We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience in pulau jerejak resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jerejak Rainforest Resort
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Wonderful experience in pulau jerejak resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I enjoyed my trip to jerejak resort. And was very interesting to climb up the mountain. I was surrounded by fresh air. The hotel was very clean. The food was very good indeed. I admired the way the staff guides help the travellers. I thought of going for the second trip to jerejak resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south sides are quiet and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uma1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerejak, Guest Relations Manager at Jerejak Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Ms. Uma,
Thank you so much for your kind comment, we are delighted that you love the resort surroundings, and yes it is indeed a peaceful and fresh air from the mountains really refreshing, we would like to welcome you at any time soon, once again many, many thanks for you kind words...we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    24
    22
    20
See reviews for
18
30
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Johor, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

spending three days in the very green island resort relaxed me out of my work stress, refreshed and gained extra energy. Plan to go with family during Thaipoosam holidays, so that my parents would enjoy the holidays in a holy mood and also the cozy island resort in a very natural environment.

friendly service...

so awesome.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrChitrakala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerejak, Guest Relations Manager at Jerejak Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Dr. Chitrakala,
The management would like to start with a big thank you for you great reviews, we're happy that you enjoyed your stay here and we definitely looking forward to have you here with us soon...thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
Level Contributor
94 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is on an island, the free ferry (which is a speed boat) comes & go every 2 hour. Only 5 - 10 mins boat ride from pier to island, 5 min. if you have 4 people, 10 min. for 8+ people. The room are clean and fair size. Style and design is old, but acceptable. I saw lots of complain from others and negative reports for this hotel, but what do you expect if you are paying around US$40 per nite, they sounded like they wanted a ***** star service for $40 hotel. Thats very unfair. My room aircon leaks and the bathroom drainage were very poor. I complained and they gave me another room the next day.

There is a spa just half way up the hill, Which is quite good, charge US$30 for an hour of spa. There are swimming pool at the spa, as well as a pool at the hotel. The breakfast is quite Asian style, but the also got coffee and bread, which is quite acceptable. But they serve breakfast at 7:30AM, which is quite late to my standard.

There are other activities you are able to take a walk in the rainforest, I forgot what else they got, but I am sure they got more.

For lunch and dinner, I mostly go out at the shopping mall nearby the pier 910-15 MIN.WALK), they got KFC Starbucks etc. Or the nearby seafood market, close to the shopping centre. Price are quite good, and serves good quality food.

Room Tip: Give you checkin a room which is facing the hill, make sure you close the all windows before you lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turhanwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerejak, Guest Relations Manager at Jerejak Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Turhanwoo,
It was a fresh breath to received such a good comment from a guest that understands about the resort, however we will definitely improve on our drainage system and breakfast time, we are glad that you love the Spa and yes we are easily accessible from the mainland with just a short trip of 10 minutes boat ride...we're now in the process of upgrading our beautiful chalets located up on the hill...we are looking forward to have you here with us again soon...once again thank you for the straightforward comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Ill start by saying that this place is beautiful. It's huge, the location is great, there is forest and beach and two really nice swimming pools. However, when we booked online, we saw a timetable for the boat that takes you to Penang island. This was not the same schedule as the one currently running, there were far fewer boats to and from the hotel and this put huge stress on the whole holiday. There is next to nothing at the hotel, there is a restaurant which had only a few items on the menu.. None of which were suitable for vegetarians and actually none of which were available anyway because they had buffet parties every night as far as we saw, which we were never previously informed about.

We found the staff to be quite useless. When you arrive on the boat you have all your luggage and there is no one to meet you, you have to walk to reception through gardens and you don't know where you're going (we also arrived at night, which probably made it seem worse than it was). One member of staff demanded money upon our arrival even though we had documents showing we had prepaid. This member of staff also lied to us regarding avalibilty of buses to the airport. The first bus that happened to come by was going to the airport!

There was a problem with our room too. When we arrived we were told we would be put in a different room from the one we booked for two days and then would have to change. Unfortunately, this meant we had to pack our things up and change rooms at 11pm on Christmas eve... The first room had the potential to be fantastic with a balcony and lots of space, beautiful furniture but except most of the lightbulbs didn't work, there was only a dribble of water from the faucet, the air conditioning leaked, and it was filthy with dust, leaves and the previous occupants socks.
The second room was much cleaner and newer, but only one out of about 5 or 6 plug sockets worked! The cleaners came to make the beds.. And didn't go into the bathroom. We had no toilet paper for two days and had to buy our own, when we asked reception, they had trouble understanding us.

Overall, the place has the potential to be great, but it seemed like none of the staff have any idea what they're doing, from management to housekeeping! It caused us stress, and not what you want on holiday ideally!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Jessi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerejak, Guest Relations Manager at Jerejak Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Ms. Jessi S,
Thank you for your review concerning about the resort, we sincerely apologize for all the hassle that you have gone through while staying with us, We agree that the usual high standards of our services were not met in this instance. As a result of our investigation, we found that communications was the main concern here. To prevent re-occurrences we have implemented a procedure and system to prevent this from happening again. To show you our goodwill, we would like to offer you a 5% discount on your next visit. We hope this wont be the last time, the management are looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bayan Lepas hotels

Cha-am, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This has got to be one of the worst hotel in South East Asia. We booked through Air Asia a package, flight from Bkk and hotel. When we arrived the receptionist informed me we had to pay for the room. She would NOT listen and kept interupting me as I tried to explain and show her the PREPAID HOTEL VOUCHER. What part of that she didnt understand I just dont know. Then it went from bad to worse. The time of the boats on their web page is not correct. Now there are less boats making it made it difficult to get out for dinner. Also we were told by numerous staff there was not a local bus that goes from the jetty to the airport. This is also not true, you can get 401E just outside the jetty. I think all the taxi drivers that hang about out there must be FAMILY. The water in our bathroom sink was non-exsistant, extractor fan didn't work, the roof leaked when it rained. One more thing I'm going to say, because I could go on forever. The security boxes in the rooms are all broken so we had to carry all our valuables around will us at all times. Enough said. Never again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerejak, Guest Relations Manager at Jerejak Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Jan S,
Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our service did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience we have caused you. Again we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better. We will definitely look into your review, again its our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and we hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

we book 6 chalet nov.12.when we arrive they give us room instate of chalet.after we insist then only change chalet for us. food was lousy.stuff dishonest.Nice place but need to improve.not well manage & plan.I think workers in this resort under pay.Looks like they are.....need a better management.what a waste.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Engkoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerejak, Guest Relations Manager at Jerejak Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Engkoon,
Please allow this opportunity for us to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated. The management is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities. We sincerely regret that we fell short of our goal in this for instance. Your comments are important to the success of our organization as we rely on you, our guest. We will definitely improve on our services and facilities. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Booked in for 3 nights; stayed 1. On arrival the room had not been prepared properly, had to request towels; no bar operating fully - only Carlsberg beer for sale, no wine, no spirits; restaurant only offered noodles & rice with just 4 selections. The TV reception is poor with no English speaking channels available and the signal was extremely snowy!
The complex is in bad need of repairs on all fronts. Evidence of water staining from air conditioner in the room, blown light bulbs, bloody hard matresses and general upkeep on the room was substanard. There is rotting timber planks on the spa pool decking and the pool lights have come away from the wall.
No internet service in the rooms only in the lobby.
All in all this resort is bloody over rated. Great location poor delivery of service. Staff need training in a reputable hospitality establishment. They were pleasant but very reactionary and generally had no idea of what to deliver, without being asked. If you want the comforts of home this is not the place.

Room Tip: Just do not go. The info on the internet is false. It is DEFINITELY not a 4 star establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerejak, Guest Relations Manager at Jerejak Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Jim M,
Thank you for your review concerning about the resort. Please accept our apologies during your stayed with us here. We agree that the usual high standards of our services were not met in this instance. To prevent this from happening again we will ensure that our facilities and services will be up to standard from now on. As a gesture of our regret, we would like to offer you a fraction of 5% discount on your next stay with us, we look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayan Lepas
5.8 mi away
Lexis Suites Penang
Lexis Suites Penang
#3 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,793 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
#2 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Hotel Equatorial Penang
#1 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
11.4 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerejak Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerejak Rainforest Resort

Property: Jerejak Rainforest Resort
Address: No. 1 Jalan Relau Mk 13 | Daerah Timur Laut, Pulau Jerejak, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jerejak Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful tropical island set amidst virgin jungle, Pulau Jerejak is every nature lover's dream come true! Coupled with her rich historical background, a holiday here promises to be refreshingly different.Relics and artifacts share a home with the rich flora and fauna of this island.Get ready for an adventure as you step into one of the few remaining rainforests of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jerejak Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerejak Rainforest Hotel Bayan Lepas
Jerejak Hotel Penang
Jerejak Rainforest Resort Penang/Bayan Lepas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing