We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SURPRISINGLY GOOD”
Review of Marino Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marino Tenerife
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed as a family of 5 at this 3 star hotel during the Christmas period. We normally stay in 4 or 5 star hotels and we were stunned at how lovely our family apartment was - 2 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a huge kitchen and lounge and two balconies, one with sunbeds and the other with table and chairs.

We stayed in room 124 overlooking the pool from the left hand side. The right hand side accommodation gets no sun during the day so request the left. There is everything on site, supermarket, shop, sports bar (Kaygans) - special mention to Steve and Amy who were so hospitable. The hotel's restaurant is also lovely and we had a magnificent Paella in there the first night we arrived.

A few games going on each day led by Marco who also dressed as Father Christmas on Christmas Day and made it a day to remember for all the children.

We went self catering but ended up eating in the Hotel restaurant - 5 Euros for an adult and 2.50 Euros a child - brilliant value. Food and drink in all local restaurants very cheap.

Special mention has to go to the Balti India Restaurant in the square near the hotel - a fantastic meal and again very cheap and also Stellas.

THE ONLY DISAPPOINTMENT was when we visited the restaurant "Totem" on Christmas Eve when we ended up sending back seafood (rubbery mussels and inedible king prawns). We complained they were not fresh to which the reply was "We don't sell fresh seafood here!" This was our most expensive meal and they then took the liberty of adding 7% service charge which no other restaurants we visited during our stay chose to charge.

Apart from the fiasco with restaurant Totem we had a fantastic stay which was enhanced by such beautiful sunny weather during our visit (19-26 December). Thanks to all the staff at the Marino Tenerife who made us so very welcome.







Costa Del Silencio is very cheap - 1 Euro for a pint of beer and

Room Tip: Request room on the left hand side facing the pool - there is no sun on the right hand side during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anonymous5528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 753 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

our party of 6 arrived xmas day lunchtime and recived a warm welcome from reception, and given our 3 rooms, on entering our rooms we couldnt believe why people moan about this hotel. we had 2 bathrooms (one en-suit). fully equiped kitchen and very clean. there was no problems getting sunbeds and the facillities within the complex were first class, ive stayed at 4 and 5 star hotels that dont match up to this one so well done to the helpful staff.we went to all the local resturants and bars which all met our expectations,ie- stellas for breakfast, exiles for all your live football, its great to watch the 3-00pm games live with exiles showing all the games on a number of tv's(shame we cant get them in rip off britian!).and coral bar for excellent evening meals.further down the road past the main bus stop there is moby dicks for massive fillet steaks and china town for your chinnese. behind these two is a small but very friendly bar called britannia run by paul and his wife that served pints of larger for 1e-20- get in there. we went to los cristianos and player americas twice for a more lively day/evening and to reminisse 25 years ago missbehaving at veronicas night clubs!. we left to go back to rainy england new years day afternoon. a great holiday had by all.

Room Tip: if you want space, cleanliness. relaxation, then this is the hotel for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p4rdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

me n the mrs (both late 40s) stayed at the marino for a week over xmas 2012...the hotel was fantastic & spotless clean too..we were self catering but ate out most of the time , however the massive apartment we had was very well equiped ..microwave,toaster,coffee maker,fridge freezer & all the pots pans etc required..there was an iron & ironing board a hair dryer and everything worked fine inc bath,shower etc...some rooms even have washing machines !!...try and get a pool view with sun if you can though ..we had shade all the time, this was ok but next time i go i will ask for this...the pool was lets say cold when you first jumped in but ok after 5 mins and it,s big enough for the place too...never had a problem getting a sunbed either..was plenty for all .. the staff were fine and we met some great people which was a bonus..we had xmas dinner at the hotel but we wasn,t too impressed with it and wish we had gone to the on site pub kaygans which serves great food + 2.50 euro a pint ...av it !!..theres also an on site supermarket which is cheap enough...better one 5 mins down the road though...silencio itself is a lovely tidy place only let down by two things... no beech & theres quite a lot of dog mess on the pavement...if you walk 25 mins down the main road galliatis has a beech and is a lovely place....or.we got the bus (3.60 euros & 25 mins) to los christianos ...proper beech and again brilliant place..buses run till midnight too...silencio is not as lively as christianos or las americas but has plenty of great places to eat & drink which are all fine....stellas (nice breakfast),zippys.exiles,euro bar,our place,strikers,albertros to name a few...all in all we had a great time and would highly recomend the marino to anyone ...will deffo go back

Room Tip: ask for pool view with sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and 8 year old for 10 days over Christmas.
We stayed in room 242, very clean with adequate kitchen, but as in many other reviews this room had no sun what so ever which was a real shame (tried to change room to no avail).

The staff were friendly and helpfull. We had dinner in the restuarant on Christmas day, excellent value at 23e (half price for kids), included glass of cava on arrival, large glass of wine of your choice, hot and cold buffet and desserts, you could go back as much as you wanted too!! (no roasties though or Xmas pud!! and dinner wasn't till 7pm ).Even though we weren't there for new years eve a similar dinner was 60e!

Kaygans still excellent as in other reviews (one of the best seafood salads I ve had).2.50e for large beer as is the norm.

Balti house in the nearby square is excellent Indian food 3 courses for 10e (open evenings only), and the chicken shack for the same price for 3 courses.

You can bus it to Playa Las Amercas for about 2e, about 20e back in a cab. If your into live music Harleys bar and the Sax bar are excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny balacony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janey18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

we loved the hotel,very very quiet but what we needed,only one problem in the hotel,the man behind the bar,grumpy,as for the resort, dog owner should be ashamed of them self, dog poo every where, other wise was good xxx

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minxFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel was pretty good for the price we paid.

It had it's own night club (when open), large pool area, bar, restaurant, supermarket, a few exercise machines (not a proper gym) and a hairdressers / beauty salon (when open) and a shooting range.

Entertainment every night, in the restaurant, though normally solo stuff, and a couple of very nice folk during the day keeping poolsiders occupied with table tennis, aerobics, shooting etc.

The room we originally had was over the pool area, and a bit noisy with no sun on the balcony, so we were given a room with a sunnier balcony. The room wasn't properly prepared, though to be fair we had no problem with that, as it was a short notice swap, but it was quite worn throughout, and in need of new fittings.

It was acceptable for sleeping and eating in though, so not a horror story by any means, even if the worktop / breakfast bar had bad iron burns and should have been replaced before renting the room out.

The good points of the room were the facilities.

Balcony with table and chairs - 2 single beds + cabinet - wardrobe and dresser - safe - television - 2 chairs and coffee table - fridge - coffee maker - microwave - fitted oven - kettle - iron (new ironing board left outside door) and 2 of each type of glass etc, and cuttlery / pans / plates.

Bathroom again tired, but consisting of toilet, bidet, small bath, sink in cabinet, shower which was tap run so fine.

Cleaners came nearly every day, and towels and toilet rolls regular no problem.

24 hr reception with helpful staff, and security fence around hotel, with main door secured at night with guard at desk.

No issues with anything, though I wasn't impressed with the restaurant staff, but that's just one opinion. The English waiter and manager were fine though.

The resort is cheap, with the beers ranging from €1 upwards, and cigarettes about €2. We were able to eat cheaply too, with the Chicken shack offering 3 course meals for 7.99 and 9.99 day / night with very good food.

Very boring resort though, and in December consisted mainly of ex-pats and pensioners walking dogs or getting drunk. Square with sports bars, breakfast, Indian restaurant and stuff 2 minutes walk, and a road leading away with more expensive options further afield.

There was gossip about regular muggings, though we had no issues, and maintained a degree of common sense to be fair.

A bus ride to Los Cristianos and Los Americas was about €2-3 each, & 15 minutes - ish, and there were good prices to be had there too, not to mention the fabulous surf and beaches there, which Costa del Silencio 'does not' have.

We had mixed cloudy / sunny weather the first week and glorious the 2nd week and stayed from 6-19th December.

Supermarkets opposite bus stops the cheapest, but none were as bad as you would find in other resorts around the world.

Overall, a very cheap holiday, costing me less than 500 quid for 2 weeks plus spends.

Not a resort for young folk though, and though you can walk in to Las Gallettas, and get a cheap beer and meal, not much to do anywhere.

Great if all you want to do is eat and drink though, as cheapest place I've ever been.

Room Tip: Bit noisy above pool. OK though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a very dated hotel, but kept lovley and clean and the rooms were lovely too with a kitchen with a washing machine, ironing board, plates, cutlery, pots pans etc etc... we went last christmas and the pool was FREEZING! the hotel resteraunt i tried once and didnt like this at all... rude male staff and cold food... when we were there, there was a lovley indipendant bar (kaygans) open round the pool owned by 2 lovely english people, if this is still open go there! the best sangria and food ever! and christmas dinner to die for :) (Thanks Steve & Amy)!!
On the first night we arrived there everyone had stopped serving food so Steve & Amy advised us you could order a chinese for delivery to our room and this was a nice suprise :)
there isnt a lot to do in silencio and its rather windy on an evening (in Dec) so we caught the bus in the morning into americas or christianos (the bus station in a 10 min walk from hotel) then caught back again tea time to get ready toi go aout and then the bus back again in the evening for the night life, theres a few bars and resteraunts within silencio to try with lovely food and kareoke etc.. but me and my partner wanted something a little more upbeat :) and the bonus is i only saw ONE LOOKY LOOKY man in Silencio in the whole 2 weeks and he was lovely and didnt pester you :)
Definitly try Siam & Loro - GREAT DAYS OUT!! - the all you can eat chinese buffets are also lovely and good value for money....

All in all, lovely peaceful location with nice little pastry shops and tit tat shops :) but if you want night life or a little more hustle and bustle stay somewhere else, walking back to your hotel on the evening we felt we had to whisper haha :) lovely location - a lot of elderly have moved to this village...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abby h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa del Silencio
0.6 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
#1 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
1,272 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,967 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
2.4 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marino Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marino Tenerife

Address: Calle Minerva 2, 38630 Costa del Silencio, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Costa del Silencio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Costa del Silencio
Price Range: $66 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marino Tenerife 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Marino Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marino Tenerife Hotel Costa Del Silencio
Marino Tenerife Costa Del Silencio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing