We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab park will be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Just-Luzac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Sequoia Parc
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fab park will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just arrived home from a great holiday which we book through Thompson al fresco tesco vouchers. Booking easy , ferries easy and the reps on site Derek and Kath are so helpful and friendly. The mobile home was nice older than we expected but had everything we needed. Big tip about mosquitoes they're are a lot as previous guests have said take sprays and a plug in we forgot the first night and got bitten after that we used both and didn't get bitten at all. The site is fab really good and pool area is amazing however chaps can't wear baggy swim trunks they need to be the tight Lycra ones the guards give you in one day to sort this else you won't be in the water. Site shops does sell them or big decathlon in nearby town has them for 3/5 euro. Even young boys need them . Local area is stunning la palmyra zoo is the best we every been to and the beach there is very pretty. Lots local oysters and mussels and markets to visit the one in the island is very good. I can recommend the viaduct restaurant for meals it's right by the bridge to Island food is very very good. 19 euro 4 course menu was well worth the money and kids menu also very good. I would really recommend this site to families and would have thought it would not attract big noisy groups . We are already thinking of returning next year we loved it so much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays at Camping Sequoia Parc, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi Sarah,

Thank you for your review.

Really pleased to see you had a good holiday with us on Sequoia Parc.

Hopefully we will se you again next year.
the Al Fresco team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    135
    68
    21
    9
See reviews for
281
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

General observations on the area for a start before I comment about the camp.
The region is situated in a marsh wetland area close to the coast. I have never visited this area of France before and found it very flat, somewhat featureless and frankly quite dull. I had naively assumed the locality of the campsite to be more exotic than it actually is. It's more Essex marshes than Florida Everglades. The high imposing road bridges between the islands and electricity pylons marching across the landscape make this feel more so. My fault for not researching the area more thoroughly before I booked the trip.

Close to the camp is the small town of Marennes. There is an indoor market there on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday mornings. There is a Lidl on the outskirts of town, a Leclerc in the middle town (very large and most things under one roof) and a MacDonalds to treat the kids on the main road out of town towards Ile D'oleron.

Worthwhile points of interest are miles away and be prepared to travel. Rochefort is about 15 miles away. La Rochelle is 40 miles away which is a good way to fill up a day. The city centre is olde worlde France with some quite chic boutique style shops. There is the Aquarium by the port and a WW2 German bunker in the middle of town. If you park by the Aquarium you can reach all these easily by foot.

Close to the camp is the island of Ile D'Oleron. Quite nice with the fishing villages with rustic looking restaurant sheds.

That really is about it for the area, unless you fancy a bit of bird watching on the marshes!

Now on to Sequoia Parc. Despite the locality this is a very pretty camp site. It feels quite stylish. The Parc is set in lovely grounds with beautiful plants, trees and palms dotted around. Sat around the pool on a warm day you could feel like you're close to the Med. The site is very clean and maintained very well. The pools despite looking very inviting I found cold but that didn't deter the kids. There is also a play area for the kids. Within the grounds is a beautiful Chateau (privately owned) and a lovely converted barn building (restaurant). Some of the cabins that are let out on the site are very modern and chic. There is an on site supermarket if you get stuck, although you're best off heading off to Lidl or Leclerc in Marennes for a proper shopping trip.

There are bikes and kids go karts to hire on the site. Not cheap and the karts are quite rickety which I didn't think were very safe. These could do with a bit of TLC.

There is an on site restaurant and takeaway. We dined in the restaurant on our first night. The food was cooked and presented well but pricey. It's too haute cuisine for a family camp site, more the sort of place for couples only. Drinks are also steep e.g. Pint of Amstel lager at €5.40!!! There is wi-fi available on camp but at €5 for an hour it doesn't come cheap. A tip here is to drive to McDonalds on the edge of Marennes and log in there for free. Another tip is to consider getting your mobile phone topped up before you get here. Using the pay phone on camp you are forced to buy a phone card for €7.40 which lasts 30 mins.

We stayed with Canvas holidays and they were great. The reps were a couple by the name of Karen and Stuart who were lovely, accommodating and nothing too much trouble. We've gone with Canvas several times over the years and they've always been spot on.

Don't go expecting anywhere to be cheap. Even Lidl is twice as expensive as back in the UK. Rather than a criticism of the camp and the area it's more of how things are now generally in France and across the euro zone with the poor Euro exchange rates. Gone are the days of budget touring holidays in Europe sadly.

Having read other reviews it seems there is a mosquito problem in this area. We visited at the end of May it wasn't that bad, probably due to the fact that the weather was cooler and humidity low. I've heard that high season in summer it can be very bad. Make sure you're prepared.

On the whole my family and I were quite disappointed. There isn't a great deal for kids other than the pool and play area. There aren't any kids clubs on the camp and no evening entertainment outside the summer high season. The region is quite boring. Because of this we decided to pack up and go home early. Sadly this is not France at its best. Whilst we were here we saw other campers who quickly decided that they had had enough and decided to move on.

However in its defence I would say that Sequoia Parc would be a good short stop. For example when travelling down from the channel ports en route to SW France, The Pyrenees or Spain, this would be an ideal respite before continuing the long trek south (or north on the return leg). It's just off the beaten track on the main west coast artery roads and about 5.5hrs from Cherbourg.

A brief stop over yes, a holiday destination no.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrobean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castelsequoia, Responsable relations clients at Camping Sequoia Parc, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Terrobean,

Thank you for your testimony following your recent stay at Castel campsite Séquoia Parc.

Your observations on the area are very detailed. We would like to add that it is also very nice to visit Royan with its beautiful beaches and the famous Zoo la Palmyre.
The landscape in the Charente-Martime region is indeed flat, which makes it very popular among families because they can go everywhere by bicycle even with small children.

Thank you so much for all your compliments regarding the campsite. We particularly appreciate your compliments regarding the cleanliness and maintenance of the site, because these two assets are very important to us.

After your attentive remarque concerning the karts, we have checked them all and indeed there were 2 or 3 karts that needed revision and we took care of it. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for letting us know!

Concerning the Wi-Fi we also propose a connection at 10€ for 5 hours. It’s possible to disconnect from the Wi-Fi and use the remaining time later.

About the mosquitoes we are please to read that you didn’t meet any trouble. We treat the campsite before and during the season and this works very well. The treatment we apply avoids that mosquitoes lay their eggs and that they reproduce themselves. Of course we can’t entirely control nature and the mosquitoes that come from outside the campsite.

We are very surprised to read that you state that there are no kids clubs on the campsite. The kids clubs are open during the whole season from May to September for children’s from 4 to 12 years old. It’s open every day except Tuesday in low season and every day except Saturday in high season, from 10 am to 12 pm and from 15 pm to 17 pm. In low season we don’t have evening entertainment, but we propose 2 to 3 Mini Disco’s per week for the children.

Thank you again for your constructive and positive feedback regarding your stay. Always concerned by the well-being of our guests and desirous to improve our campsite and services we will share your testimony with our respective teams.

We hope to welcome you another time at Castel campsite Séquoia parc.

Best regards,

The Séquoia Parc Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I've been twice with my family and last time my best friend came with us. We could go off to the pool, games room and shop by ourselves, whenever we wanted and my parents would no we were safe. We have to France for many years in a row andthis is our favorite campsite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HartsheadBecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castelsequoia, Responsable relations clients at Camping Sequoia Parc, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear HartsheadBecki,

Thank you for your testimony following your stay at Castel campsite Séquoia Parc.

We're very pleased to read that it is your favorite campsite and we hope to welcome you again soon :-) !

Best regards,

The Séquoia Parc Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here June 2013, It was the first foreign holiday we had with our 18month old girl, The site is lacated less than 1 hour from La Rochelle Airport which was excellent when travelling with a young child. The receptionist was very friendly and gave us all the relevant information re our new home for 10 days!! We were brought to our mobile home by a member of staff on his bicycle on the way he pointed out the laundry room and recycling area. extremely helpful

We unpacked and headed back down to reception where a staff member gave us a map and directed us to the nearest Supermarket... about 5 minutes away. Obviously the shop on site is expensive but you can plan ahead... the fresh bread is baked thre each morning which our little girl loved.

There is a lake with hens, ducks, goats etc you can leave your veg peels etc for them she loved this we had to go every morning...

The deck area was great for eating out we had breakfast out every morning and a few beers at night when she fell asleep.

The pools were fantastic, spotless clean, an not overcrowded, we went in the late afternoon as it had cooled of by then the childrens pool is heated which is fab.

The restaurant staff were very friendly Allan was excellent he was excellent when dealing with us and our little girl.

We visited the local Aquarium, La Palymare Zoo, La Rochelle, Ile de Re all fantastic and if you buy the tickets from reception you get a discount....

Overall I would reccommend this park to everyone I meet it was a very memorable holiday which our little girl still talks about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Kelair provide a brilliant kids camp. The site has great facilities. We would recommend going before the end of July as it gets really busy. The pool is safe for young children. It could be cleaned a little bit more though. The mobile home was well eqiuped though had a bit of a problem with ants. The courier was first class, very helpful. The shop is well stocked if a little pricey. The location is lovely. There is some entertainment. The information centre is a great

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

First time at a family camping spot. And first time camping in France! There were animators and shows practically every night - mainly for the kids and it was great! Daughter had her photograph taken with at least five different cartoon characters!
Everyone in the park had a more modern set up than we did. We had a simple tent for four, a tarp to keep out the rain (Actually worked), and a simple kitchen. I thought we were going to really rough it, but it was quite comfortable - The toilet facilities are Sanitary facilities - that means LUXURY. Real toilets, real showers, a place to wash, a place to wash clothes, and a place to wash dishes. AND there was a general store, which had real croissants and baguettes, food and sundries. AND there was a pool area with FIVE different pools (or was that four?) Including a "stream" that the kids loved. AND there was a playground and a challenging slide, that took my daughter a while to get a hang of. There was also a nice restaurant and a takeaway that we didn't take advantage of, since we actually had brought some food to eat (thinking we'd be roughing it).
There were lots of English speakers (my kids also speak English), Dutch speakers (we can't speak that), some French speakers (should be like that - not that any of us were well versed, but we certainly tried), and some people from wherever. I love international places :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ncrist-see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrickmacross
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stay with a Kelair from the 26th June for 8 nights. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would high recommend the campsite. It was very family orientated which suited us as we have 2 children aged 6 and 4. As you can see from the photos there is a fantastic pool complex which is as big as it appears. If I had one quibble with it, it may have being a little cold but after a few minutes you got use to it. Also at night the mosquitos came out and really enjoyed biting me. After I came home my whole legs ballooned up to double its size and I had to go on a course of antibiotics for it, but I lived. Anyway apart from getting eaten by the mosquitos there was always loads to do in the evening from the restaurant/bar to the kids disco which was on every night from 7 o'clock. All the children seemed to really enjoyed it. We also had the play ground which was fantastic and most people gathered there in the evening for a bit of craic and exchange of idea's as the kids played. There was a real sense of community about the place. The other thing I really liked was while car were allowed on site everyone walked or cycled around and I felt comfortable letting the kids cycle on ahead without the fear of them being mowed down by a car ect. One final piece of advice is that its a lot further away from Cherbourg and Roscoff than its says in the brochure. It's says 5 hours where it took us 8 hours driving which it a lot to do in one day. However all in all didn't want to leave so it must have being a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paddyCarrickmacross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Just-Luzac
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Marennes Oleron
4.7 mi away
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
#1 of 4 in Ronce-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
7.9 mi away
Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes
Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes
#1 of 22 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Aquatique Club Camping La Pinede
Aquatique Club Camping La Pinede
#2 of 22 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
14.0 mi away
Camping Signol
Camping Signol
#1 of 1 in Boyardville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
11.0 mi away
Camping Les Chevrefeuilles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Sequoia Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Sequoia Parc

Property: Camping Sequoia Parc
Address: la Josephtrie, 17320 Saint-Just-Luzac, Marennes, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Marennes > Saint-Just-Luzac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Just-Luzac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Sequoia Parc 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The campsite Sequoia Parc is a 5 stars family campsite of 45 ha of nature and greenery in the heart of the Charente-Maritime region. In the village of Saint-Just-Luzac, it is also at only 7km from Marennes Plages and near to famous cities like La Rochelle, Saintes, Rochefort or Royan, which you will visit with pleasure. You will appreciate the climate of the region, particularly because the Charente-Maritime is the most sunny part of France, after Côte d'Azur. This year, the campsite will turn its 20 years ! You could try several activities in family in the campsite. You could, for example, appreciate our swimming pool area of 2 000 m², with 4 pools of which 3 heated, slides, river and jacuzzi. You could also do sports thanks to our tennis courts, our petanque field and multisports field (soccer, basketball, volleyball). Children will appreciate our mini-farm but also our children club which welcome for free, and during all the season kids from 4 to 12 years old. Do you want to take a stroll in family? Take the Velodyssee by bike. You will go along the Atlantic coast. Bikes can be hired at the Information Point of the campsite. You can also take a stroll by horse or poney thanks to our equestrian center. In July and August, our organizers keep surprises! Animations, competition, concerts, shows... You will have fun at campsite Séquoia Parc! If you are hungry, our restaurant, Le Carrousel, welcomes you every evening, to make you discover our regional flavor. You could also taste our snack, which proposes take-away, particularly pizzas baked in a wood-fired oven. Finally, our mini-market is at your disposal and proposes you several products for your daily purchases. All our pitches and accommodations are delimited by trees and hedges to guarantee you maximum of privacy. Our accommodations can accommodate from 4 to 7 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castel Camping Sequoia Parc Hotel Marennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing