We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suara Ombak Cottages
Reviewed November 22, 2011

we stayed in the lovely birdhouse for 9 days with lots of privacy. the owner rob and his lovely staff does everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
food is very good as well.
they can give you nice tips how and what to do. helps you to organice as well whatever you are looking for.

really can recommand this place and would go there anytime again being in bali.

try to get the Birdhouse, the Charthouse or the Captain's Quarters. they have a beautiful sea view and a nice balcony overlooking the coast.

enjoy :-)

connie and david

Room Tip: Birdhouse, the Charthouse or the Captain's Quarters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david14021977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife booked Suara Ombak after stumbling across the website - and right from the warm welcome, it lived up to all its promise. If you want hidden, rustic luxury delivered in fine, laidback style, this is the place for you. We stayed for three nights in the excellent Birdhouse, with great views over Bingin, and enjoyed undisturbed relaxation along with fine, freshly-cooked Indonesian dishes. Bingin is definitely not like Kuta and all the better for it - it is great for surfers and non-surfers alike, and is a fantastic place to kick-off travels in Indonesia. Being pretty remote, if you are keen to explore the area you should hire a car/motorbike. The very helpful staff will help you organise that.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms to choose from, and all look to have a unique design. The Birdhouse is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at Suara Ombak for three nights in August, opting for the cottage which overlooks Dreamlands; perfect for keeping an eye on the husband as he surfed!! The place is quiet and tranquil, but with a scooter, you can get around to Bingin and the local restaurants. The location is the best thing about this place. It feels like you're in a rainforest! My overriding memory is of the sound of the roaring waves at night - idyllic. Also, Rob and his staff are superb. Some of the food Katie cooked for us was the best we had in Bali - try her Nasi Campur. I can't recommend it enough - Rob is a really interesting guy and we met some great people over dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsScott1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I went to Bali with my housemates. It's their first time in Bali and since i'm Indonesian who've been to Bali a lot since i was a kid so i am acting as their guide - sort of. Anyway we went there for 5 days and spent the first 2 nights at suara ombak. The place is quite remote, that's why it's suitable for those who wants to have a calm environment. You really will listen to the ocean's voice or the sound of the wave while you're sleeping. I suggest you'd better find out exactly where the place is, since it's quite hard to find on the first time. The place is secluded, and romantic. I think normally most of the surfer will go here when the wave is good. The view is just, fantastic. It's unbelievable, you will be waking up and see the ocean immediately. WOW, i really like this place and might come back with my boyfriend for the new year's eve. Sum it all, if you're looking for a unique, secluded, romantic, unforgettable and humble place, this is the one. And the owner, Rob, is an amazing guy - and also the staffs. I guess you can tell that i really enjoy my stay and like this place a lot.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cebolzappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We stayed for 5nights during the middle of our stay. We spent 4nights in the "Birdhouse" and the last night in the "Roundhouse". Both were great. Clean and comfortable but the Birdhouse defenitely had the better views of Bingin and Impossibles as well as Dreamland.

The manager (Dave) went out of his way to make our stay as comfortable as possible so many thanks to him.

The food was amazing and fresh.

It's located at the top of Bingin clifftop near Mick's Place.
There are definetely cheaper places around bingin but you get what you pay for.

Overall we highly recommend Suara Ombak to anybody wanting a relaxing, friendly stay that won't blow the budget.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank applesplats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Charthouse prima für alle, die es gerne "offen" und ohne Türen und Fenster mögen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nouria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PEICH1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bukit
0.7 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#4 of 10 in Uluwatu
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sal Secret Spot
Sal Secret Spot
#7 of 10 in Uluwatu
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn Possible
The Inn Possible
#5 of 47 in Pecatu
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in Jimbaran
3,836 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gravity Bed & Breakfast
Gravity Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 10 in Uluwatu
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suara Ombak Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suara Ombak Cottages

Address: Bingin Clifftop, Bukit, Karangasem, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Bukit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bukit
Price Range: $61 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suara Ombak Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Suara Ombak Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suara Ombak Cottages Hotel Bukit
Suara Ombak Cottages Bali/Bukit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing