We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel away from town, so sort your priorites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel away from town, so sort your priorites”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

As far as the Equatorial brand goes, service is excellent. We came on the weekend of the annual Penang Bridge marathon and it seemed the whole world was staying here. There was a ridiculously long queue checking in (and when we checked out the next day) with an average wait of 20-30 minutes. But the staff came to apologise to the crowd and told us what was being done and why the wait was long. Apparently it was all hands on deck, yet the line remained. Once at the front desk, the check-in staff was pleasant and made sure our checking-in was prompt without any further delay. Rooms had standard decor, pleasant and nice with a balcony that overlooked the Penang bridge. We ordered room service which came very promptly -- and more importantly, still warm! Just a floor below the lobby was a quiet little green oasis with a koi pond, hanging bridge and other water features. It presented a great way to spend some time with my toddler in a green environment. Take note that the hotel is up on a hill and there's nothing around it by way of shops or tourist products. It's a bit far from downtown George Town, so unless you have a car, this is not the hotel for anyone to overnight for a sightseeing trip. Our only gripe was the open air lobby. We had guests checking in nonchalantly with cigarettes hanging off their lips and smoke billowing all around. I had my toddler with me, and there were obviously other guests at the front desk who were very affected by the cigarette smoke. When we enquired if the hotel had a no smoking policy, we were told that because the lobby was open, smoking was allowed. We urge the management to re-consider this policy as it is just inconsiderate and downright rude to have smokers selfishly disregard their fellow guests when checking in. We noticed there were ample space around the lobby where chairs were available for them to indulge in their habit, but to group them with non-smokers at the reception? It's just very tactless on your side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaRamsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    251
    84
    19
    15
See reviews for
91
50
28
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

This is the hotel where almost all business people have stayed at when visiting Penang . It is comfortable and safe with a lobby that is interesting. I would say it it worth a try to see if you like it. It has prices over the years but downside is while close to airport it is far from nightlife or tourist things. Also the hotel bar and restaurant are average.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

the hotel lobby was spacious...rooms were divided into new and old wing with different rates ... i opted for the old wing (which is farther from the hotel lobby) as it was much cheaper but i did not mind a bit of walking...

overall stay was very pleasant, my room at the old wing was very good...no complaints about it...
the location would be great for business travelers who had to commute to bayan lepas area for work. Due to its remote location, I find it peaceful staying there. However for leisure trips to Penang, I would recommend hotels in georgetown or Batu Ferringhi instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STLL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip to Penang. Usually stay in Georgetown but my usual hotel was fully booked. Was skeptical about the location, but was informed upon check in about a shuttle bus that brings you to town. But unfortunately it stops early evening so no good for me as I do not get back from work until after 6pm. But good facilities in the hotel; ate in the cafe down by the pool - A la Carte menu had a good choice of meals.
Was a bit disappointed at breakfast as I asked for a well done omelette on both mornings but it was not cooked enough.
But that's just personal choice.
Staff were so helpful and friendly...really super! I could not fault them.
A nice place to stay for a short trip.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nl2876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is located within 15min from the airport but not too convenient if you want to head down to town.
The deluxe room seems to be newly renovated and the service is generally quite good. Breakfast was ok but nothing much to rave about.
Overall a decent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisqey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had an overall pleasant & comfortable stay at this hotel for 3 nights. Location is not exactly convenient to get around. It is about a 20 min drive to Georgetown which is highly recommended for it's UNESCO world heritage site in the inner city. Very close proximity to the international airport though, less than 20 min drive without traffic. The hotel staff are all friendly & helpful. Rooms are spacious & adequately furnished with a good variety of bathroom amenities, including both a shower & a bathtub. However, TV channels weren't very exciting- cable TV selection was limited.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnom:o)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Check-in 9/10/2012. The receptionist is very efficience and fast on doing a check-in process which with single signiture I already can enter my room. Love with the great greeting from the bell boy offering his services to help carry my luggage. The room for business trip was great which complete with Very Fast Internet connection. Recommended to business trip which more than one day. Hotel is quite far from shopping mall but the free shuttle service is provided by booking with bell boy stud infornt of hotel main entrance. The decoration in the hotel was so beatiful with the sound of waterfall. View from my room was great whereby I can saw the Penand Bridge when I stund in the room balcony. The breakfast was simple as per other 4 star hotel. No signiture food presented during that day 10/10/2012. Check-out after I had my breakfast. The casher was very rude and keep asking me why I need a copy of bill althought it has already paid using Letter of Undertaking (LOU). I'm quite dissapointed with that which effected my great one night experience stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitoradvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayan Lepas
9.4 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,684 reviews
9.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
9.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,167 reviews
6.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,495 reviews
7.2 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 84 in George Town
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Penang

Property: Hotel Equatorial Penang
Address: 1 Jalan Bukit Jambul, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Equatorial Penang 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set majestically 250 feet above sea level, Hotel Equatorial Penang, which is peacefully tucked away on a hillock is just 7 minutes to the Penang International Airport and a mere distance to the Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone. The UNESCO Heritage Site listed George Town is only 20 minutes from the hotel. The 5-star hotel embraces a splendour of contemporary design. It houses 662 guestrooms and suites, each classily furnished and facilitated with state of the art in-room amenities. It is the top choice for executive retreats and incentive group gatherings. It houses two Grand Ballrooms which have been intelligently built with no obstruction of columns in between - reputed to be the largest on the island that can house up to 2,000 people. There are also 21 other function rooms. Penang island is famed for its eclectic cuisine and the hotel is no different with its variety of dining outlets. The hotel houses 5 innovative options ranging from classic French cuisine at The View to authentic Japanese fare at Kampachi. Other hotel facilities include a fully equipped fitness centre, outdoor swimming pool, squash and tennis courts, a business centre, scheduled shuttle services and impeccable service to complete a 5-star experience stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equatorial Penang Hotel
Equatorial Penang Bayan Lepas
Hotel Equatorial Penang Bayan Lepas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing