We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miles better than eastin!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Great property perched on a hill with magnificent views.
Beautiful pool and functional gym serves its purpose well.
There is also a golf course within walking distance. They provide free shuttle service to airport and nearby malls - queensbay, BJ.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 585 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Close proximity to the Penang FTZ's. Great variety of restaurants, the View is exceptional. Easy access to the rest of the Island but allows you time away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Georgetown.

Room Tip: Ask for view of golf course and Penang bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_SquaredShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was skeptical initially prior to my bookings with the hotel. However I started to gain a feel good factor when I received good and prompt response from the reservation staff even though I was yet to travel. I had requested for a good view room and was astonished to find one upon my arrival. The staff at the hotel was very courteous and made me feel special. The dinning services were very good and had an array of multiple cuisines.. especially the japanese restaurant and the other restaurant adjacent to the swimming pool. The rooms are very spacious and well planned and maintained to the utmost standards of cleanliness and hygeine. The room service was great and prompt. The swimming pool with the water fall is very well designed and is a dream come true for a someone like me who could spend the whole day in the pool.
Next time I would want to see some more improvement in the Porch area where guests arrive. Some one needs to assist the guests to move the lugggage to the reception area or the steps to the main entrance. Over all it was a great and fantastic experience and i would certainly recommend this hotel to any catergory of traveller. Keep it up guys... you really made my first visit to Penang a special one. Thanks once again for everything....

Room Tip: Rooms towards the Golf Course are very good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanketnabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The first impression was the same as about ten years' ago. Maintaining its standards, this hotel provides a very cozy and matured enviroment to stay in. Not too much of special stuff, but a stable and steady feel throughout the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIonLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a nice location up a hill a little ways with a good view of the water and bridges to the mainland. This is much better situated for access to the businesses in the south of the island. I would not choose it if your main focus is the tourist area of Georgetown. Rooms are nice and in good condition. The pool is gorgeous with a waterfall and next to gardens. The gym is large and well equipped with both weights and cardio equipment. The main restaurant was just so-so but the Japanese restaurant was very good. The hotel is quite large with a big open air lobby and multiple restaurants and a conference center. But at least while I was there it felt a bit under utilized.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dumb_screen_name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed for a night with my husband and 3 kids.

Location was serene and its surrounding was beautiful, unlike the city hotels of Penang which sit by noisy roadsides.

Check in was a breeze and the staff friendly. I loved the local flavour treatment I received when the front desk counter spoke to me in Malay language with a heavy Penang accent. I never got that at any 4 or 5 star hotels I've ever visited.

The lobby was beautiful and spacious. The artificial 'stream' flowing by the lobby into the swimming pool downstairs gave the lobby a sense of tropical lushness. Brilliant!

Room was recently refurbished and are well loaded with amenities. I particularly loved the designer toiletries.

Our only problem at this hotel was when coming back from an outing and the kids were all asleep.. Had to carry 3 kids up 2 flights of stairs from the carpark. Wish there's an elevator servicing the carpark; which is not only useful for people with small children like us, but for the differently-abled people (esp those on wheelchairs) who drive. Maybe the hotel will look into it?

Will definitely come back.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank drnur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed only one night here on our way back from Pangkor Island as we wanted to be near the airport. Check-in was smooth, the room was lovely and the swim in the pool was refreshing. However, certain things spoilt our impression. First, the shuttle to the airport doesn't start until 6am, too late for us, so we had to pay nearly 40 ringgit for a taxi. The reason we chose the hotel was to get to the airport easily. Also, they gave us a free welcome drink..one for two people(although they changed it to 2), there was one pair of slippers in the room, one toothbrush??Also, a tray of food from the room next door was left in the corridor for hours, very unpleasant. We took the shuttle to a shopping mall and had a nice dinner which was nice but overall the problem with the hotel shuttle and the overall reaction of the staff to various requests spoilt our impression.

Room Tip: The room was quiet and had a lovely view. A high floor has a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayan Lepas
9.7 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
9.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
9.4 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
5,179 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Penang

Address: 1 Jalan Bukit Jambul, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Price Range: $66 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Equatorial Penang 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set majestically 250 feet above sea level, Hotel Equatorial Penang, which is peacefully tucked away on a hillock is just 7 minutes to the Penang International Airport and a mere distance to the Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone. The UNESCO Heritage Site listed George Town is only 20 minutes from the hotel. The 5-star hotel embraces a splendour of contemporary design. It houses 662 guestrooms and suites, each classily furnished and facilitated with state of the art in-room amenities. It is the top choice for executive retreats and incentive group gatherings. It houses two Grand Ballrooms which have been intelligently built with no obstruction of columns in between - reputed to be the largest on the island that can house up to 2,000 people. There are also 21 other function rooms. Penang island is famed for its eclectic cuisine and the hotel is no different with its variety of dining outlets. The hotel houses 5 innovative options ranging from classic French cuisine at The View to authentic Japanese fare at Kampachi. Other hotel facilities include a fully equipped fitness centre, outdoor swimming pool, squash and tennis courts, a business centre, scheduled shuttle services and impeccable service to complete a 5-star experience stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equatorial Penang Hotel
Equatorial Penang Bayan Lepas
Hotel Equatorial Penang Bayan Lepas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing