We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not go here again”
Review of Marino Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marino Tenerife
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel itself was ok, it was clean but the food was over priced, especially for what it was, therefore we only ate in the restaurant once. The room we had which was a 1 bedroom was spacious and even had a washing machine, the only problem was that the balcony got no sun at all. The cleaners did a very poor job of cleaning the room although the towels were changed everyday and the room was to a level cleaned each day. There was always plenty of sunbeds by the pool and we never had any issues geting one which was nice. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly, especially the chap on reception who gave us a map and showed us all the nice spots to stop of at on the way to the volcano. I always found them all to be polite, friendly and always willing to help. The lack of entertainment was definitely an issue for us and is most certainly an hotel more suited to people over 60. They have 1 evening show on at night which is actually put on it the eating area and is very poor quality, we as were most other people bored by it. The area itself isnt really a holiday destination, its very, very quiet with little happening at all. It is more a residential area. I would definitely not revisit this area again, or at least not until im 60 then i would probably enjoy the peace. If u want no night life, no entertainment and nothing to do at all but sun bather then this is the place for u, otherwise i would avoid.

Room Tip: Ask for one over the pool so u get the sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 784 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

For what we paid I think that this hotel is value for money.The apartment was very spacious and basically clean. That said however, the kitchen area and appliances were sticky to the touch, indicative of long term grease. I was not going to start scrubbing, so I made do with a wet wipe on all handles kettle etc.The bathroom was good with plenty of hot water. Adequate change of towels & bedding.
The downside of the hotel for me was that on the sunny side of the pool area, more than half of the area faced a stack of sunbeds which obliterated the pool view. The usual problem was evident of those who rose very early reserved the best positions, despite a notice in reception forbidding this. Reception staff were very helpful and pleasant.Be aware that when checking in a deposit of about £60 is required against damage, or a credit card registered.We only ate once in the restaurant. I felt that the staff were just doing what they had to do and no more. There was a definate lack of something.This applied to the bar as well.
If you would like room with a sunny balcony, ask for left hand side pool facing, or right hand back facing room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

As reviewed by other guests,i would agree the marino is very typical of it era and yes a little tired.But the clenliness of our appartment could not be faulted.As we had been to silencio before we knew what to expect a nice peacefull and relaxing holiday and we wernt dissapointed.Good food at local resaurants that big yellow thing in the sky what more could you want.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lofty01524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We wanted a cheap week away and having been to Costa Silencio 20 years ago i had fond memories of the area and to be honest nothing has changed in that time so it was just as i remembered ( we stayed at the old Ten Bel in those days and luckily this has long gone with the cockroaches i remember too!) When we arrived at the hotel i did request a sunny apartment as had been recommended but the reception staff assured me all apartments were sunny (not true) we were given our key but seeing the apartment was in the shaded area i asked to see another ( i'm never scared to ask for what i want when travelling ) and was given a different key but that apartment was awful tired old ( looking on to the road) and the balcony had been broken in to at some time! So we decided to take the first shady room and to be honest we are glad we did. It was roomy with all mod cons ( induction stove top, microwave, washing machine fridge freezer and coffee maker ) it was spacious and opened up to the solarium which was closed at the time but was perfect for some quiet sunbathing at the weekend when the workmen were not there. We were not impressed with the local food selection at all and tried somewhere new every night but the local food was utter rubbish and trying to get an unenglish meal impossible. The best food we had was a lovely pizza and pasta meal at Totem and the worst a fish and chips at Cathys Cafe ( it was possibly Birds eye grey fish but even then am not sure ) The highlight of the trip was the company we had in the evening at the Marino Bar and the staff there who were great fun yes the bar closed at 11.00 but a group of us who had got friendly bought bottles of vino before hand and sat outside ( yes even in Feb it was warm enough) drinking and laughing until the early hours fab company makes any holiday good and they were great.

To sum up don't expect the earth but for a cheap ( we paid £450.00 for flights transfers car parking and apartment for 2 of us ) and fun break make the most of what you get and the sun is really worth it. We are planning to go back later this year and will ask for the same room again ( 407 ) and then again in January for some more winter sun.

Room Tip: Our room was not a sunny one but modern and very spacious with the solarium straight off our patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank straysuzi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

these hotel and apartment rooms give you all you could ask for cookers fridefreezers washing machines and very comfortable accomadation will be sure to return
staff so very accomadating on every aspect

Room Tip: room 216 very quite sea view but no sun second time to this room two balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have just returned from our 6th visit in 3 years to Marino and despite awful weather keeping us in for 3 out of the 7 days, the well equipped apartment, kept us comfortable, with the 7 channels of english/american tv helping to entertain us (Change the language settings from Spanish to English).
The rooms are cleaned 6 out of 7 days, with clean towels and linen twice in the week. New beds have now been put in all the rooms and very comfortable, if like us you enjoy a firm bed.

The hotel restaraunt and bar is OK, pleasant enough for most, although a little expensive for what you get. Kaygans bar is privatley run and offers excellent food & drink at reasonable prices, very friendly service from the owners Amy & Steve.

The usual entertainment is provided, commencing at 11am with arobics, rifle shoot, darts, table tennis etc, finishing with shows during the evening.

Costa del Silencio is resedencial and NOT a holiday resort, so don't expect nightclubs and flashing lights everywhere.
It has a good selection of bars and restaraunts to suit most tastes, whether you prefer english, spanish, indian, italian, chinese etc,
There are various supermarkets to choose from, all in walking distance.

If you are a young couple or family this is probably not for you. But for those of us over 40, it is quiet when you want it to be and more lively if you want to get involved.
Coral Mar square is 5 mins walk from the hotel, wher you will find a few small english owned bars, frequented by the local ex pats and spanish residents.

A hire car is useful, but the near by town of Las Galletas is only a 20min walk, where more bars and restraunts can be found.

Room Tip: Ground floor to the left of reception is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Having booked this hotel for a month in which I was led to believe was a hotel, I later found out that it was mostly time share and residential apartments.
My first impression on arrival wasn't good, the lady checking us in was moody and most unhelpful, she was more interested in asking for 60 euros to cover damage for the room than welcoming us for our month's stay.

The apartment was well equiped although it badly needed refurbishment, light switches hung out of their sockets showing bare wiring, the washing machine was broken, light bulbs needed replacing, the iron was also broken and showing it's wires, the tv had to be replaced along with the kettle and the shower attachment. Everything got sorted eventually although these things should have been checked before we went in.

The public areas needed cheering up, the furniture had seen better days with terrible stains on the seats of the sofa's and the surrounding pillars and walls were filthy with either tea stains, hand marks and black streaks, it needed a good wash down.

The dining/entertainment area was uninviting as was the food they served and the staff including maintenence just helped themselves behind the counter in their work clothes, it did'nt look good from a paying customers point of view. The waiting/bar staff were rude and lazy and once your meal was shoved under your nose they didn't bother to return to see wheather you required anything else, either a sweet or a coffee, infact they were such a lazy bunch you even had to go to the bar area to request your bill.

The entertainment was diabolicle and the so called entertainments team which consisted of a woman who was very rude to us for not wanting to join in her quiz and as for the guy who I might add looked most of the time like a tramp and who suggested if ever we got bored we should take drugs meant we did'nt return throughout the rest of our stay, just as well because if you wanted to buy a coffee you couldnt get one after 10pm because the coffee machine had to be cleaned as the place closed at 10:30 pm. The reception area also turned their lights off at 11pm, apparently company policy....

The cleaning of the apartment was almost non existant, minimal cleaning consisted of bed making, towel changing when they could be bothered, this week next week, sometime never and I had to make do with the sme tea towel for the whole month I was there. The dust in which accumilated over the furniture and tv was unexceptable and it did occur to me that it was my job to keep the apartmet in order, but that's why I took this break to have a rest from the mindane duties I do all year round at home. The floors in the living area were like sand pits through lack of sweeping and the balcony was a disgrace with the same piece of debris left from the previous tenents duration through out my stay.

The area of Silencio was desolate, dull, boring and awash with dog's poo, it was caked on the pavements and it was awful to witness iresponsible owners not clearing up after their pets....the smell was awful and made us gagg especially with dogs urin which covered every wall and lampost en-route to either the bus station, supermarket, a few empty bars that all lead to nowhere.

I would never recommend this place or area to stay and if you suggest I look for a higher star hotel although this was not a hotel then just think on. It should'nt matter the star rating as the cleanliness and customer service should all come as stanard !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank shell442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa del Silencio
0.6 mi away
Annapurna Hotel Tenerife
Annapurna Hotel Tenerife
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
#1 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
1,364 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
#1 of 5 in Golf del Sur
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
1,805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Alondras Park
Apartments Alondras Park
#4 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
461 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sol Arona Tenerife
Sol Arona Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marino Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marino Tenerife

Address: Calle Minerva 2, 38630 Costa del Silencio, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Costa del Silencio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Costa del Silencio
Price Range: $72 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marino Tenerife 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and bedfinder AG so you can book your Marino Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marino Tenerife Hotel Costa Del Silencio
Marino Tenerife Costa Del Silencio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing