We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting!!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Overall a very clean well kept hotel with friendly staff. We booked a premier club room for two nights. The room was immaculate and newly refurbished.
The club lounge was probably one of the most bizarre club lounges we have used. They advertise cocktail hour and yet there is no staff serving. There was one half empty bottle of red wine and one bottle of white in the fridge and a few near empty bottles of spirits and limited soft drinks in the fridge. The lounge was very empty during our stay which made it feel quite strange. Not sure how they would manage if busy!! We used the main restaraunt for breakfast on recommendation of the staff so can't comment on the lounge breakfast.
The pool area is very nice but not nearly enough loungers or seating for busy times. The pool towels were used up very quickly and not replaced. Thank goodness for the great concierge and shuttle service!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susiezulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi Susiezulu,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Whilst we are delighted to note that you enjoyed their stay with us, we sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences you had experienced and would like to assure you that we are actively working to improve our service levels, and would like to let you know that your feedback has proved to be invaluable to us.

We look forward to making your next stay better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    251
    84
    19
    15
See reviews for
91
49
28
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

EQ as it's apparently called is quite comfortable. The room I was given was of the usual Asian city sized which is pretty adequate. Had a comfortable bed and internet connection was a breeze and complimentary. I do like that in hotels. Having checked in, I really didn't feel like going out again for my appointments. But go out I must and I did, but not before claiming the welcome drink at the coffee house. Well, it WAS a hot day.

Did not have any issues parking the rental car as there were plenty of spaces. Back t the room to freshen up before going out to dinner. Bathroom was well appointed with all the needed toiletries and more. Lovely pressure with the shower too. Again, just felt like relaxing in the room and some rooms are like that...you feel like you don't really want to leave. I mean, its not that great. I've been to better appointed hotels, but sometimes, some hotels, some rooms just make you want to stay in. I can't explain it....

Anyway, I didn't have dinner there, so won't be able to say much although I have had a meeting at the Japanes restaurant a while back and it was good.....my first introduction to green tea ice cream. I digress..

How did I sleep? I've always been a late sleeper, but once I put my head on the pillows, I just couldn't keep my eyes open. Either it was comfy or I was tired. Doesn't matter as I woke up refreshed.

Went down for breakfast and I must say, it was diverse and not too bad. Shame I could only eat so much that early.

One night was just not enough. I must wrangle another trip from the office. Oh, I'm a smoker....there, I confess...the balcony is a boon. Otherwise I'll be cranky with having to go downstairs to have a puff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi Mike H,

Thanks for taking your time to drop us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Equatorial Penang. It delights us to note that you had a wonderful experience, and that our team consistently exceeded your expecatations during your stay. All of us certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. It is spacious, quiet, and well kept. It is a bit far for the beaches and active side of the island, but nothing a 20 minute hotel taxi ride can't fix. Beautiful tropical breezes gently sifting through the open air lobby and main floor. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UPSPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Hotel Equatorial Penang. We certainly pleased to note that you had a good and memorable stay.

You can be assured that all of us look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel Equatorial Penang is very comfortable & Friendly place, recommend for people travel for business. Internet, fax and telephone all inside the room. Every rooms have balcony. My package is included wired internet and breakfast. Food and beverage in coffee shop is very good, a lot of choice from Chinese to Malay and western style. Next time to Penang, I will stay this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ypcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Equatorial Penang. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and good experience in our F&B outlets.
All of us will definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heshan, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Was here for two nights in early April 2013 for a short business trip. The open air layout of the lobby is in classic tropical style and is a welcome atmosphere to return to after a long day in Industrial Penang. Rooms are modern for a 20+ year old hotel. Breakfast was good with western, Malay and Chinese options. The garden and grounds are well maintained and the pool was good for a short dip before breakfast but also looked nice enough to spend a few afternoon hours lounging by in the afternoon, weather permitting. Only drawback was a slow check-in/check-out but the lobby was nice enough that it didn't negatively impact my stay. Would definitely stay here again on my next biz trip to Penang.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank B0ST0N_ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi Boston Ed,

Thanks for taking your time to share a review regarding your recent stay at Hotel Equatorial Penang. We are certainly glad that you had a good stay here despite the check-in/check-out process unsatisfactory. However, we do assure you that we are actively working to improve our service levels, and would like to let you know that your feedback has proved to be invaluable to us. We look forward to having you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Hotel Equatorial is very nice hotel, it has several restaurants Japanese, Western and Malay. The pool and sport facilities are good, the pool is very convenient as the weather in Penang is very hot of course. The location on of the hotel close to the airport and industries but less then 20 minutes from Georgetown bar area. The hotel provides a shuttle to the city center but transportation service is also available. The hotel Bar is as common in Asia empty with 2 girls and 1 guy singing on stage (so better go to Georgetown with your friends).

Room Tip: The new building has a nice view over the golf course and georgetown
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Jan B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Equatorial Penang. It delights us to note you had a wonderful experience, and that our team consistently exceeded your expectations during your stay. All of us look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here as we couldn't get a booking at the G hotel. All in all, we were pleasantly surprised with the Equatorial. The rooms were decent sized, and the bed was one of the most comfortable i've ever slept in. The staff were extremely professional and helpful. The breakfast was good, if a little limited in selection. The whole family loved the pool area with it's walkways through the garden area, The only downside is the relative remoteness from the shopping areas such as Gurney drive, but other shopping areas such as queensgate aren't too far away at all, and also it's only a short trip to the airport. I would recommend to others to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coralhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayan Lepas
9.4 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,683 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,106 reviews
9.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,163 reviews
6.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,489 reviews
7.2 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 84 in George Town
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Penang

Property: Hotel Equatorial Penang
Address: 1 Jalan Bukit Jambul, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Equatorial Penang 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set majestically 250 feet above sea level, Hotel Equatorial Penang, which is peacefully tucked away on a hillock is just 7 minutes to the Penang International Airport and a mere distance to the Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone. The UNESCO Heritage Site listed George Town is only 20 minutes from the hotel. The 5-star hotel embraces a splendour of contemporary design. It houses 662 guestrooms and suites, each classily furnished and facilitated with state of the art in-room amenities. It is the top choice for executive retreats and incentive group gatherings. It houses two Grand Ballrooms which have been intelligently built with no obstruction of columns in between - reputed to be the largest on the island that can house up to 2,000 people. There are also 21 other function rooms. Penang island is famed for its eclectic cuisine and the hotel is no different with its variety of dining outlets. The hotel houses 5 innovative options ranging from classic French cuisine at The View to authentic Japanese fare at Kampachi. Other hotel facilities include a fully equipped fitness centre, outdoor swimming pool, squash and tennis courts, a business centre, scheduled shuttle services and impeccable service to complete a 5-star experience stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equatorial Penang Hotel
Equatorial Penang Bayan Lepas
Hotel Equatorial Penang Bayan Lepas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing