We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jerejak Rainforest Resort
Nearby Hotels
Eastin Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)
$84
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Equatorial Penang(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
$89
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Olive Tree Hotel(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
$77
$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
$74
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lexis Suites Penang(Bayan Lepas)
$127
$112
Lexis Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TH Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)
$45
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$36
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
U Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
$43
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Krystal Suites(Bayan Lepas)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
10
21
25
22
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
21
25
22
20
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 98 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed there with my wife on 20 August 2013. Booked for a night to view the hotel first before to decide to stay longer. Luckily we only booked for a night & decided not to extend our stay because this is the worst hotel I ever stayed in Penang. A very run down old hotel. I wonder how their staff can continue to work for such a hotel because the same staff did a few persons job. The same guy worked as the luggage carrier, the bellboy and the front office staff who do the check-in. He also served as the information counter staff. He does everything. They have a so called spa with one & only female therapist but too bad for us as she is on sick leave that day. After checking in we decided to leave the hotel right away back to the island as there is nothing to do in that hotel. We only went back into the hotel with the last ferry trip at 10:30pm. We demanded for a King/Queen size bed as we are couples but instead was told the hotel only have 2 singles bed joined to become a Queen size bed. Room was old with a funny smell. Bed was horrible. Bathroom old & dirty with stained at every corner. Towels also with stained mark. No choice of breakfast as we are only offered a set of tasteless lousy American breakfast as reason given was there is only 2 rooms occupancy that day. Oh my God! A so called Rainforest Hotel & Spa with only 2 occupied rooms in a day. After breakfast, we quickly packed our belonging and leave that horrible place and we swear never ever to return to this hotel again. As a Malaysian, I felt very ashamed to even mention this place to any friends. Should be demolished and taken off from the tourist map.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Josephwong74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norma_ahmad, Manager at Jerejak Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear En Aris Wong,

The management would like to apologize for the shortcomings during your stay.

Thank you for your feedback and we are taking the comments seriously for service improvement.

Please accept our apology with an extension of discounts on your next stay with us. Kindly contact Vikneswaran (Front Office Manager) if you wish to give us another chance.

As a Malaysian, I hope that we will still support each other.

Thank you and have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Good Point
- Friendly staff & ready to help - Mohan, Vicky (Front Office)
- Good food (if ala-carte) - Chef Palandran
- Calm enviroment - Good place to relax and fishing

Minus Point
- No beach to have fun
- Need more renovation for the rooms
- Swimming pool needs daily cleaning

It's take 10 minutes from Penang bridge to reach the Jetty. It's located beside Queens Bay Mall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exploracion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Old resort, need to refurbish asap. Garden and swimming pool are not so well maintained. Room smell damp, got big ants on the pillow! furniture need to change and breakfast very limited and basic. Total rate 2.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Place was a bit run down but many rooms were undergoing renovations. I went there with my husband, Mother in law and an uncle and aunty. They found it difficult to get in and off the ferry as steps to high but for us it was ok. Place is nice. Husband and i took a walk to the Prison which was located about 20 to 25 mins walk from the resort. We didn't use the guide.
Rooms were good. Food, we were lucky that the resort had a Sri Lankan Chef. He cooked for us some Sri Lankan dishes. Our family love spicy food. People at the front desk are helpful as well.
The only sad thing, they do not make much effort to keep the pool clean. There were alot of dried leaves sunken to the grounds of the pool. They do not have a beach where we can swim and relax. I think the resort should consider having one part of the resort with beach. On the day we left, there were many people fishing around the resort. So if you like fishing, you can come to this place.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and get the rooms with twin beds, these rooms are more spacious. But the room we had was a double bed room was ok too since it was just the 2 of us in the room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reka08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Well, i travel around the world but staying at the Jerejak Rainforest Resort is truly a lifetime experiance. The resort is located on a remote island which is only accesable through a boat which is provided by the Resort itself.I travelled with my friends to this resort which really creates a relaxing environment.The staff and the service of the resort is truly a benchmark in the hospitality sector.The rooms were very clean and service was up to the mark and exceeds the customer expectations.I am really thankful to each and every employee of the resort who makes a great effort to fulfill guest needs.

Room Tip: A Honeymooners Paradise
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidharth747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerejak, Manager at Jerejak Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Mr. Sidharth,

We were truly honored to have you with us. Despite your positive remarks, we will stay focus to pursuit in delivering the best service and facilities to our guests. We are doing our best in creating our own personal touch in terms of service and performance. Thank you for this remarkable review and hope to see you again.

Regards,
~The Management~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews