We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent hotel with superb facilities for winter/skiing vacations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ubergossene Alm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ubergossene Alm
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
302 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel with superb facilities for winter/skiing vacations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We (family with 2 kids, 5&7) together with friends (similar family set up) stayed at the hotel a few times already for skiing. The hotel has very nice rooms with all amenities, indoor fitness with tennis courts, a huge spa area with massages, different saunas, steam baths, indoor & outdoor swimming pool etc.
An area for teenagers and probably the largest area we’ve ever seen for kids called the “Kinderalm”.
Daily routine means: breakfast at 0900; drop the kids at the ski-school at 0945 across the street, around 30 meters to walk. Pick them up around 1500, shower at the hotel and they are gone to the Kinderalm latest by 1545. If you want, have a joined dinner with them at 1900 and they’re gone again by 1930 or they’ve dinner at the Kinderalm with all the other kids. Pick them up at 2100 by which time they are super tired anyway.
In between for adults, go skiing, enjoy the alm-bars around the ski sloops, go for a massage or the spa, dinner, drinks at the bar and relax at lot.
Those with kids now, if the kids are busy and they are at the Kinderalm, you can really enjoy vacations.
The staff is very friendly and if they don’t have something specific, they can and will arrange it. Simply said: a fantastic family hotel with superb facilities in a very nice skiing area!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    22
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
80
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is the 8th time we have visited this hotel in 7 years! The staff are excellent, the food is excellent, the facilities are excellent - need i say any more! The hotel offers excellent children's entertainment which means quality adult time as well. The hotel sits high up on a mountain so the mountain air is wonderful and the views are fantastic. The only downside for some people is the remotemess of the hotel. Hiring a car is important although the hotel does give out free bus passes.

Room Tip: We have a young family so we chose an apartment. This consists of two bedrooms and a shared bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We enjoyed our summer break so much we returned for my wife's birthday - which is on Christmas Day, so a double celebration. The first thing to impress us was that most of the staff seemed to be the same as had been there a few months earlier - staff retention is always a good sign. The Alm makes a super spot for a ski-ing break. The slopes are all good - mainly easy-intermediate in standard - and relatively quiet. The best thing is that the nearest tow is literally across the road, so there is no need to carry your skis, or bother with buses. The food was as good as ever, and the ambience excellent. A hotel in which both couples and familes feel well looked after. Plenty of child-friendly activities for those with children. The management run it very well - excellent staff who manage to walk the tightrope between friendly and respectful with exquisite balance. No complaints of any kind, and much to commend...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichFlyingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Another year, another winter vacation, but again the same place. Why we return? Well, in one word it would be "pleasure". I just love being greeted by my name in a hotel at a first glance. I do not know how they do it, but do it they do. Well, that is a family run resort for you. And who would not love being pampered in all aspects.

One aspect, close to my heart (or rather stomach) is the excellent food and wine they serve at Ubergossene Alm. It all starts with breakfast specials by different countries. So a traditional Austrian board one day, Bavarian pretzel, bratwurst and beer the next and followed by Scandinavian fish or French crepes in upcoming week. Those who do not want to experiment, huge selection of many traditional foodstuffs are waiting for your enjoyment.

After you get back from your outdoor activity (after all, this is a nearly mountain top ski resort) you can choose from simple but hardy luncheon selections. Salads, soups, two different main courses and wide variety of desserts are ready for you from 1 to 5 PM, so you do not have to cut your sporting activity short.

As you probably already assumed, the best is yet to come. At dinner time a full 5 course meal is waiting for you (not to count the cheese course and the ice cream option). Excellent salad selection, followed by starters so uniquely crafted, that you would thing there is a Hogwarts wizard in the kitchen. The soup course brings some time proven and some not so traditional choices. The main courses (selected at breakfast time from meat, fish or "vital menu" choices) often combine ingredients that make you thing "why didn't I think of that myself". Well genius ideas are often simple. The desserts are usually nice and small enough that you do not need to feel guilty, except for one day a week when there is a dessert buffet. At that point the the kitchen is probably occupied by mad confectioners, who craft their stuff with the only thought that there is no tomorrow. All these courses are of course complimented by fine selection of wines, if you choose so. And if I may suggest, choose so.

With all this food, you just got to get your physical activity done and usually you will not burn all the calories off anyway. This year it was only 2 lbs. up, and I did a lot of downhill skiing, hopping on the slopes just outside the hotel. We averaged about 20 miles (cca 30 km) downhill trails per day. For those who want to go uphill, the Nordic trail and snow shoe trail go by the side of the hotel. Those less incline to outdoor can work out a sweat in a full gym or on one of two indoor tennis courts.

After the sport and before the culinary extravaganza comes the relax in a spa. Many saunas, steam baths, solarium, whirlpools, facials, milk baths, oil massages and other treatments to feel well and look good.

So, if you like to be treated like a royalty, enjoy beautiful mountain scenery and enjoy sports and good food, then Ubergossenne Alm is for you. But if you like roughing it, try it anyway just to change your mind. As for me, well I guess I will have to come back another time. You know, just to make sure that this review is still true.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgePodzimek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent a week here in August, using the hotel as a base for walking in the fantastic mountains which surround it. The website doesn't really do the place justice - it is much better, much more personal, than the website suggests The hotel is well-situated, on a sunny shoulder of the mountains, just above the charming, flower-filled village of Dienten. It is a large hotel, with an active kids' club, and so suitable for families. Despite that, it has a calm, boutique atmosphere, and as a middle-aged couple we were very happy with the peace and quiet. The food was very good - generous helpings, but perhaps lacking the finesse which would have made it "excellent". The hotel lays on a light. self-service lunch which lasts until 5pm every day - a generous touch, and a useful service when you come in off the hill. Service was very good, and the attention to detail faultless. The spa is the best we have seen anywhere in the Alps. The mountains are all around - walking and ski-ing trails both begin right on the doorstep. We shall definitely return to try the ski-ing, but meantime we can vouch for the exceptional quality of the walking. One slight grumble was that our room, which was not the cheapest, had an obstructed view of the mountains. If booking, it might be worth checking that you have the view you expect. But all in all, this very well-run hotel significantly exceeded our expectations, and we thought it excellent value.

Room Tip: Our room (216) looked out over the overflow block ("Haus Petra") and had an obstructed vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwichFlyingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed for one week under amazing Hochkonig Mountain, where is the hotel situated and we really enyojed our stay. You can expect absolutely nice service from all hotel staff.
We stayed in Garden rooms which are situated directly next to Biotop lake with nice view to the valley, rooms were big enough for 2 adults and 1 child, very clean. You have your own sunbeds as well and this is very important when the sun is shining, like all our stay.
Breakfast buffet, lunch and fantastic dinner you can expect it as well.
Spazone with outside and inside pool, very good equipped fittness, huge zone for kids with playarea!!!
I have to thanks again for your great service and we will definitive be back and we will reccomend Ubergossene Alm hotel to all our friends!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

A family run hotel and spa in an amazing location - wonderful accomodation, fantastic staff, fab facilities....is there any wonder we keep coming back here?

Room Tip: Just ask and the staff will do their very best to give you what you want. All the rooms we have had...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alison I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dienten am Hochkonig
1.3 mi away
Vital Hotel Post
Vital Hotel Post
#4 of 5 in Dienten am Hochkonig
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Salzburger Hof
Hotel Salzburger Hof
#2 of 5 in Dienten am Hochkonig
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.6 mi away
Marco Polo Alpina
Marco Polo Alpina
#2 of 2 in Hinterthal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Eder
Hotel Eder
#1 of 7 in Maria Alm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bergheimat Hotel
Bergheimat Hotel
#1 of 4 in Muhlbach am Hochkonig
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wellnesshotel Mitterwirt
Wellnesshotel Mitterwirt
#3 of 5 in Dienten am Hochkonig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ubergossene Alm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ubergossene Alm

Property: Hotel Ubergossene Alm
Address: Sonnberg 23, Dienten am Hochkonig 5652, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Dienten am Hochkonig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Dienten am Hochkonig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ubergossene Alm 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "Übergossene Alm", one of the spa hotels in Austria, with its unique location at the foot of Hochkönig Mountain near Salzburg guarantees a genuine mountain experience for holidays in Austria. Hiking & walking holidays, skiing holidays or a well-deserved break - at this hotel located at 1,240 metres of altitude, holidays come in many facets: explore the 1,700sqm of wellness & spa complex in Hochkönig's world of vitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ubergossene Alm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubergossene Alm Hotel
Hotel Ubergossene Alm Austria/Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing