We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed so much already booked for 2013”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Just-Luzac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Sequoia Parc
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyed so much already booked for 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We decided on a change of holiday this year to hopefully ensure our three children did not get bored. We were not disappointed, we were able to relax and know that our children were well entertained, made new friends and were safe on their scooters around this wonderful park.

They all made friends around similar ages (6,9,12) and the pool was the biggest hit with them. Pools and slides to suit all ages and ability of swimming. The pool area opened between 10.00am - 8.00pm each day and was funny to watch people queuing from 9.30 am to get sunbeds. The pool area is not too crowded but you did need to be there early to get a bed, especially near to a pool of choice.

On arrival had to wait a little to check in which can understand as everyone arriving at 4.00pm - next year I will check in slightly later to avoid the wait.

We had booked a Cottage VIP for 6 people which was on a large pitch. For the price we paid it was slightly dated but was bigger than expected. It could have been a little cleaner. You are responsible for your own cleaning at the end of your stay (well leave it in the condition it was first occupied in). I think ours was cleaner at the end than arrival. We did tell them that the bathroom was dirty and straight away someone came to re clean.

Reception excellent and extremely helpful when our shower stopped working and provided a spare cottage to use until they could fix it.

I think some of the less expensive accommodation is just as good (or even better) as we never needed to use air conditioning as wasn't really hot and TV never used. Is the extra benefit of a safe but I felt the site to be a really safe and friendly place that I could have lived without that. It came with bedding and towels, towels great but next time would pay less and take my own bedding. Also use of 2 bikes included in the price but didn't bother as had to pay an extra 100euro each deposit to use.

Internet connection/wifi very slow but we went for this type of holiday so the children avoided their iPads/laptops!

Entertainment ok and kept the kids happy. Good shop on site and was surprised that the prices were reasonable. Kids club to use, which our youngest two went for one day, they enjoyed but preferred time around the pool.

Need a car to explore, La Rochelle worth a visit. Unfortunately never got chance to visit any of the beaches as we could not drag our children away from the pool.

Overall fantastic, well kept site and next year we are returning for a longer stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank lajm222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castelsequoia, Responsable réception at Camping Sequoia Parc, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We thank you very much for your reaction and we hope that you will have a nice stay at Séquoia Parc again in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    135
    68
    21
    9
See reviews for
281
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

we have tried to book on this site for 3 years and this year we were successful and were not disapointed this is a large family campsite with everything you need for a 2 week holiday we camped in our own equipment and booked a large pitch this comftably fit our large tent and our colman event shelter our friends on a neighbouring pitich had a obsticle on there pitch of some pipe work but alsd fitted there largw tent and colman on the pitch. we had requested adjacent pitches which cost us slightly more but worth it to know we would be together. the large pool complex and lazy river was enjoyed by all and although not enough rings to go around (we brought our own for around 3 euro ) it was not overcrowded and we went first 2 weeks of school hols. we made use of the shop takeaway and restuarant all reasonably priced. the only draw back was restuarant did not take bookings and 2 familys eating together made a party of 10 which took a long time to get a table. some lovely beaches in the area royan la palmere and the iles de oleron and ile de re both worth a visit however the ilse de re had a very expensive toll bridge plan a whole day visit to make it worth the trip
la rochelle was very nice with historic buildings and shopping . One warning though you need a car to stay here if you dont want to spend the whole holiday on the campsite as nowhere within walking distance. 3 supermarkets nearby 1 in marrenes a eleclerc expensive also a bit futher up the road towards oleron a super u mid range and a bit futher on a lidl all within 10/15 mins drive on a main road not good for cycling. the toilet block was kept imaculate all throughout our stay and had heating for low season. we had a very good time and will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jacquimj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castelsequoia, Responsable réception at Camping Sequoia Parc, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We thank you very much for your reaction and we hope to see you again at Séquoia Parc!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent ten days at this campsite in August - well run site, the pools are fantastic compared to other sites. However, there was a lack of structured actiivities during the day for my twin boys aged ten years part from table tennis and a football match once a week which I think is a big drawback at there age compared to other sites like La Grangeoire in the La Vendee which had well organised activities such as football coaching, archery etc. Overall, not very good for teenagers or young teenagers I believe. There is a great "go ape" climbing place not far in Marennes which was excellent for climbing and providing a challenge to my sons. You can climb at a much younger age in France compared to the UK!

This site focuses on a nightly show provided by bands, acts and the camp site staff - ok but may be not to everyone's taste - miming to Abba's Mama Mia sound track etc may be appear to be artistic but I could just have watched the film I thought. May be reflects the mix of the site - majority French & Dutch who like this form of entertainment compared to English, Irish & Germans - this a "gross generalisation I know"?

Very good for cycling away from the main roads along canals etc - great countryside. Also, very good scuba diving for children classes - one of my sons learned to scuba dive for the first time!!

Overall, had a great time, excellent weather but will try some of the other sites in the Castels group in the future.

Room Tip: Watch out for the pillows - they are very small in the chalets - this sounds a bit "Princess Ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

just returned from 11 nights at sequoia park. it is a generally well run site with good facilities that catres well for children. there are plenty of activities and there is a fantastic child orientated pool complex. the caravans are well located and arent too close together, they were very clean and although we had a fairly basic one it was ample for what we wanted. the on site takeaway is a little pricey but that is par for the course on such sites. one thing that struck me as pointless is the rule that swimming shorts cant be worn in the pools. i asked the lifeguards (who are all wearing shorts which i presume they dont remove if they have to dive in to save someone) why this rule was imposed, they said it was for hygene reasons as people wear their swim shorts outside the pool. the irony of this is that a lot of people were then wearing their bathers around the site instead. the end result was if as most people these days you dont possess a tight fitting bather, you have to purchase one to be allowed into the pool. As luck would have it they do sell them for 15 euros on the on site shop. i must admit it did make me chuckle to see a load of out of shape middle aged men (myself included) strutting around the pool on these bathere slooking like extras from a 1970s Starsky and Hutch episode.
on a positive note the site is well maintained and the staff are friendly and helpful.
The drinks are a bit pricey eg. 12 euros for a pint and a malibu and coke but it isnt the type of place to go for a booze up.
The zoo at La Palmyre is a must for adults and children alike but befor going call in the local supermarket and buy popcorn to feed to the animals, it is about 80 cents a bag in the supermarket and 2 euros 50 in the zoo..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have just returned from a very enjoyable fortnight’s holiday in Sequoia Parc, booked with Kelair, and can heartily recommend both.

The campsite is very impressive, and beautifully maintained. It recently gained a 5th star, which is well-deserved. The pitches are very spacious, and most are separated by bushes. There is a free booklet available describing the trees, plants and wildlife that can be found in the parc. There is even a herb garden at your disposal.

The pool complex is great – our girls, 4 and 6, thought they’d arrived in heaven the first day we went there. Having read other reviews, I was concerned that it would be too busy, and that we wouldn’t find room to place our towels, never mind a sun lounger. We always managed to find some free ones by the time we got out of the water, however – perhaps because we tended to go mid/late afternoon. Lifeguards were present without being intrusive. The floor in the toilet area could do with being a bit cleaner, and some of the sloped paths can be a bit slippery when wet.

The food in the campsite restaurant is good, as are the pizzas from the takeaway. The campsite supermarket is well-stocked and open 8am-8.30pm seven days a week. There are branches of Super-U and Le Clerc within a 5-minute drive of the campsite. If you like seafood, you will be in heaven! There are many roadside oyster stalls and fruit-and-veg stalls in the area. We had lovely meals in Le Bouccin and Le Hommard Bleu (St.-Trojan-les-Bains).

About 25% of visitors stay in tents/ camper vans/ caravan. The majority of the mobile homes are owned by the campsite. Kelair, Keycamp, Thompson Al Fresco and Canvas own the others. We travelled with Kelair, and were delighted with them. Their reps, Kate and Adrian, were always pleasant and helpful. The mobile was spotless when we arrived, with the beds already made up (duvets, not blankets). As the weather was particularly hot during our first week, we would have been glad of air-con (but we knew when we booked that it would not be available in the model we chose). The Kelair mobiles are situated at the back of the campsite. This meant that there was very little traffic passing by, making it safe for children to play outdoors. While wi-fi is available in plots near the bar, it didn’t extend back as far as ours.

Our girls attended Kelair’s Buzzy Bees club, which they loved, and which was run by Adrian. Activities included a pizza-and-disco evening, a water fight, and an “egg-drop” competition. Through the club the girls became friendly with neighbouring children, which added greatly to their holiday.

The surrounding area is lovely – fields of sunflowers and corn, with beautiful beaches within easy reach (we found Plage de Gatseau, 2.5 miles beyond St.-Trojan-Les-Bains, particularly suitable for young children).

We’d love to return to Sequoia Parc …even better, we’d love to be able to replicate the excitement we felt visiting it for the first time – it has set the bar very high!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Suile_Glasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Been 2 years running and looking forward to going again. Helpful staff, clean facilities, huge pitches, lovely flowers. Everything is just so well run. Ignore the complaints about traffic congestion - just don't go out between 9 and 12 on a Saturday - what do you expect on a change over day in August? - of course it is busy! Enjoy the pool instead. And I have yet to visit a site where there aren't those who rush for the early sunbed. Let them get on with it and have an extra hour in bed I say. The pool will still be there when you want it. So again ignore the complaints about the Dutch - who I found to be very friendly - speak excellent English and put us non Dutch speakers to shame. This is a great site - you'll love it.

Room Tip: Don't pick a pitch too close to the pool unless you don't mind the usual pool side laughter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Julie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is quite simply a brilliant family campsite in an excellent location with LOADS of stuff to see and do nearby. We’re fairly seasoned campers with young kids (2 and 5 years old) and we’ve stayed at some great, and not-so-great, campsites across Europe – but we think this is the best so far. Which is why we were really surprised to read so many negative comments posted here.

The setting is indisputably beautiful. There are flowers and green spaces everywhere on site. It’s set in the grounds of a stunning chateau and has a really beautiful rustic bar/restaurant/terrace set in the chateau’s old out-buildings and barns (good rustic, in an authentic French way). It has a superb swimming complex (pools recently re-lined so no longer a problem for the reviewer who hurt their toe on a loose tile) and has a packed family entertainments programme – albeit largely aimed at adults and under 10s.

We stayed with Keycamp (not in a tent this year) and our pitch was great with a gazebo, plenty of garden furniture and a large outdoor space. From what we saw, the tent pitches looked pretty good too (some with fridge/freezers and garden furniture thrown in) but some fronted onto slightly more busy roadways (near the entrance/exit to the park) and you’d either love or hate the pitches opposite the back of the park as the kids played noisily till quite late – though you’d be able to keep an eye on your little ones from your tent porch while they played.

We have young kids so it worked perfectly for us and perhaps if your kids are older it might not be buzzing in the right way for them – perhaps that’s why we found it so lovely. The Ibou kids club is international and caters (extremely well) for kids in at least three different languages. This was far from being a problem for our 5 year old who took part enthusiastically in the weekly kids show which was, quite frankly, an amazing feat given that the Ibou staff managed to get 20 or 30 kids from all over Europe to work together to put on a really great performance. They also put on some great kids discos (again aimed at under 10s) throughout the week with catchy Euro-pop tunes and dance actions to match – all chivvied along by the very enthusiastic Ibou team.

As some reviewers have pointed out the prices in the shop and bar are inflated compared to the local supermarkets (ahem, this happens everywhere even in good old Blightly) but we saw lots of people drinking their own ‘supermarket bought’ bottles on the outside terrace and the staff seemed to have no problem with it at all. And as some have mentioned, there were some mozzies but despite the great weather we had at the end of July, they only nibbled us a few times and it certainly wasn’t bad enough to spoil our holiday.

As for the other gripes from reviewers about there not being much to do locally… are they kidding? There are tons of great days out. No, it’s not Disney and most things are typically laid back French style so you have to be willing to make your own fun a bit. Highlights for us were:

*Hiring a bike on Ile d’Aix where you can cycle around the whole island in an hour or so, explore the fortifications, and find your own secret picnic spot

* Taking the very cute Petit Train from Saint-Trojan on Ile d’ Oléron to a virtually deserted beach (inaccessible by road) with miles of clear blue water and golden sand. Pack your kite or have a go at land sailing

* Visit Ile d’Re (though the toll will set you back €16 so make a good long day of it) and visit any of the beautiful port towns for lunch, hire a bike (there are loads of cheap hire places, miles of off-road cycle pistes and it’s pretty flat) or hire fishing gear in Ars-en-Re and catch your own supper.

So to sum up… this was one of the best French campsite holiday’s we’ve had. We’d recommend Sequoia Park in a heartbeat so don’t be put off by the grumpy reviewers who don’t want to try living a little bit French for a week or two – it really is great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank HappyHolidayBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Just-Luzac
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Marennes Oleron
4.7 mi away
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
#1 of 4 in Ronce-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
7.9 mi away
Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes
Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes
#1 of 22 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Aquatique Club Camping La Pinede
Aquatique Club Camping La Pinede
#2 of 22 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
14.0 mi away
Camping Signol
Camping Signol
#1 of 1 in Boyardville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
11.0 mi away
Camping Les Chevrefeuilles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Sequoia Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Sequoia Parc

Property: Camping Sequoia Parc
Address: la Josephtrie, 17320 Saint-Just-Luzac, Marennes, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Marennes > Saint-Just-Luzac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Just-Luzac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Sequoia Parc 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The campsite Sequoia Parc is a 5 stars family campsite of 45 ha of nature and greenery in the heart of the Charente-Maritime region. In the village of Saint-Just-Luzac, it is also at only 7km from Marennes Plages and near to famous cities like La Rochelle, Saintes, Rochefort or Royan, which you will visit with pleasure. You will appreciate the climate of the region, particularly because the Charente-Maritime is the most sunny part of France, after Côte d'Azur. This year, the campsite will turn its 20 years ! You could try several activities in family in the campsite. You could, for example, appreciate our swimming pool area of 2 000 m², with 4 pools of which 3 heated, slides, river and jacuzzi. You could also do sports thanks to our tennis courts, our petanque field and multisports field (soccer, basketball, volleyball). Children will appreciate our mini-farm but also our children club which welcome for free, and during all the season kids from 4 to 12 years old. Do you want to take a stroll in family? Take the Velodyssee by bike. You will go along the Atlantic coast. Bikes can be hired at the Information Point of the campsite. You can also take a stroll by horse or poney thanks to our equestrian center. In July and August, our organizers keep surprises! Animations, competition, concerts, shows... You will have fun at campsite Séquoia Parc! If you are hungry, our restaurant, Le Carrousel, welcomes you every evening, to make you discover our regional flavor. You could also taste our snack, which proposes take-away, particularly pizzas baked in a wood-fired oven. Finally, our mini-market is at your disposal and proposes you several products for your daily purchases. All our pitches and accommodations are delimited by trees and hedges to guarantee you maximum of privacy. Our accommodations can accommodate from 4 to 7 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castel Camping Sequoia Parc Hotel Marennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing