We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea - FANTASTIC ( Service lets it down )”
Review of The Wroxeter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wroxeter Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxeter
kidderminster
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea - FANTASTIC ( Service lets it down )”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My Wife and I visited for Afternoon Tea on a Groupon voucher deal.

Would rate as follows.

TEA
------ 10/10 Fantastic- Great selection of sandwiches / biscuits / cakes & scones.

STAFF
--------- 9/10 Welcoming and friendly.

LOCATION
-------------- 9/10 Beautiful area.

BAR
----- 6/10 Gloomy

TEA ROOM
--------------- 8/10 Very pleasant & comfortable

SERVICE
----------- 3/10 Oh Dear what a letdown.

Decided to have a drink at the bar before Tea. Although there seemed to be no other customers around this took an age to arrive,

Having then been seated in the Tea Room sandwiches cakes etc eventually arrived but NO TEA !!!!!

Upon waitng another 10 minutes I eventually spoke to reception and after a further 10 minutes Pot of Tea arrived.

Nevertheless the food and belated tea were both first class and given the service could be a little smarter the Hotel is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseskidderminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    191
    131
    54
    54
See reviews for
106
354
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I took my mother, father in law and husband for afternoon tea here. When we arrived it was full of promise two beautiful china cake stands full of beautiful little cakes stood on the main reception I was so excited for my family as they hadn't been for afternoon tea before. We were shown into the bar area which seemed clean and we were asked if we wanted a drink of sparkling wine or pimms. Once our drinks were served a waitress bounded up to us with a Buffett plate of sandwiches and asked if we were here for the tea when we said we were she asked us to follow her and the sandwiches into the conservatory. We were served with triangular tuna, cheese and ham sandwiches all shoved on to an oval serving plate with a few nachos sprinkled over the top. The cakes were slightly better but served in the same way and the jam for the scones was certainly not jam and was very runny. This was not the decadent treat I had hoped for my mom in laws 50th I am not a snob but I know what afternoon tea is supposed to be like and this wasn't it. I think my husband had the best description of what we did yesterday and that was to have a picnic in a conservatory. Should be better.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank S3thsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Booked on the last minute with possibly/probably the only room available (Wedding function with guests booked into all the other rooms) this was small but adequate for our needs.
Very clean good quality towels & bed linen.
I would recommend if you book over the phone to ask for a room with a view over the gardens ours looked over the function room not a pretty view.
All the staff were friendly and very helpful. Eat in the bar on the first night & despite being exceptionally busy in the restaurant we were served very quickly with a superb ploughmans at a very reasonable price.
Booked in for the Roman Banquet on the second night, only couple participating but very well served without any delays despite the staff having to attend to large party.
Breakfast was also of a high standard being cooked to order so fresh & tasty.
Definitely recommend for a short break close to Shrewsbury & Ludlow. Several excellent English Heritage sites in the area all well worth a visit. Oh don’t forget to visit the vineyard in the village wine excellent but pricey!

Room Tip: I would recommend if you book over the phone to ask for a room with a view over the gardens great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We love this venue so much we have booked our wedding here for 2013 (and the staff couldn't be more helpful!)

Visited with our parents for an afternoon tea to show them the venue and see the grounds. THe teas was imaculate in lovely china. Our 20mth old was given his own seat at the table and offered some bsicuits while we ate. The sandwiches were fresh and tasty and the fruit cake was DIVINE!!!!!! The scones were nicely served with clotted cream and a fruit compote. A lovely afternoon and bodes fantastically well for our wedding!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schnapps_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We visited this hotel on a Groupon Voucher and it included the Roman Banquet.
The hotel is situated in lovely grounds in full countryside near a quiet village. Our room was small but perfectly adequate with a king (or possibly superking) size bed, good bathroom (shower only), kettle and plentiful supplies, flat screen TV with Freeview. Our only quibble was that the walls were a bit thin (but we did have a communicating room) but the other guests were not rowdy.
The banquet itself was great fun with some of the guests dressing as Romans and we all got on very well together. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good, and individually cooked with a good selection....except for a lack of fresh fruit. However, when I asked for some the following day I was offered a wide selection and was served a lovely dish of mixed berries, grapes and Greek yoghurt. Delicious.
Plenty to do in the area. The Roman settlement, the local vineyard and the little church right next door are all worth a look and Ironbridge and Shrewsbury are close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnd_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Having won a free nights accommodation at this hotel, we were not expecting the moon! On arrival, we were very pleasantly surprised. Location was great, bedroom clean and comfortable with the usual facilities. Staff very friendly and obliging. Enjoyed a great evening meal in the cosy restaurant, followed by perfect breakfast the following morning.
Ideal location for visiting Shrewsbury, Bridgnorth, the Victorian village of Blists, Ironbridge and the RAF Museum at Cosford. (we managed only a few during our short visit).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob44east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The room was pretty average, every thing you wanted but certainly no little extras. The Roman Banquet was good fun, we would certainly not have paid £35 each but as it was part of a package deal then it made an enjoyable evening. The staff were really helpful and always on hand to give advice and make sure you were happy.
Good location, had another evening meal at the hotel, very pleasant as was thefreshly cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendysam26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroxeter
1.5 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
7.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
634 reviews
4.8 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,190 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wroxeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wroxeter Hotel

Property: The Wroxeter Hotel
Address: Wroxeter, Wroxeter SY5 6PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Wroxeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wroxeter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful countryside halfway between Telford and Shrewsbury, The Wroxeter Hotel enjoys easy access from the A5 and M54. With modern and well appointed bedrooms, The Wroxeter is ideal for short breaks and "getaways"; walking and country pursuits holidays; and for business travelers looking for something more than just a room. We are family run and excel in traditional cooking and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Wroxeter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Wroxeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing