We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most definitely spacious and great for a business trip or family accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Krystal Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Krystal Suites
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Most definitely spacious and great for a business trip or family accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

I needed a quick cheap room at the last minute. I had no idea how spacious the room was. It was literally a gigantic apartment building with truly large apartment rooms like in any western accommodation. The prices are reasonable with the amount of space it provided. Honestly, you get what you paid for. The services was quite decent enough. I was traveling alone at that time but it is quite clear this place is perfect for a business trip or perfect suite that could feel like home. But I did find it very strange and inconvenient to bring your own Ethernet cord. They do supply and sell the cables but I think it should be provided exclusively for all customers. I have no problem having non-wireless internet but the cord should be available when people check-in

I was very lucky to have a clean room with perfect furniture and sheets. The location is convenient to the airport and it's easy to call a taxi. This place would be perfect for families which is perfect for all the tourist sitings nearby. I had plenty of sleep and space the entire day.

Room Tip: Look at the website for detailed description and be as specific as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi-AMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    25
    45
    12
    28
See reviews for
33
6
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seremban
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed at this premise twice in August for 3 nights at each visits. From outside the premise looks a bit rundown and the parking area was quite eerie. But with the rates they are offering it worth the money.

No services offered here. No room service what so ever. If you are looking for huge room with a low rates, you can consider this place.There are alot of eateries (non halal) at the ground flour of the premise.

Good things about this premise:
- Huge room
- Matress was good and extra pillow provided
- Lift was fast
- No limit of occupants
- Swimmingpool
- TV in the living and master bedroom
- Newspaper
- Hot water
- Kitchenette
- Clean toilet
- Quick respons upon every request (eg. iron )
- Free Internet (cable)

Bad things about the premise:
- Old lobby and abit rundown
- No potters
- Furniture old and chipped
- Old tv
- Shower area small with unpleasent odour during showering & molds on the walls
- Carpet was dusty and marked
- No room service
- No toiletteries
- Hardly any public transport (taxi RM16 to the nearest mall)

The closest shopping mall is about a good 10minutes walking (Bukit Jambul Mall). If you need to catch an early flight, its about 10minutes drive to the Penang International Airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ir_maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed in the two bedroom suites of this hotel and I must say the rooms were huge with a living room. Did not have the time to explore other services of this hotel, but if you are travelling with kids, this room would be ideal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

As soon as we checked into the room, I felt nauseous at the sight and smell. It was dark and musty, sofa and chairs were stained and the air condition in the rooms of the 2 br apartment were not cold at all even at 16 degrees. Obviously haven't been serviced for a long time. The kitchenette lacked utensils. No toiletries amenities, stained towels and pillows and sheets. Could hardly sleep.

The only plus side was the hotel staff, Mahathir, who agreed to change our room without any fuss because we had very noisy and unruly neighbors.

I would have paid $50 or more for a better and cleaner hotel the next time round instead of staying at run down place like this.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearsticky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bayan Lepas hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

I was in penang for christmas and stayed at krystal suites. The exterior of the location doesn't really suit the name of the hotel. The lobby of the hotel isn't that impressive at all, there's no air condition even. First impression of this hotel, is totally not up to my liking.

Even so, i have to say that i really like the room because of its cleanliness and space. There's two bedrooms, a living room, and a mini kitchen and work space with only one toilet. There's not much channels on tv. Despite paying so much for it.

Accessibility of the area isn't that good too. Bus stops are quite distant from the hotel.

I booked this hotel via bookings.com. And to my surprise, the hotel charged us more than we've confirmed to pay. They say it's something to do with taxes etc. Which should have been stated online while i made the booking, but it wasn't. I was quite disappointed about that.

I would recommend ya'll to stay there if you wish to have a comfortable accommodation. Otherwise, remember to check the prices properly!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _nusrahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

Apartment with 2 rooms is very reasonably priced.

The positive sides are large dining and bedrooms, clean, good location, free Internet access(bring your own LAN cable)

The negative sides are bathroom choked up(only 1 bathroom), aircon not cold and one was faulty, public car park hourly rate, service not good, lack of porters,

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YusoffSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

I have stayed here several times on business because it is close to Bayan Lepas industry zone and airport. It is the wrong end of Penang for tourist or beaches. Ok so the first thing to understand is Krystal is not a hotel, it is serviced apartments. There is little/no 'hotel-style' service, minimal staff, etc. Rooms are huge, clean, furniture sparse and fairly old. Minimal provisions - plastic cups/saucers, basic tea/coffee/creamer sachets - no toiletries, no face cloths, no tissues etc. Huge bed, very firm mattress. Bathroom is biggest issue with rooms - small, dated fixtures, my toilet leaked. But three split system are cons mean you are cool and comfortable. Big desk with free wired broadband internet (bring your own cable!), speed good not brilliant. There is pool and gym (equipment has seen better days). No onsite food or bev (except small breakfast room on level 13 - very average food) but plenty nearby. Overall it is acceprtable for business traveller who needs close location to industry and airport at low rates. Just don't expect a hotel style stay. For the price, it is top value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shanosV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayan Lepas
0.6 mi away
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
#3 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eastin Hotel Penang
Eastin Hotel Penang
#6 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lexis Suites Penang
Lexis Suites Penang
#2 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Hotel Equatorial Penang
#1 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Bay Private Residence
1.4 mi away
U Hotel Penang
U Hotel Penang
#5 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Krystal Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Krystal Suites

Property: The Krystal Suites
Address: Jalan Tun Dr Awang | Ground Floor Lobby, Krystal Point Corporate Park, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Hotel Class:3 star — The Krystal Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Krystal Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Krystal Hotel Bayan Lepas
The Krystal Suites Penang/Bayan Lepas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing