We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avenay-Val-d'Or
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Domaine du Moulin
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Moulin for 4 nights; wish it could have been longer. Everything about the Moulin exceeded all our expectations. Our host, Veronica Salmon, was delightful and helpful (she worried about her grasp of english, but we thought she was perfect). She greeted us with a glass of champagne and typical treats from the region once we got settled in our room. As for our room, it was spectacular--size, cleanliness, furniture! The grounds (pool included) are beautiful. Breakfast in a room with sliding glass doors, offering views of the rabbits out in the lawn, was superb. The Moulin is only about 4-5 miles from Epernay and plenty of restaurants. Reims is also a reasonable distance (less than 40 miles).

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any room at the Moulin. We saw one other room, across from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeadofSpreesUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 34 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is a great base for exploring the Champagne region. The rooms were big and super clean. The breakfast was amazing. And after travelling for a while with no clean washing, when I asked Veronique if there was anywhere I could wash she kindly did all our washing and popped it back into our room all folded.
Warm friendly place to stay

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fojb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Warm welcome from Veronique and she showed us the old mill, which the kids loved! Huge clean room (we had the Dahlia suite) with a modern sparkling clean bathroom and very comfy beds. The pool and yard were lovely and we went into town to get food and had dinner on the deck. When Veronique saw us with our food she brought out proper cutlery and napkins for us. Breakfast was one of the best during our stay. The children loved the bowls of fresh strawberries! We could have stayed for days. The next time we're in the area we will make a point to stay longer. My family thought I was brilliant for finding Le Domaine du Moulin. It's really a special place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easthamptontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a quick weekend getaway to the Champagne Region. We were four adults and two children, and every single one of us loved our stay. And let me assure you, this place is even more charming in person than in the pictures, if that's possible.

The rooms are just lovely. Clean, large and well decorated. Our bathroom had good lighting, a magnified make-up mirror, and dual sinks.

The grounds are quaint and charming. Country French beauty at every turn. Parking is free onsite, and secured with a gate.

Breakfast is really good. Soft boiled eggs, fresh bread, baguettes and pastries, yogurts, cheeses, meats, juices, cereals, fruits, etc. And the presentation is so pretty you want to take a picture first.

Our kids loved the pool, game room (foosball and pool table), and played badminton. We brought sandwiches and wine and drinks back with us one night and dined al fresco on their lovely terrace.

They have free wifi as well, and of course we used that!

Another reviewer noted the ideal location between Epernay and Reims. A little farther from Reims, but still convenient.

My only note woul be that the first night it was very hot in our rooms. In the future I may consider bringing a fan with me if the weather will be hot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in May 2013. Our room was simply stunning! We were made to feel extremely welcome by Veronique and everything was very relaxed. Unfortunately it wasn't warm enough to use the pool but the games room was great and there were lots of places to sit outside. Breakfast was definitely the best we had during our 2 weeks away- such a good choice and a lovely dining room. The location is in a lovely village which is just what we wanted and it is close enough to Epernay and Reims for day trips. There are of course plenty of champagne houses to explore locally. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmy_r_coleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay if you are in the Epernay/Reims area. It is a few minute drive from restaurants and shops in Epernay and not far from Reims either. Rooms are wonderful. Clean and well appointed. The owner is so welcoming and warm. You almost feel as if you are staying at the home of some long-lost French relatives.

Do not skip breakfast in the morning. There is a selection of breads, pastries, fruit, yogurt, jams and multiple kinds of honey. It is very good. There is a pool if you are here in the warmer months.

The hotel is in the countryside and has a very relaxing feel to it. Beautiful views from all the windows. Prices are very reasonable. I would highly recommend staying here. If we ever come back to the area I can't see us staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DZKathrynE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We weer there on a girls weekend and had a wonderful stat: big clean rooms, a wonderful breakfast, a large garden and the champagne fields everywhere...
The owner is very friendly and does everything to please you.
My next stay is already booked !

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindeDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avenay-Val-d'Or
2.1 mi away
Hotel Castel Jeanson
7.4 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
15.4 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
496 reviews
3.9 mi away
Prim'Hotel Bagatelle
4.2 mi away
Premiere Classe Epernay
Premiere Classe Epernay
#3 of 14 in Epernay
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine du Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine du Moulin

Address: 1 Chemin du Moncetz, 51160 Avenay-Val-d'Or, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Avenay-Val-d'Or
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Avenay-Val-d'Or
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le domaine du moulin se situe dans le vignoble Champenois à côté des vignes de champagne, près de la ville d'Epernay et à proximité de celle de Reims, dans un site magnifique et très calme.Tout est prévu pour vous accueillir dans les meilleures conditions de confort et de sérénité. Les prestations offertes sont de haut de gamme et de grande qualité et c'est avec plaisir que nous vous y recevrons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Domaine Du Moulin Champagne-Ardenne/Avenay-Val-D'Or, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing