We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in Penang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Penang”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Hotel Equatorial is very nice hotel, it has several restaurants Japanese, Western and Malay. The pool and sport facilities are good, the pool is very convenient as the weather in Penang is very hot of course. The location on of the hotel close to the airport and industries but less then 20 minutes from Georgetown bar area. The hotel provides a shuttle to the city center but transportation service is also available. The hotel Bar is as common in Asia empty with 2 girls and 1 guy singing on stage (so better go to Georgetown with your friends).

Room Tip: The new building has a nice view over the golf course and georgetown
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Jan B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Equatorial Penang. It delights us to note you had a wonderful experience, and that our team consistently exceeded your expectations during your stay. All of us look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    249
    84
    19
    14
See reviews for
90
48
27
311
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here as we couldn't get a booking at the G hotel. All in all, we were pleasantly surprised with the Equatorial. The rooms were decent sized, and the bed was one of the most comfortable i've ever slept in. The staff were extremely professional and helpful. The breakfast was good, if a little limited in selection. The whole family loved the pool area with it's walkways through the garden area, The only downside is the relative remoteness from the shopping areas such as Gurney drive, but other shopping areas such as queensgate aren't too far away at all, and also it's only a short trip to the airport. I would recommend to others to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coralhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights for Covention. Spacious lobby and dont feel very crowded. There a nice Garden with water flowing down to the swimming pool. Room is spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel is next to a golf club and away from commercial area... so you need to take a taxi. Luckily the hotel provided free shuttle bus to few places of interest like Gurney Drive, Queensbay Mall and etc, Otherwise it costs RM 45-60 per trip.

Took the shuttle bus to Queensbay Shopping Mall... its about 10 mins w/o traffic jammed. A nice place to shop and dine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNOIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I had great experience with this hotel. Its open concept reminded me of Hawaii. The staff is friendly and helpful. The porter took my luggage the minute I got off the car and all the way to my room. He even explained the room to me. Very courteous and helpful. The room was spacious and open, and I had a great view.

Not sure what happened to the other review. I absolutely liked the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hongkongee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stay at this hotel during a recent trip to Penang. Thought I would give this hotel a try as I would normally stay at either G hotel or Trader's. It turned out to be a mistake.

When I checked in, I along with several co-workers were given a coupon each for a free non alcoholic drink at the bar. We thought that was a pretty nice gesture and decided to have a drink that evening. We were given the drinks list and each of us asked for items such as fruit juice etc only to be told that the coupon is only valid for a fruit punch and water. The situation was quite embarrassing and awkward. If there is no intent in honoring what is stated in the coupon, I would have appreciate it if the hotel did not give us a coupon at all. It shows a total lack of sincerity or worse is this a ploy to get guest to the bar?

I forgot to bring a power adaptor with me and had to ask the hotel if they have one that I use during my stay. To my surprise, they wanted to charge me $25 which I declined. They then told me that it is a deposit, which I declined as well and told them that this is just getting ridiculous. If they need a deposit for a adaptor that cost no more than a few dollars, then why don't they just ask me for a deposit for the iron, the ironing board, the towels etc.I find it pretty insulting that they would insinuate that I will steal the adaptor.

The other thing to note is the transport. It is difficult to get normal taxis at this hotel and the hotel has a their own taxis which charge a premium. Based on the fare of the return trip to the hotel using the normal taxis, the hotel taxis will charge 50% more.

I am not sure how this hotel is rated 5 stars especially with the 1 star management mentality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ong0341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The location is convenient for business and leisure, away from the crowded beach hotels during school holiday season. We have stayed here a few times and they staff are always friendly and rooms are always clean and comfortable,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotoMeMotoU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Great property perched on a hill with magnificent views.
Beautiful pool and functional gym serves its purpose well.
There is also a golf course within walking distance. They provide free shuttle service to airport and nearby malls - queensbay, BJ.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayan Lepas
9.4 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,953 reviews
9.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Lexis Suites Penang
Lexis Suites Penang
#2 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
9.7 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Penang

Property: Hotel Equatorial Penang
Address: 1 Jalan Bukit Jambul, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Equatorial Penang 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set majestically 250 feet above sea level, Hotel Equatorial Penang, which is peacefully tucked away on a hillock is just 7 minutes to the Penang International Airport and a mere distance to the Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone. The UNESCO Heritage Site listed George Town is only 20 minutes from the hotel. The 5-star hotel embraces a splendour of contemporary design. It houses 662 guestrooms and suites, each classily furnished and facilitated with state of the art in-room amenities. It is the top choice for executive retreats and incentive group gatherings. It houses two Grand Ballrooms which have been intelligently built with no obstruction of columns in between - reputed to be the largest on the island that can house up to 2,000 people. There are also 21 other function rooms. Penang island is famed for its eclectic cuisine and the hotel is no different with its variety of dining outlets. The hotel houses 5 innovative options ranging from classic French cuisine at The View to authentic Japanese fare at Kampachi. Other hotel facilities include a fully equipped fitness centre, outdoor swimming pool, squash and tennis courts, a business centre, scheduled shuttle services and impeccable service to complete a 5-star experience stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equatorial Penang Hotel
Equatorial Penang Bayan Lepas
Hotel Equatorial Penang Bayan Lepas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing