We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly Reservation Dept.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eastin Hotel Penang
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I am yet to stay at this hotel but I have just made a reservation through online directly on their website. Since I don't have a credit card, I was using my brother's card to make a booking. For safety issue, they required a scanned copy of the card used in making the reservation to be submitted (uploaded) online through the website. We are quite concerned over this method since there are confidential information that we are reluctant to expose.

I made two phone calls to the hotel and talked to their reservation department to get a clarification of what kind of information that I can protect from being exposed. The initial greeting wasn't there (considering this is a service based business) and the tone of the voice on the other side was very unfriendly. As if I was asking a favor from her even though I am yet to ask her a question.

When asked about which part of the scanned documents that I can protect / hide especially the 3-digit CVV number at the back of the credit card, she replied not to hide any information displayed on the card. Basically, she's asking me to expose all confidential and important information on the credit card.

We were already considering forfeiting our pre-reservation because of this but we took into account the great location of this hotel to the airport (we'll be coming by flight). Luckily, upon uploading the image on the website that I noticed a small icon advising on the critical information that I may hide. That's a big relief!

I proceeded with the uploading and now waiting for the validation by the system. Had I submitted based on her advice, who would have known if the information is leaked out to other parties.

Well, looking forward for the stay over there tomorrow and will give a share on our experience there once we return.

I think a friendly tone will be of very much help to an anxious customer.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank digitelwerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 740 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

I was there for a business event - location wise, it is convenient since there is a large shopping mall just 5 mins away. I got the penthouse style room - whilst nice and interesting, the toilets (both levels) had a slight sewage smell which was quite unpleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tabby182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel staff is courteous and always put on a smile. Wifi is stable and the breakfast while nice, variety was rather limited.

The location is good for those who are on business trips to visit the factories or business in the area and it's a stone throw from the big Queensbay Mall.

Room is clean and comfortable though the TV channels are limited.

A good stay so far and I would look forward to coming back on my next visit though price is on the high side.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ykhppc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Location - Good. Walking distance to Queensbay Mall, shops, banks and restaurants.
Room - Not so impressive for an hotel rated 4-5 star
Food - Good option but tastes not impressive at all.
Service - Poor, need improvement especially FB & Front Desk
Parking - Not bad (for hotel guests)

If you are staying in this hotel, please eat out. The food outside is better & just a walk away. I wished the staffs were more courteous. If you're on business trip & it's near Bayan Lepas, this will be a choice hotel however if your meeting is @ Georgetown, there are better options there.
Don't forget your key card when leaving out cos you need it to access floors in the lift. Some find it troublesome but it was a good security measure.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms facing the sea & penang bridge...at least you wake up to a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Eastin is a classical business hotel, relatively near the airport but also the city centre (Georgetown). It is great value for money, since it is actually (to my opinion) a 5-star hotel, therefore its price is comparatively reasonable. It has amazing breakfast and lunch buffet, with great options for all tastes (western and eastern). Its rooms are spacious, very clean and quiet. All amenities are provided and service is polite, timely, willing and personnel helpful and smiling. Unlike most hotels of such rating, they genuinely polite and they do not look at customers for just their wallets and tips; as a matter of fact, they are often positively surprised when you tip them, even the slightest tip. Facilities are also wonderful: the swimming pool is amazing with great views, especially during night, the spa is well known to be one of the best in Penang, maybe the whole Malaysia, service (reception, breakfast, room service etc) are all more than adequate.
The only con to the hotel (all hotels and places throughout Malaysia actually) is the unreasonably high air-conditioning, so please bring a jacket in all indoor areas!
The hotel is 5-minute walking distance from the Queensbay mall (it's great!) but you need a short-ride taxi to get to Georgetown; still, they're relatively cheap (30MYR) so no big deal really.

Room Tip: no problem with room even in lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thanos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

2nd visit to this hotel. A very good location which is within a walking distance to queensbay mall. However a bit disappointed on the receptionist service during the check in. The check in process not really smooth and i have to wait more than 15 mins and the lady at the front desk with a limited smile and unfriendly attitude. The food ordered from room service is superb and above my expectations. A very reasonable price and suggest to book directly from eastin website to get a better price.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is good for business stay. If you pay yourself the hotel is little costly. But the benefit is you are nearbythe city. You have queensbay shopping mall just a walk awY. Also a veriety of restaurants around. The rooms are ok but do ask for a non smoking room if you dont smoke. My friend told he had to face the terrible smell of smoke in the smoking room. If you prefer to enjoy a calm environment and a peacefull atmosphere to enjoy nature eastin is noy yhe choice for u.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajithrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayan Lepas
1.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Hotel Equatorial Penang
#1 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
567 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
#3 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
323 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,793 reviews
8.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastin Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Hotel Penang

Address: 1 Solok Bayan Indah, Queensbay, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Price Range: $68 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastin Hotel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastin Hotel Penang features 328 meticulously decorated guestrooms and equipped with modern amenities for the comfort and convenience of the discerning business and leisure traveler. Choose from a variety of room types; Deluxe, Club Deluxe, Eastin Deluxe, and Family Suite, facing the verdant green hills or the shimmering blue sea and Pulau Jerejak, home to tropical rainforest that's over 130 million years old or looking out onto an elegant landscaped gardens. After a busy day, you can relax by taking a dip in our sparkling clear pool, work-out in the fully equipped gym, soothe your mind, body and soul at the spa or drop by Queensbay Mall for a shopping spree. Guests who need to be constantly in touch can also log on to our complimentary internet at anytime of the day or just lie down on the plush bed to enjoy your favourite program from our satellite television channels. The warm hospitality, impeccable service and care, is a rich tradition practiced at all levels of our staff to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. Whether for business or leisure, Eastin Hotel Penang is here to provide you a memorable experience you will treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eastin Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastin Hotel Penang Bayan Lepas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing