We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great birthday celebration!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exshaw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rafter Six Ranch Resort
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“A great birthday celebration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We had a 70th birthday celebration supper and pony rides for the children. The food was great and the staff was so friendly and accommodating. It is a wonderful memory!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PattyO641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    7
    17
    15
See reviews for
30
18
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had our daughter's wedding at Rafter Six and it was wonderful. Marshall and Monique are to be commended for their fine work, they were excellent, organized and made everything fall into place. The scenery was beautiful and I have only heard good comments from our guests. The food and service was excellent. The church was beautiful! We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy57195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We were just there this passed weekend for our daughters wedding. We traveled from Ontario. Booked everything on line. Our room was very rustic, priced okay, clean. The chalets on the other hand were a bit dark not very big and over priced. The church was beautiful. The food was well presented. But at the rehearsal for the wedding it seems we were rushed. We were diappointed with the fact there was quit a bit of miscommunication between staff and the person who runs the ranch. Over all the wedding was beautiful and had a lovely country feeling.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littleq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Incredibly expensive, service was generally poor and it is clearly focused around the large tour bus groups that come by on the way from Calgary to the mountains.

We probably met two members of staff who we didn't make us feel like we didn't deserve to be there, fortunately one was working the check-in desk.

If you are looking for an authentic Western experience turn around and go elsewhere.

The only saving grace is the beautiful location and the horses.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalgaryComp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Exshaw hotels

Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

My Granddaughter ( age 10)and I went on the Ropes Challenge Course and loved it-the course truly is a challenge, with 18 rope crossings from tree to tree approx 20/30 feet in the air. Takes about 2 hours for 6 people, we thought it was well worth the money. We never stayed at the lodge so can't comment on it, looks rustic but I would think that is what you expect at a "ranch"

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank realtortravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

I was there last night for a wedding, fiancee and I got a cabin, I think this has to be the worst place I've ever stayed at anywhere, I would prefer a dingy motel somewhere on the highway, at least then you'd probably be getting your money's worth. We spent around 200 for the cabin,no tv, no fridge(this one I really couldn't comprehend) the cabin was beyond small having room for the bed in the room but not much else, if your taller than 6"3 like me, added bonus of not being able to fit in your cabin, i had to walk in the door
sideways to get in the cabin and that was the height limit for a lot of their buildings. Staff wasn't
anything special, we had to fight to
get ice and I think we only got it
because we were there for the
wedding, that was also when we
realized they don't have fridges so
there isn't even much of a point
anyways. The food at the wedding was good, had nice roast beef and chicken and the breakfast was the best part for me the whole time we were there, that and the fact we were leaving right after that. I wouldn't get married there, my friends told me they paid around 25k for it and so not worth it. If you want to stay somewhere around banff that has a chalet feel, go to castle mountain chalets, rafter 6 could learn a few things from them

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

I was extremely disappointed in this trip. My girlfriend flew out from Saskatchewan for a girls weekend of R n R. The lodge and surrounding area is beautiful and very rustic but the restaurant service was the pits. The breakfast buffet was okay.. things were a bit dried out. I have had better breakfast at Denny's or Humpty's. The evening buffet and dinner options are all over $30.00 and were nothing fancy. We ended up driving to Canmore for one of our suppers. Most of the staff were around the age of 20 and seemed to be overwhelmed and unorganized. We even heard some yelling at each other. The rooms were very old and rustic. Very thin walls. Could hear the next rooms conversations. The towel were a joke. They looked like rags. They only came up to my waist and they were thin and rough. They only had hand towels to give us for the hot tub. Not happy to pay $200.00/night for a basic room when this is what we got.

The treetop ropes course what great! I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Go and do the trail ride, treetop rope course, and/or the white water rafting but do not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CurlyQ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exshaw
12.3 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
9.2 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino
Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino
#19 of 33 in Kananaskis Country
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
13.1 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
12.3 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafter Six Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafter Six Ranch Resort

Property: Rafter Six Ranch Resort
Address: 81130 South Ranch Road East | P.O. Box 100, Exshaw, Alberta T0L 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Exshaw
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Exshaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rafter Six Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafter Six Ranch Resort is a resort ranch with full facilities on site including horseback riding, whitewater rafting, and an adventure ropes course. Rafter Six Ranch Resort is located along the Kananaskis River nestled at the base of the Canadian Rockies. Located 2km from the Trans Canada Highway – we are 45 minutes west of Calgary and 20 minutes east of Canmore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rafter Six Ranch Hotel Exshaw
Rafter 6 Ranch Resort
Rafter Six Ranch Resort Canmore, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing