We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Equatorial was a great place to stop over on our trip from langkawi to singapore. The higher floors have a great view of the penang bridge and golf course and what we like was it was great value for money. The staff at breakfast were very slow and it took a good hour and a half for us to finish

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madhavandana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 562 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2011

It is an older establishment, with some dates conveniences (the control box for the lighting next to the bed was right out of the 1970's) and there is no AC in the lobby and it is far removed from the downtown. Having said that, it has beautiful views, a very good restaurant and the rooms are spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_and_Laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

My husband, parents and I stayed at this hotel for a week. The staff are very friendly, and when we requested a room change due to the noise of the renovations happening, this was not a problem. The rooms were clean and spacious, four restaurants to choose from and a shuttle service to the city and other parts of Penang. The breakfasts were good value with a large choice that varied from day to day, we also had the smorgasboard Brunch on the Sunday which was excellent and views from the rooms were good. The down side is that it is a long way from town (about 35 minutes but only $14 AUD by taxi which are always on site) and the rooms are looking a bit tired . In short it is well suited to business close to ariport and industrial area. Has a golf course, tennis courts and gym as well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gravity6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

The recent rebranded Premier room offers modern and stylish staying with high level of overall comfort and convenience. Exclusive, Spacious and with ample workspace, the room is ideal for all. Customer service was great as well. Really value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We stayed at this hotel 8 years ago and it was pretty good, so we put up here again this year during our recent trip to Penang.
However, we found the hotel to be rather run down now, the beds are soft (probably not changed over the past 3 years), and cleanliness had deteriorated, front desk staff are less friendly now.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRANDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

My family and I stayed at this hotel for about 5 days during our first trip to Penang. We were picked up from Penang airport, a very tiny airport, by a van which is a compliment from the hotel. This hotel is close to the airport but far away from the city center but the good thing is that the hotel provides free shuttle van from hotel to city center and major shopping malls. I was pleased when the receiptionist upgraded my room from superior to deluxe room when we checked in about 8 o'clock at nite. The housekeeping was not so keen when I called and asked for water bottles to be delivered to our room, I had to call at least 3 times until the housekeeping delivered the water bottles. Room is not too big and not too small either. Breakfast was ok and menu changed everyday which is good for all of us. I had a chance to exercise at the fitness center where they have a great equipment. Overall the hotel is good and has a good view over golf course but if you want to stay close to city center, you may find other hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hendry2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

The hotel is very big and spacious.
The big plus is the hotel staff. They always have smile on and put extra efforts to assist you.
The food is quite good too.
Rooms are quite shabby but they are doing some renovations.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceknoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayan Lepas
9.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
9.4 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,756 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,256 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
6.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Penang

Address: 1 Jalan Bukit Jambul, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Price Range: $70 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Equatorial Penang 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set majestically 250 feet above sea level, Hotel Equatorial Penang, which is peacefully tucked away on a hillock is just 7 minutes to the Penang International Airport and a mere distance to the Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone. The UNESCO Heritage Site listed George Town is only 20 minutes from the hotel. The 5-star hotel embraces a splendour of contemporary design. It houses 662 guestrooms and suites, each classily furnished and facilitated with state of the art in-room amenities. It is the top choice for executive retreats and incentive group gatherings. It houses two Grand Ballrooms which have been intelligently built with no obstruction of columns in between - reputed to be the largest on the island that can house up to 2,000 people. There are also 21 other function rooms. Penang island is famed for its eclectic cuisine and the hotel is no different with its variety of dining outlets. The hotel houses 5 innovative options ranging from classic French cuisine at The View to authentic Japanese fare at Kampachi. Other hotel facilities include a fully equipped fitness centre, outdoor swimming pool, squash and tennis courts, a business centre, scheduled shuttle services and impeccable service to complete a 5-star experience stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equatorial Penang Hotel
Equatorial Penang Bayan Lepas
Hotel Equatorial Penang Bayan Lepas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing