We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, location not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel, location not so great”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Its a nice hotel for meetings and conferences but not for a pleasure trip as nothing close by in walking distance. There are regular shuttles during the day but if you want to walk its a steep uphill walk on the way back which makes it tiring. The closest place is a 10 min car drive. The hotel and rooms are quite nice and well equipped. Its good for having conferences, however the main restaurant needs more variety of food during lunch time.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank OneWorld_UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Globby301,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review regarding your stay at Hotel Equatorial Penang. We certainly pleased to note that you had a good stay here. We do appreciate your feedback on our main restaurants and we will definitely take in considerations on your suggestion.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    254
    84
    19
    15
See reviews for
94
51
28
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
M'sia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beautiful place. Everything is neat and staff are efficient and helpful. Since we stayed only for a night, didn't get to enjoy much of the facilities. The room was clean and very comfortable. Internet connection was okay. Since we checked in quite late, we were allowed to check out later than required, which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank entnx01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear entnx01,

Thank you for dropping by to share your review following your recent stay at Hotel Equatorial Penang. We certainly pleased to note that you had a good stay with your family and that our team consistently exceeded your expectations during your stay.

You can definitely be assured that all of us look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for a longer stay; hence more time for you and your family to enjoy our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed twice in 12 months. Consistent service (plenty of staff, and attentive to details of any request I made). Spacious with nice pool and external facilities, but unfortunately too busy to explore. Nice lounge bar with live entertainment (1why do we call it live, cant imagine dead entertainment). Large gym which was OK but but could use a make-over by a creative interior designer.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MerryXMASCaptainCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEP_Management, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear MerryXMASCaptainCook,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Hotel Equatorial Penang. It delights us to note that you had a wonderful experience, and that the special attention of our team helped to make the experience even more memorable for you. We appreciate your feedback on our gym and will look into it; as your feedback has proved to be invaluable to us.

All of us look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, TX
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Pretty place,

Pros: Really nice pool, several restaurants, good central location. They have a nice lounge (terrible Internet connection) area you can have access to for a bit more money. The lounge staff are very helpful!

Cons: Internet service was spotty at best. This was a work trip for me so the Internet was very important. Somewhere around 11:30pm they actually turn off the router in the business center. Not a very nice thing to do. I was on calls most every night so it left me running around with my phone held high looking for Internet service. It's also very expensive for what you get. As mentioned above there's a good assortment of food, but it is more than a bit on the "high" side. I would probably not stay here again for business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcravey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEP_Management, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Joravey,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Whilst we are delighted to note that you enjoyed the pool and restaurants, we sincerely apologise for all the inconveniences you had experienced and would like to assure you that we will take some corrective measures to avoid the recurrence of the similar incidents.

We definitely look forward to making your next stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Less than <15mins taxi ride from Penang Int'l airport to the hotel during non-peak hour. The hotel is very big with 2 towers. I stayed in the executive tower, less than 1 min walk from front desk / main entrance. The hotel is a bit old, but well-maintained. Breakfast is typical breakfast buffet with western and eastern styles for your choice. The room is big with balcony. I like the king bed the most, not too soft, not too hard. I had very good sleep there. One bad thing is that there are no restaurants nearby within walking distance. So, you can only go to the restaurant inside the hotel for dinner. Heard that the Japanese restaurant is high quality. Have a try~

Room Tip: King bed at executive tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Rita F,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We certainly glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Equatorial Penang. As we are located on a hilltop, we do provide complimentary shuttle services to nearby preferred locations. And yes, do try out our Kampachi Japanese Restaurant during your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Although my stay was cut short, this hotel was the best. Lost for words. Highly recommend it.

My room had an amazing view, it was clean, comfortable, satellite tv, cool and silent a/c, well stocked mini bar, free and strong wifi connection, lovely hotel and the only one on Penang island with a golf course.

Room Tip: Don't worry all the rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KishanShapriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear KishanShapriya,

Thank you for dropping by to share your feedback following your recent stay at Hotel Equatorial Penang. We certainly pleased to note that you had a wonderful stay and that the special attention of our service team helped to make the experience even more memorable for you.

You can be assured that all of us look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during a short getaway to Penang. We chose a deluxe room, with a great view of the golf course and the hills.. My toddler had a gala time as there was plenty of space for him to run around! The room service was impeccable, and my personal favourite was the glass elevator which afforded a gorgeous view of the hotel lobby....it was a treat going up and down! The customer service is simply the best. Everyone from the concierge to the front desk are extremely attentive and courteous. The food in the in house restaurant is delicious, albeit a bit expensive. I opted for a massage session and though it was very relaxing, I wish they paid more attention to the ambiance in their massage rooms. Moreover the location is far flung from the city and area attractions, and not a good choice for travellers who like the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usertippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear usertippy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to note that you and your family had a wonderful experience as our service team consistently exceeded your expectations during your stay.

And we do appreciate your feedback and we'll take note regarding the massage rooms' ambiance as we are actively working to improve our service levels. Your feedback has proved to be invaluable to us.

All of us certainly look forward to welcoming you back in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayan Lepas
9.4 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,717 reviews
9.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,333 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
6.0 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Penang

Property: Hotel Equatorial Penang
Address: 1 Jalan Bukit Jambul, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Equatorial Penang 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set majestically 250 feet above sea level, Hotel Equatorial Penang, which is peacefully tucked away on a hillock is just 7 minutes to the Penang International Airport and a mere distance to the Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone. The UNESCO Heritage Site listed George Town is only 20 minutes from the hotel. The 5-star hotel embraces a splendour of contemporary design. It houses 662 guestrooms and suites, each classily furnished and facilitated with state of the art in-room amenities. It is the top choice for executive retreats and incentive group gatherings. It houses two Grand Ballrooms which have been intelligently built with no obstruction of columns in between - reputed to be the largest on the island that can house up to 2,000 people. There are also 21 other function rooms. Penang island is famed for its eclectic cuisine and the hotel is no different with its variety of dining outlets. The hotel houses 5 innovative options ranging from classic French cuisine at The View to authentic Japanese fare at Kampachi. Other hotel facilities include a fully equipped fitness centre, outdoor swimming pool, squash and tennis courts, a business centre, scheduled shuttle services and impeccable service to complete a 5-star experience stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equatorial Penang Hotel
Equatorial Penang Bayan Lepas
Hotel Equatorial Penang Bayan Lepas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing