We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had wonderful tasty meal there with excellent service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exshaw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rafter Six Ranch Resort
Zwolle, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Had wonderful tasty meal there with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Great place for horse lovers and rafters. Stunning views of the Rockies! Sporty. Beautiful chiseling/carving of native scenes in parts of the restaurant. Nice gift shop. Humor as well. Very nice quesadilla's! Served when we were really hungry, at an odd time (4pm) without any problem.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    7
    17
    15
See reviews for
30
18
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Beautiful scenery but overpriced room. Only had a double bed, was expecting a queen. Bathroom very small. Breakfast was good, cozy dining area. The next night we were in Banff and had a much nicer and much bigger room for almost the same price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Conny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Exshaw hotels

Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for a night in the lodge paid $500.00 for one night accomadation in a very tiny un-appealing room, two hour horse back riding for two and three meals that were at best very average!
The whole idea of being a ranch with no frills is totally fine with me, i love rustic but rustic can still be upkept and not old and dingy looking. Our room was right above the lounge and was extreamly noisy, however it did get quiet by 10:00. Hottub was a joke, the jets didnt work, so it was like sitting in a soaker tub. We would return to horse back ride but i would not stay or eat here again.
This ranch has been around for a very long time, However it needs a lot of work. Rooms could be updated but still kept rustic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madbatmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Rafter 6 resort is everything it should be. No frills, no lace, just home comfort with amazing staff and adventures.
We did the white water rafting, starting at "the widow maker" and spending 5 hours of the best fun you can have in freezing, Rocky mountain water.
This was followed by a gut busting BBQ, of excellent quality. We had the time of our lives.
Its very sad this amazing place is for sale. Its an icon of the Rockies, situated in one of the most beautiful parts of the world

Room Tip: Just ask for a Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carstairs, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The location and overall appearance of the Ranch is stunning. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Having gained most of our info from their website we were looking forward to the food and activities. It appears that the chef profiled on the website is no longer there as the only dining room choices offered were from the lounge menu. As a required number of guest had not registered for the supper trail rides we were unable to experience one of the key activities we went for. The accommodation was quite threadbare with routine maintenance sorely needed. Basic dishes and utensils were missing and lights broken or missing. The overall experience was great but didn't meet expectations created by the website.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I went to Rafters Six Ranch as part of a staff retreat. We were there for one day only. Our activities included the cowboy college which I found a little immature for 40 adults but imagine kids would love it. We also took part in a mini rodeo which was fun for all involved.
We had lunch, bison burger buffet, which was delicious and then supper, a large selection of meats and the usual potatoes, corn etc.
The location is fantastic and if you take time to walk the grounds you will see many animals.
Not sure if I would go back for the same thing but may try one of the trail rides.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottishlass123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a great place to spend a quite weekend away from all the big city distractions. Staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. Meals are great. The 2 hour Ride and walks made for a fantastic and memorable weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clabbyroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exshaw
12.3 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
9.2 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino
Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino
#19 of 33 in Kananaskis Country
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
13.1 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
12.3 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafter Six Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafter Six Ranch Resort

Property: Rafter Six Ranch Resort
Address: 81130 South Ranch Road East | P.O. Box 100, Exshaw, Alberta T0L 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Exshaw
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Exshaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rafter Six Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafter Six Ranch Resort is a resort ranch with full facilities on site including horseback riding, whitewater rafting, and an adventure ropes course. Rafter Six Ranch Resort is located along the Kananaskis River nestled at the base of the Canadian Rockies. Located 2km from the Trans Canada Highway – we are 45 minutes west of Calgary and 20 minutes east of Canmore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rafter Six Ranch Hotel Exshaw
Rafter 6 Ranch Resort
Rafter Six Ranch Resort Canmore, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing