shrewsbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wroxeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wroxeter Hotel

Property: The Wroxeter Hotel
Address: Wroxeter, Wroxeter SY5 6PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wroxeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wroxeter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful countryside halfway between Telford and Shrewsbury, The Wroxeter Hotel enjoys easy access from the A5 and M54. With modern and well appointed bedrooms, The Wroxeter is ideal for short breaks and "getaways"; walking and country pursuits holidays; and for business travelers looking for something more than just a room. We are family run and excel in traditional cooking and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, LateRooms, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Wroxeter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Wroxeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing