We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing homestay surrounded by nature”
other travelers have booked this property
The house is nestled among the glorious mountain vistas in a tranquil and quiet setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house is nestled among the glorious mountain vistas in a tranquil and quiet setting
The morning mist envelopes the surrounding hills
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The house is nestled among the glorious mountain vistas in a tranquil and quiet setting
The morning mist envelopes the surrounding hills
Main lobby with entrance to guest rooms (upper & lower levels)
Guest room dining with the fabulous mountain views
Guset rooms are exceptionally spacious (34sqm) and equipped for comfort and convenience
Queen bed and sofas make the guest rooms cosy and comfortable
Spacious sleeping/sitting area of the lower room
Wider view of lower room with bathroom & dining area (far left)
Dining area and outside terrace of lower room
Bathroom designed to accommodate guests with limited mobility
Flowers in bloom surround the lower level guest room back (ramp) entrance
External view of the upper and lower guest rooms
Access ramp access to lower room for guests with limited mobility
View from Upper Guest Room balcony
Private balcony with panoramic view of the surrounding hills & the Mahaweli river below
A view of garden in front of guest rooms, seen from the 'master' section of the house
Guests will enjoy the terraced garden with colourful flora
Ambuluwawa hill rises majestically on the North West horizon
Sample of abundant exotic bird life we are surrounded by
Misty hills - morning view from the guest rooms
View of a fabulous sunset
Typical breakfast (comes with the room) - mix of local and continental fare of your choice
View of Mahaweli River from the house
Beautiful access road to Mahaweli Frills (road leading to Kothmale Reservoir)
Entrance to 'Mahaweli Frills' subdivision (house is 500 meters up the winding road)
Signboard at entrance to 'Mahaweli Frills' subdivision
Asia's best Peradeniya Botanical Gardens is just 21 km away
Ramboda Falls can be a part of half-day excursion
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Peradeniya, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
schlabo
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Relaxing homestay surrounded by nature”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

At Chintaka's and Kumari's home we got rid of all the stress from everyday life and got deeply relaxed. The b&b is located on a hill a bit outside of Gampola - you will have to take a tuktuk in order to get to the city. For us it was exactly what we were looking for: quiet (except for the wildlife around) and fresh air. We stayed in the upper apartment, which was very spacious and tidy. You have a table there, a small kitchen incl. a fridge, a bathroom with a bathtub and a balcony with a wonderful view over the hills.

The breakfast Kumari provided us with was so delicious that we also booked the dinners there - everyday something new and directly from their garden. One day we even got a tour through the garden by Chintaka. The variety of fruits, vegetables and herbs is amazing - we became big fans of the jack fruit!

Our hosts were also very helpful with advising what to do around and organized a tuktuk driver for a whole day tour. For those who need some cooling off, there is a river close by with clean water. We can recommend this b&b to anyone who is looking for recreation in the nature and who wants to get a deeper understanding of Sri Lanka and its culture, as the hosts are wonderful locals who had an answer to all our questions about activities and the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2017
Thank you for the appreciation of our services. We're glad that we made your stay enjoyable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElusiveRa...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional place with the warmest hosts!”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

B&B Fifty-Eight-Eighty was an absolute haven! The studio was well equipped, clean and absolutely cosy. The bathroom was very spacious and I was very impressed that it was disabled-friendly. Chinthaka and Kumari were amazing hosts. The food they prepared for us were out of this world. Kumari's cakes and macarons were to die for! Both of them were very warm and helpful with tips on what to do around there. We felt as if we were welcomed to be a part of their home. We will definitely be visiting here again and can highly recommend it to anyone planning on visiting Gampola.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Thank you for the nice comments. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkapur...
Winterswijk
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fresh air, great views, nice room and delicious food!”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The B&B is in the mountains near Kandy close to the … dam. The modern (the owners designed it themselves!) house was built to get spectacular views over the mountains. And that’s what you get: Amazing views!

But the views are not the only thing we liked about this place, there is much more. For example the room, it has a lot of space with a dining table, good bed, fan (you don’t need airco in the mountains), DVD-player, LCD-TV, microwave, fridge etc. The bathroom is good, and depending on which room you have (there are only two rooms), you have a bath with shower or only a shower.

The owners are more than friendly and will do everything to make your stay as comfortable as can be. For example: The meals, they are prepared by themselfs and are made with the best day fresh ingredients from the local village. We tried the Sri Lankan rice and curry and it was great, also the breakfast was very, very good.

The area is suitable for walking or taking a dive in the river. Or you can just relax at your balcony enjoying the views and the cool wind from the mountains.

Our opinion for this B&B is very clear: Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owners
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and the nice comments. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Chinthaka & Kumari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amila P
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, immaculate accommodation, delicious food!”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our family of four spent three nights at Chinthaka and Kumari's place in the hill country. We had a lovely room, a spacious en suite bathroom with hot water and a big bathtub, a little dining area and kitchenette complete with a fridge, microwave oven, kettle and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities which really hit the spot for us!
We had the best hosts ever! Kumari provided us with the most delicious and varied breakfasts every morning and superb evening meals too. Chinthaka gave us very helpful directions to places of interest: we had a wonderful morning going down the beautiful road winding through forests to the Kotmale dam and reservoir and in the evening were able to go on relaxing walks up the mountain on which they live to enjoy spectacular views across the valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the amenities and the food
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2016
Thanks for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed the stay and hope to see you again.
Chinthaka & Kumari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFamilyBN...
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good place”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The hosts were lovely - bit out of the way but it is a lovely home in a beautiful part of the world with great views. There was a good breakfast also.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2016
Thanks for your review. Hope our effort help you enjoy the stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amano010
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best B&B we've ever been”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely a stunning place. Beautiful house, nice and large rooms, lovely owners, best breakfast ever. So happy we decided to visit this place for 2 days to relax.

If you're traveling from Colombo to Kandy, get of the road near Gampola and have a break for a couple of days at this B&B. Best B&B we have ever been, worldwide! These people deserve a special TripAdvisor Award. Just fantastic

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Dear Michel & Janneke,
Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed the stay with us. Great to know our effort to make you happy is appreciated. Wish you safe and enjoyable travel in Sri Lanka.
Please visit us again.
Best wishes,
Chinthaka & Kumari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaan K
Male
1 review
“Mountain paradise”
Reviewed January 30, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed 4 nights in January 2015 in this hotel and it was really a fantastic stay. The view is stunning, the owners(husband&wife both) very kind & helpful, the room super comfortable, overall a very satisfied & safe stay.
It is a few kilometers from Gampola which is not too far from Kandy city, in nature, in the top of a hill, which gives it this great and peaceful view, away from the town's noisy / busy life. its all about memories and the peaceful feelings that you can have...Country side... personalize services ... unbelievably delicious food... Supported by the nature.. simply amazing !!!

Highly recommended for international travelers & i would definitely visit there again, specially to taste Kumari's cooking :)

Warm regards to Chinthaka & Kumari, you made our stay truly memorable !

With love,
Rebecca & Shaan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service, location, room, food
Liked least: Nothing to mention
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2015
Hello Rebecca & Shaan,

Thanks for your kind words and we are delighted that you had a good time at our home. We enjoyed your company too (hope you tried cooking some Sri Lankan dishes that you learned to prepare :-)).

Looking forward for your next visit.

Warm regards,

Chinthaka & Kumari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing