We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts and accommodation, bit far out for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brixnerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brixnerhof
Ranked #1 of 4 Schlitters B&B and Inns
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts and accommodation, bit far out for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We went skiing in Feb 2014 in Hochfugen and chose this for our accommodation. We hadn't been to the area before and didn't realise it would take around half an hour in the car each day to get to the ski resort. There are free ski buses but as we have a 7 year old and lots of kit, we took our car.

This aside, the accommodation was lovely and exceptionally clean. We booked a superior apartment which was on the 3rd floor of the building. It looked as though it had been newly refurbished as every detail looked brand new. It had two spacious bedrooms with big comfortable beds, nice duvets and linen and an enormous shower room with sauna and separate toilet. Loads of storage space, spacious lounge with small but perfectly formed kitchen area. Another reviewer said they were cold but we would say the opposite and had to open the windows on occasion. You should note that although you are booking an apartment, you are still within the house so not entirely self-contained - but apparently this is fairly normal when it comes to ski accommodation. Breakfast is in the breakfast room on the ground floor and everyone goes through the main front door to get to their accommodation.

The hosts were mother and daughter and both very warm and welcoming. Neither could speak a word of English and our German is bad to say the least, but we somehow managed to have conversations with them. They're both very friendly and chatty!

Breakfast was an additional 8 euros pp pd. It was generous - lots of different breads, hams, cheese, boiled eggs, jams, yoghurt. Typical continental breakfast. Only issue is that my husband doesn't eat bread and no alternative option for him. On our last day we went to a nearby cafe for breakfast and it was basically the same but slightly more expensive, so I guess this is what they all eat for breakfast!

The restaurants in the town weren't great - we went to the pizza place which you have to cross a very busy road to get to - the cars go very fast and there are limited pavements and street lighting - not ideal. The pizzas were ok, but nothing special, good value for money. We also went to, as far as we could tell, the only other restaurant in the town, which was on the same side of the road and slightly further down. Very nice food but very slow. Other than that, we ate in Fugen the rest of the time where there are lots of options. Fugen is only about 5 minutes drive away.

We loved the accommodation and the hosts but would probably stay in Fugen if we came here again, so we were closer to the Hochfugen ski resort.

Room Tip: We had an apartment on the 3rd floor with a balcony which afforded views of the town and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helmbrechts
Level Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

In 30 plus years traveling and living in Germany and Austria, the Guesthouse at the Brixnerhof was absolutely the most beautiful I've ever seen! But a million years ago the cavemen invented FIRE to keep warm. Apparently that thought didn't transfer to the Brixnerhof management! The beautiful living room was MAYBE 63 degrees or 17-18 grad! Insane.. The absolutely wonderful guesthouse had no controls in the apartment whatsoever. We were only there for one night enroute south, but if we would have had another night, I would have had to canx.

2ndly, the owner tried to hit us up for an additional 4 euro per room, because for only one night her profit was cut because we booked with Booking .com...NOT very professional...

I'm sure with really good weather in August this place would be heaven on earth.....but not in wet rainy September...another guest from NL had a small baby and complained to us privately about the cold!

Room Tip: Make sure the weather will be warm before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrypfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Last week, we were welcomed to the Brixnerhof by Elisabeth and her mother--some people are made to be hostesses and these two fall into that category! They treated us more like guests than customers and really made an effort to share the local food and culture with us (even to the point of inviting us to a town concert with them and treating us to the local Zittertal beer there!). I really can't say enough about their warm hospitality. On our second day, for example, Elisabeth came by and offered us some fresh baked plum cake and on Sundays, the breakfast includes a special, homemade cake/bread. Many of the breakfast ingredients come from the farm or from nearby: fresh milk, eggs and homemade marmalades. Elisabeth also gave us plastic bags to make sandwiches from the breakfast offerings to take on a hike.
The area nearby is beautiful and we hiked between a number of different towns and experienced the "Almabtrieb" in one of them (a fall festival when the cows are paraded down from the hills into the barns for winter).
We stayed in one of the apartments in the "orchard," which was perfectly comfortable and bigger than we needed for just a weekend, but I could imaging would have been nice for a longer stay. The whole property was spic and span and it seemed like Elisabeth and her mother were constantly working to keep it so!
Overall, this was a dream weekend in the country and convenient for us Munich (we drove, but next time we might take the train instead).
Elisabeth sent us home with a hug and a tub of apples (we made applesauce!). I felt like we were leaving friends and hope to return to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelyllom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

It's a very friendly and clean hotel. The double rooms are all very large but the single is slightly small on the side. The owners are very welcoming ladies (mother & daughter) and although they don't speak much English (we travelled with fluent German speakers), they're always smiling and willing to help you.

The breakfast is always sumptuous even with freshly squeezed milk! There was one day the lady asked us whether we wanted to make our own sandwiches for lunch with the stuff that was left on the table. I think each one of us made two sandwiches- so just imagine the amount of food that's provided to you on the table every morning! A true hearty farmer's breakfast!

The only let down of this hotel is the location (and the lack of internet facilities). You'll definitely need the car to drive around- otherwise there aren't many restaurants around the area to have dinner!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schlitters
0.2 mi away
ZUM SENNER Zillertal Adults only
1.7 mi away
Gasthof Hotel Post
Gasthof Hotel Post
#1 of 2 in Strass im Zillertal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Jager
Hotel Gasthof Jager
#3 of 4 in Schlitters
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#2 of 4 in Schlitters
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Brixnerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brixnerhof

Property: Brixnerhof
Address: Nr. 76, Schlitters 6262, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Schlitters
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Schlitters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brixnerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brixnerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing