We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal”
Review of Auberge a l'Agneau

Auberge a l'Agneau
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Katzenthal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed May 25, 2017 via mobile

We are at l'Auberge à l'Agneau on a late lunch after we arrived early in town for our appointment to visit Pierre Paul Schmitt & Fils for some wine tasting. Although the kitchen was closing and they only had a table for two left, they kindly accommodated us. The food was delicious and the views from their outside dinning area lovely.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank 421Traveler_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 307 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2017 via mobile

Very nice place, friendly staff and cozy atmosphere. Food was nicely presented and very tasty. Worth paying a visit if you're around.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Karo_Travel_Affair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

By random we entered this little nice restaurant. Unfortunately it was already closed but the chef did not hesitate to welcome us and serve some nice dessert and drinks. We have been very surprised by the high level of food service and hospitality. This is another "must visit" restaurant on our "best off" list .

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank ausriaccman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2016

Excellent food, great variety of dishes, good service.
Not cheap but it is worth the money
We recommend you to make a reservation.
Close parking (at the church) available

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile

Katzenthal is a little hamlet near Colmar, nestled into a small valley, with no through traffic. 300-odd people, 53 winemakers (!). Not mich to see in town, but the are a number of hiking trails through the vinyards and the forests, and there is an old "chateau" (more like a fortified tower as you might find in Scotland) which offers some great views all the wa to the Black Forest.

"A l'Agneau" seems to be one of the bigger places to stay in town, and it's been recently renovated. The rooms are well-appointed, without being luxurious. Our family of four had what was basically a suite, two separate rooms (but no door between them) with a shared bath. It was perfect for us. Nothing goes on in Katzenthal at night. So if you're even just looking for a nightcap, there's no place to go. But the hotel staff was super-nice, they'd bring us our drinks to our room - as long as the downstairs was still open.

The family owning and running l'Agneau is super-friendly and really very attentive to their guests. For instance, they'd know by the second day that we wanted to have a bottle of sparklong water with our breakfast. He is also the chef of the restaurant, and the food is outstanding, especially for such a small place. They were incredibly friendly with our kids, but always non-intrusive.

French is the preferred language, of course, but English works, and the Chef is also quite fluent in the local German dialect.

Great place to go with a family, with easy access to Colmar, Ribeauvillé, or nature.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank 268tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge a l'Agneau also viewed

 
Ammerschwihr, Haut-Rhin
Sigolsheim, Haut-Rhin
 
Niedermorschwihr, Haut-Rhin
Turckheim, Haut-Rhin
 

Been to Auberge a l'Agneau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing