We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property
The front of this historic chateau; features in several books
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of this historic chateau; features in several books
Swimming pool and grounds; the pool is solar heated kiddy play area and plenty of space for them, child-friendly
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
37 reviews
The front of this historic chateau; features in several books
Swimming pool and grounds; the pool is solar heated
kiddy play area and plenty of space for them, child-friendly
The pool, as seen from the top floor. The dove cotes dates to the 16th century
outdoor dining (more tables and chairs available)
part of the grounds where you can enjoy the warm evenings
the grounds are walled and safe for children. BBQ in the background - plenty of garden furniture
secret areas to explore
sun starting to set over the sea - time for a drink!
courtyard leading through to large lawned areas
Attractive entrance hall, stone staircase
delightful farmhouse kitchen with all mod cons
elegant dining area for fine dining
small twin bedroom, new mattresses; 5 of the other bedrooms are much bigger
library - relax with a book
there is 1 bathroom and 3 shower rooms, 5 WCs
Top floor double bedroom
chill area on the top floor, balcony overlooking the grounds
oh ... the logs !  Useful in the winter months - though there is full CH
Swimming pool fenced and gated, kiddy play area next to it so the children are not out of sight
plenty of space, all secure
part of a bedroom on the top floor - king size bed
attractive twin room with antique beds, en-suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Saint-Just-Luzac, Marennes, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jason J
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Fantastic”
Reviewed December 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Chateau de Rochebonne in October as a group of three families with Children, and all agreed that it was simply the best holiday we have had. The Chateau is stunning on arrival, and internally has a brilliant mix of historic architecture and artefacts, and warm and inviting rooms. Mornings and evenings were hugely enjoyable spent around the large kitchen table in front of the fire, or relaxing in the large and comfortable sitting room, whilst the children not only enjoyed exploring the Chateau, but playing in the games room and the large open gardens. There was a long list of things to do in the local area, with great beaches, attractions for the children such as the Aquarium (which was amazing) and the Chateau of Enigmas, and castles, wineries, and fine dining for the adults. The local area has a great mix of rural and costal charm and we thoroughly loved the Chateau and the area. A must stay for all, but a fantastic location for Families.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going Home
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2014
This is such a lovely review, and I am delighted you liked the property and the area so much. I was sad not to meet you (we were in India at that time - I have to say I prefer France!!) but would love to see you if there is a next time ! Happy New Year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenEast...
East Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed November 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with some friend ps at chateau Roche in September and loved every minute. When we arrived through the gates, up the lomg driveway we honestly couldn't believe it was ours for the week. Despite its size it has a very cozy feel, the kitchen is lovely and big with a large open fire, perfect for leisurely breakfasts and dinners unless of course you are BBQ'ing and sitting on the lovely courtyard. The pool is fab, lots of comfortable loungers and play areas for children. Catherine is very welcoming and we had lots of great recommendations of restaurants and things to do. We went to the beach quite a lot which was beautiful and only about 15 minutes away. The chateau is also very clean . Superb place to spend a holiday anytime of year, can't wait to return.

Date of stay: September 2013
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2014
So glad you like the property and that you had a good holiday. Thank you very much for this great review! Hope to see you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CND02
Modesto, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay-felt like we found our home in France”
Reviewed November 13, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Chateau Roche. From the moment we saw the Chateau arising from the woods in the distance we were overwhelmed with its beauty. As we drove through the gates and gardens and then let ourselves in the ancient house we were awestruck by every lovely detail. Every nook and cranny ( of which there are many) is filled with antiques, collectibles, etc... Each room of the house has been lovingly decorated and display random examples of the owners personal artwork. I could go on about the house forever, but, frankly the average ready probably has not the time. The highlights of the stay were the beautiful farm kitchen where we spent much of our time eating cheese and pate. the garden is filled with flowers and we enjoyed the beautiful pool. I tried to spend more time reading here, however, with the adorable villages just a stones through from the chateau we were far to busy for such folly. The closest village is just behind the chateau, through the back gate and down a garden path. There are also many other villages not mentioned in tour books that offer endless exploration. The best part of the chateau was its central location! Bordeaux and La Rochelle are easy day drives. We dined on oysters in one small village, took tiny boats down rivers beneath historic houses...amazing!
We will be back next year and if the owner decides to sell we hope to be first in line.
The Downing

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself was ike visiting a historic site
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2014
Thank you for this excellent review. We are so glad you loved the house and the area. Do visit us again next time you are this side of the Atlantic!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley T
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best holiday ever.”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my husband were blessed to come across this beautiful Château .
We spent two weeks in glorious late summer weather. The house itself is stunning and has a really homey atmosphere. set in lovely gardens and comes complete with a private pool.
Everything was as advertised and Catherine and Bruce were extremely helpful with great advice regarding restaurants, markets etc.. It is very near to Royan with it's fabulous shopping and also La Rochelle.
We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this property for family get together s or any special occasions.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the privacy and pool best.
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2014
Thank you for this lovely review. We are all so glad you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Impression was wow”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled as an extended group, Mum Dad. 4 kids & partners 2 very young grandchildren. The property met all our expectations & more. Plenty of room despite the large group, excellent kitchen,washing and leisure facilities, village close by for basic provisions although beware the village is shut in the evening.

Plenty to do do & see within a short distance, all in an idyllic setting & excellent value for money.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: First Impressions were awesome
Liked least: The Beds
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewed October 6, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loads of good crockery, cutlery, utensils etc.
Liked least: Hob OK but oven a bit temperamental.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2012
Many thanks for your nice comments. Glad it was right for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed September 18, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space and safety for young children
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2012
It was nice to meet you while you were here, albeit so briefly. I'm so glad you liked the property and that the children had such a good time. Safety is always out main concern and I know from experience how an unsafe place can ruin a holiday - so good, glad all went well and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing