We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Marino Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marino Tenerife
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay, yes the hotel is slightly dated, but it is still nice, the room was adequate, the pool was so cold I couldn't get in, and got fed up with the people waiting for the beds to be unlocked to reserve them, so went out mostly, we hired a car, which was the best thing as got out and about, so please do it as its great, the rooms were not cleaned every day. And only one towel change in week. Eating out was good, we ate at Neil's bistro, lovely, la Penca tinta, a wonderful Italian set in a car park halfway down main road please try it! Totem was good, and for the best we went into las galletas and found local bars that looked slightly worse for wear but did the best tapas- I prefer less tourist and more local- it was great. For me Tenerife was amazing, I personally will be going back next year but not to marino as felt it was too quiet for us, there were all ages there but it not for us. The reception staff were lovely, just not so the cleaning of rooms. And agree with reviews about dogs mess it is everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaylajane01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    300
    116
    37
    35
See reviews for
200
380
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just come back from a week at Club Marino in a 1 bed appt, which was very roomy & comfy. our appt overlooked the side road but was quiet so no complaints. The top sun deck offered quiet sunbathing away from the pool activities, which were varied if you wanted to get involved.
We ate out & found the Belgian restaurants; Tijl, Camaleon & Westhaven Bay the best for food. Tijl was twice as expensive as a typical English restaurant but 10 times better.
Just one gripe with the resort; the local council needs to sort out the dog mess & bits of dog mess people had obviously trooden in on the pavements. Every journey was a game of dodge the mess. They really need to sort this out with power hoses or something

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaretMad61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Away from the hustle and bustle of the Americas and Christianos armpit that is a tourist trap for those wanting the full-on nightlife and the premier shopping experience. This gem is quietly tucked away in a smaller town which presents a quieter and reserved atmosphere and for a dad with 3 kids, it was great !

We had 2 weeks self-catering and were able to vary our evenings of eating in (good cooker, hob, microwave, toaster, coffee machine etc with 3 supermarkets v nearby) the hotel restaurant had a good choice of food and drink and there is a good selection of local restaurants in walking distance.

The washing machine meant we went back with little to no washing !!!

Loads of poolside activities (air rifling, scuba, water polo, table tennis competitions) and a snug poolside bar for the evening entertainments and the entertainment staff (Noel and Martina) were fantastic in engaging everyone from different countries in a hotel community spirit.

Similarly the hotel reception were very helpful in directions, buses and places to see... the hotel internet was 7 euros for the week which was good for you to use facetime/skype tools to not run your mobile roaming bill up...

There were plenty of poolside recliners and you didnt have to fight for them !!!

Place was clean and weather was sunny... what more do you want ! :-)

Would go back with no hesitation and returned really relaxed

Improvements would be air con in the rooms , but I was informed by friends who have lived in Tenerife for 10 years now that with 1 power station on the island apparently it i not common...

Room Tip: Request Pool side if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We went to this hotel in June this year and decided that one week was not enough and so we went again for 2 weeks from 19 Sept to Oct 3.
we expected a Studio apartment but we were given a 1 bed with a double bed which was more than we expected.
we were on the ground floor with a pool view only thing was there was a massive cacti tree outside our balcony which spoiled the view as we would have liked to have watched the entertainment from there.
the weather was great but a bit dull on the final day but we did not mind as we had to vacate our room at 10 am on departure but did not fly until 20.30
we used urbis coaches for our transfer they turned up 40 minutes late and picked us up in a crowded mini bus we were not late for the airport though.
as we said in our review in june silencio is very rural and there is no beach there only some rocky tarns as it is also in las gellatus which is a nearby fishing port.
it is not suitable for children in silencio if you want good beaches los cristianos or americas is good.
our advice is buy a bono card for the bus travel it is 15 euros and saves a third on travel costs all in all great holiday laid back and relaxing very suitable for couples.
what we liked is that it is a laid back resort with no pressure from waiters asking you to eat at their restaurant.
Kaygans bar on the hotel complex do great english food closed on Mondays though.
if you do go to silencio with very young children there is a creche run by a local church in coral mar square only thing is you have to stay there with your child but the coffee is good and great for a chat with english parents who live on the island Tuesdays at 10 30.
my wife and I love walking and went to cristianos quite a lot as the weather always seems better there but it is nice to come back to a quieter life at night and just relax and chill out
will be going again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank godfray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I just got back from Marino or Club Marina in Tenerife, i was quite pleased and will go back ...bare in mind its 3 star so please don't be fussy..accommodation was perfect, entertainment was great..if you want to relax there is everything there that you need!!
We had room 517, 2 bedroom apartment overlooking pool and some sea view, it was perfect for us as even when in apartment we felt part of it as we had the best view for all the entertainment!!, if you wish for peace and quiet choose an apartment that overlooks the back.. the entertainment team did a good job , water aerobics at 11.30, then rifle shooting and bowls in afternoon , every evening a different act on from 21.30 till 23.00. Food was ok at the main restaurant, you can pay as you go or go full board, they also have a la carte menu..also very nice food at Kayghans bar...as i said if you just wish to relax its all there for you..There is a supermarket on site and its not too bad, also a few more a 10 minute walk away....the area is very very quiet,..some nice bars/resataurants around but be aware they do close early!! we tried to go to the Harvester twice but was closed, first night we went at 21.00 so we then decided to try 19.30 already closed ..also Gallagher is closed on Saturday. we went to other places and were all good. If you want to go out and about and go out every night this may not be the place for you..but if you want to relax and go with the flow , this place has a few things to offer!!, just remember this is an early evening and early morning place so make the most of it..we were up at 08.00 as the resort comes to life , then 11.00 entertainment starts, also dinner is between 19.00 and 22.00, entertainment finishes at 23.00 and it all goes quiet, Costa del silencio means QUIET COAST! We went to the monkey park it cost 13.00 euros in taxi plus 10.00 entrance was a good experience bu please be there by 09.30 otherwise the monkeys are tired and do not want feeding, also check which food you can bring??!! We went to las Gallettas, also quiet, a restaurant recommended on TA (Las Piratas) was closed on Monday...Noel does a great job with the entertainment and the reception staff were very helpful. will def. go back !! THANK YOU

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank a f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

For my husband and I, this had everything and more. Ok room was a little dated but was very clean and had everything you needed. We are not ones for staying in yobish resorts such as Playa de Americas - we like to have the luxury of being able to get a short bus or taxi ride there which we did. The hotel had stunning views over the bay, a lovely little cove for some sunbathing and fantastic snorkelling. Great insight scuba shop who we did some excellent dives with. We did the short walk into las gallatas most days and ate at the harbour restaurants, beautiful food! We don't go on holiday in search of burger and Chips! Overall fantastic holiday, already rebooked to go back January! Ps hotel is fully booked January! Say no more!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelliekj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Arrived 15/09/2012 - left 25/09/2012. Am surprised at some of the other reviews. Yes the decoration is a little tired and perhaps needs a little modernising. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful to us. Changed our room (18th Sept) on 1st floor with view of car park (uninteresting but quiet) to 3rd level facing front (noisier but more interesting - watching the world go by).

Towels changed every 2nd day. Bedding changed regularly too. Staff seemed to be busy (tidying up, sweeping etc). Pool area clean and water temperature lovely.

Kaygans - only ate there once on 1st night - food poor - never ate there afterwards. However went to 'Totem' several times (next to the swimming people sculpture) on the road to Las Galettas. Food fab and staff very friendly. Ate at other places as well - look for the places where local people are eating. If you want British food - why don't you just stay at home?


Bus services good and very cheap compared to UK. You can get buses to every part of the island. There are some quiet beaches in Los Christianos (walk towards Las Americas - opposite Blue hotel). That area is the best place to hire a car (Orcar), 75 Euros for 3 days + 50 Euro deposit - staff very friendly).

PLEASE PLEASE get a car and explore the island especially Tiede and Masca, but loads of other beaches & villages to explore. Slightly scary at first but you get used to it and it is WORTH IT and extemely rewarding.

If you just stay at the beach or the the hotel pool - sorry people you haven't been to Tenerife - you just visited a hotel pool / resort beach in a warm country.

We loved our holiday in Tenerife. Depending on what you want Costa Del Silencio is a lovely place to stay. Marino needs a little modernisation but the facilities in the rooms and the venue generally are perfectly fine and in our experience the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa del Silencio
0.6 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
#1 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westhaven Bay
Westhaven Bay
#1 of 2 in Las Galletas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
2.4 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marino Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marino Tenerife

Property: Marino Tenerife
Address: Calle Minerva, 2, 38630 Costa del Silencio, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Costa del Silencio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Costa del Silencio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marino Tenerife 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marino Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marino Tenerife Hotel Costa Del Silencio
Marino Tenerife Costa Del Silencio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing