We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel, but nothing outstanding”
Review of Marco Polo Alpina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marco Polo Alpina
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hinterthal
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We booked this hotel via an RCI exchange and were perhaps unfortunate in that we were late on the list for room allocation. As a result, our apartment was on the top floor and could be best described as an attic room. The décor etc was fine, but as with most attic rooms the head room in places was rather limited. Unfortunately, the lowest head room was in the bedroom where, although neither my wife or I are particularly tall, we both bumped our heads on several painful occasions.

The facilities in the hotel are also rather limited, so you should only use the hotel as a base to explore the area, rather than a holiday resort in its own rights. We didn't eat in the main restaurant, but found the service and food options in the small bistro perfectly adequate.

The hotel boasts a "shop" in its literature, and in doing so would risk a legal suit for misinformation. I have seen better stocked "shops" in kiddies playrooms. There is no logic or imagination in the limited supply of goods they stock, e.g. whereas you could buy a tin of pasta sauce, you could not buy pasta to go with it. And you certainly couldn't buy basics such as bread, milk, cold meats etc etc. In short - the place is pointless and a waste of space.

Hinterthal s a quiet village in a glorious setting, but you really need a car if you are coming here; unless of course you are simply coming to enjoy the many good walks in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Marco Polo Alpina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 55 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

Spent two weeks at the resort on an RCI exchange.
The first thing to say is that the village of Hinterthal is primarily, a ski resort and when we arrived on May19th the village was very closed up and quiet. It is c.10 K further up the valley from Maria Alm where we found excellent restaurants in the Hotels .Without a car we would have felt a bit isolated and stranded.
Marco Polo is a lovely resort in a spectacular setting, surrounded by jagged snow topped mountains. The front office staff of Julia and co were welcoming and warm, consistently friendly and patient. A poor design fault has located the indoor children,s play area, complete with ball pit, directly beside the reception area.The noise at times was deafening and must drive the girls at the desk ....and residents using the free wi fi in the foyer.. mad.Management are excellent and the place was immaculate and perfectly maintained
Our one bedroomed apt was a good size with a great balcony overlooking amazing scenery.The daily cleaning was excellent and very unobtrusive. The 44 euro per week fee was well justified.
Only at the end of our stay did we discover that, for an extra fee, we could have had Internet connection in the apt. Certainly this info should be clear in the room.
Marco Polo itself was very busy with an amazing number of under 5's and over 60's.!
I would love to return to Marco Polo and , with a car in Summer, recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Request a top floor overlooking the valley
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dublin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Hotel is in a quite village. For skiing is a 10-minute uphill walk from the main lift station in the hotel. Small nursery slope next to the hotel. Breakfast and meals in the small bistro restaurant were good and reasonably priced. Were in a RCI exchange and hoped for a room with alpine views. Unfortunately not with no outlook but the room was adequate. The first room allocated to us despite being ‘non smoking’ smelt heavily of smoke and I was pleased the hotel staff could move us to one that was not contaminated. Third 'bed' in room was small and a hard base, really a sofa. For a non-smoker the bar area is definitely a no go area but the rest of the hotel was ok. All staff very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: try to ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank peterborough1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

excellent for ski, familly with kids, ski slopes very closes (150 m), delicious meal, a lot of activities for every day propose by the hotel, every morning news at your door room, big area for ski

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mihneamitzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

If you want to see real Austrian country side this is the place. It is within reasonable travel distance to Salzburg (1 hour) and also to many other sights and tourist attractions. If you like hiking - perfect, if you like driving in the mountains - perfect, if you like being in the country - perfect.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony and a view of the mountains
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magdita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

On arrival, had booked a one bedroom apartment with balcony only to be offered a room in the loft space without any balcony. When complained to the reception staff they were very rude and unhelpful, ended up in a studio with a balcony, with lovely views, but definitely not what we expected. Booked through RCI, as listed as Gold Crown resort, very much lower standard of accommodation and facilities to what we normally get for the gold crown.

Hotel staff did not improve as the week progressed, would say Julia is probably the rudest reception staff I have ever come across. She was very unhelpful and arrogant!

The manager did his welcome talk entirely in German, and as we were the only English people in the hotel, made no effort to speak or interact with us the whole week!

The location is fantastic. Lovely village setting, with great views of the slopes and mountains. Excellent location for the nursery slopes, and the instructors at the ski school were amazing.

Don't do the tobbogan excursion if you don't like walking, as you have to walk the 2.5km up the mountain to the bar, before decending! Not good when you don't know you've got to walk! Big surprise!

Would say the hotel lacks a jaccuzzi, as all the rooms only have showers, and the pool is very cool, it would be nice to be able to warm tired muscles at the end of a hard days skiing in the warm water.

Be warned - the village does not have any shops, only a bank. All the bars and restaurants only take cash - no cards. The hotel sells the basics at a price, so get a car and go to Maria Alm for the Billa to do your shopping. Great wine at less than 2 euro a bottle!

Would recommend the resort, especially if you're a beginner. But the hotel is defineitly not up to 4 star standard!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolynSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Accommodation was a bit small for 4 people, but was actually very comfortable and quiet. The kitchen was ample equipped. Resort was offering a few excursions and happenings which seemed really good. We only participated in the Xmas eve drinks and festivities which was very enjoyable. The resort is centrally located for excellent skiing. Staff at reception was always very friendly and very helpful. We will be back! Pity the resident bar and the pizzeria was not up to standard.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pet2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinterthal
2.6 mi away
Ubergossene Alm Resort
Ubergossene Alm Resort
#1 of 5 in Dienten am Hochkonig
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Urslauerhof Berg & Spa
Urslauerhof Berg & Spa
#3 of 7 in Maria Alm
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haus Salzburg
Haus Salzburg
#1 of 2 in Hinterthal
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Eder
Hotel Eder
#1 of 7 in Maria Alm
252 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alpenland Sporthotel
Alpenland Sporthotel
#2 of 7 in Maria Alm
204 reviews
3.6 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Maria Alm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Alpina

Address: Kreidenbachweg 6, Hinterthal 5761, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Hinterthal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hinterthal
Price Range: $141 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Alpina 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Marco Polo Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Alpina Hotel Hinterthal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing