We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Marino Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marino Tenerife
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Myself and my friend, both well under 60 stayed here between 15th and 24th March and had a brilliant time. It is true it is very quiet here but also very peaceful and a far cry from Los Cristianos or Las Americas. There is a little town within walking distance (Las Galletas) which is very nice and has more bars and restaurants but retaining a more Spanish feel to it. There are not many bars in the area but there are a few and we had a load of fun hanging out with some of the locals. Go to La Terraza and see Andreas for the best Mohito ever. We also hung out in Exiles (Marco behind the bar) where they had some good entertainment on some nights, although the Karaoke didnt do much for me, If you are still awake when this closes then across the road there is The Foaming Quart which is run by a very nice English couple.
The hotel itself was very quiet but i would rather have that than full of yobs. The staff were excellent and although some were more smiley than others whoever we spoke to were always very helpful. We didnt eat in the restaurant although we did have a couple of drinks there. There is a supermarket down the road near the bars which if you ask the staff they will tell you. There is also a Mercadonna in Galletas, but also a small supermarket on site where the owners are very nice and helpful. There is also a little trinket shop which has some nice bits and pieces. We had a one bedroom apartment which was excellent. We were on the right hand side over the back and so got the sun on both of our huge balconies. The apartment was extremely spacious and reasonably equipped with a fridge freezer, washing machine, microwave and twin hobs, kettle and toaster. The cutlery was also adequate. The bathroom was in very good condition and even had a small bath which was excellent for us as we both used it a lot. The cleaners came everyday and were very nice, We had new towels most days and the sheets were changed a couple of times although there was plenty of spare linen if we needed. Wi fi is free in reception, which is a vast very nice area. Everything including drinks and cigarettes is very cheap. This was a brilliant bargain holiday and I would travel with the same company and go back although I may try Galletas next time. If you want noise dont go here if you want a chill out break to walk, swim and read with a good enough night life then I thoroughly recommend it. Well done Marino Tenerife.

Room Tip: Always ask for a balcony that gets the sun.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
There are newer reviews for Marino Tenerife
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 749 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

just returned from a very pleasant stay at the marino very clean more here than expected only disapointment was no coastal walk we new there was no beach we walked to Ten Bel and Las geratas.we highly recomend Alexanders for excelent homemade food andl well presented.Also the chinese was excelent value 3 course meal 2diet cokes bottle of wine 2people 27euros.Not a lot to do outside the complex but we went to relax AND SOME SUNSHINE and that is what we got.best coffee and salad at Kagans bar on the complex.all in all cheap enjoyable holiday

Room Tip: we had room 204 studio very spacious and clean 2nd floor over look[ng the complex lovely balcony ple...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel itself was ok, it was clean but the food was over priced, especially for what it was, therefore we only ate in the restaurant once. The room we had which was a 1 bedroom was spacious and even had a washing machine, the only problem was that the balcony got no sun at all. The cleaners did a very poor job of cleaning the room although the towels were changed everyday and the room was to a level cleaned each day. There was always plenty of sunbeds by the pool and we never had any issues geting one which was nice. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly, especially the chap on reception who gave us a map and showed us all the nice spots to stop of at on the way to the volcano. I always found them all to be polite, friendly and always willing to help. The lack of entertainment was definitely an issue for us and is most certainly an hotel more suited to people over 60. They have 1 evening show on at night which is actually put on it the eating area and is very poor quality, we as were most other people bored by it. The area itself isnt really a holiday destination, its very, very quiet with little happening at all. It is more a residential area. I would definitely not revisit this area again, or at least not until im 60 then i would probably enjoy the peace. If u want no night life, no entertainment and nothing to do at all but sun bather then this is the place for u, otherwise i would avoid.

Room Tip: Ask for one over the pool so u get the sun on the balcony
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

For what we paid I think that this hotel is value for money.The apartment was very spacious and basically clean. That said however, the kitchen area and appliances were sticky to the touch, indicative of long term grease. I was not going to start scrubbing, so I made do with a wet wipe on all handles kettle etc.The bathroom was good with plenty of hot water. Adequate change of towels & bedding.
The downside of the hotel for me was that on the sunny side of the pool area, more than half of the area faced a stack of sunbeds which obliterated the pool view. The usual problem was evident of those who rose very early reserved the best positions, despite a notice in reception forbidding this. Reception staff were very helpful and pleasant.Be aware that when checking in a deposit of about £60 is required against damage, or a credit card registered.We only ate once in the restaurant. I felt that the staff were just doing what they had to do and no more. There was a definate lack of something.This applied to the bar as well.
If you would like room with a sunny balcony, ask for left hand side pool facing, or right hand back facing room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

As reviewed by other guests,i would agree the marino is very typical of it era and yes a little tired.But the clenliness of our appartment could not be faulted.As we had been to silencio before we knew what to expect a nice peacefull and relaxing holiday and we wernt dissapointed.Good food at local resaurants that big yellow thing in the sky what more could you want.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lofty01524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We wanted a cheap week away and having been to Costa Silencio 20 years ago i had fond memories of the area and to be honest nothing has changed in that time so it was just as i remembered ( we stayed at the old Ten Bel in those days and luckily this has long gone with the cockroaches i remember too!) When we arrived at the hotel i did request a sunny apartment as had been recommended but the reception staff assured me all apartments were sunny (not true) we were given our key but seeing the apartment was in the shaded area i asked to see another ( i'm never scared to ask for what i want when travelling ) and was given a different key but that apartment was awful tired old ( looking on to the road) and the balcony had been broken in to at some time! So we decided to take the first shady room and to be honest we are glad we did. It was roomy with all mod cons ( induction stove top, microwave, washing machine fridge freezer and coffee maker ) it was spacious and opened up to the solarium which was closed at the time but was perfect for some quiet sunbathing at the weekend when the workmen were not there. We were not impressed with the local food selection at all and tried somewhere new every night but the local food was utter rubbish and trying to get an unenglish meal impossible. The best food we had was a lovely pizza and pasta meal at Totem and the worst a fish and chips at Cathys Cafe ( it was possibly Birds eye grey fish but even then am not sure ) The highlight of the trip was the company we had in the evening at the Marino Bar and the staff there who were great fun yes the bar closed at 11.00 but a group of us who had got friendly bought bottles of vino before hand and sat outside ( yes even in Feb it was warm enough) drinking and laughing until the early hours fab company makes any holiday good and they were great.

To sum up don't expect the earth but for a cheap ( we paid £450.00 for flights transfers car parking and apartment for 2 of us ) and fun break make the most of what you get and the sun is really worth it. We are planning to go back later this year and will ask for the same room again ( 407 ) and then again in January for some more winter sun.

Room Tip: Our room was not a sunny one but modern and very spacious with the solarium straight off our patio.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank straysuzi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

these hotel and apartment rooms give you all you could ask for cookers fridefreezers washing machines and very comfortable accomadation will be sure to return
staff so very accomadating on every aspect

Room Tip: room 216 very quite sea view but no sun second time to this room two balconys
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa del Silencio
0.6 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
#1 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
1,261 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
19.2 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,853 reviews
2.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#2 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marino Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marino Tenerife

Address: Calle Minerva 2, 38630 Costa del Silencio, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Costa del Silencio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Costa del Silencio
Price Range: $66 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marino Tenerife 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Marino Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marino Tenerife Hotel Costa Del Silencio
Marino Tenerife Costa Del Silencio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing