We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eastin Hotel Penang
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Equatorial Penang(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
$87
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TH Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)
$39
$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olive Tree Hotel(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$31
$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lexis Suites Penang(Bayan Lepas)
$110
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
$53
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
U Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
$44
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Krystal Suites(Bayan Lepas)
$34
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveler rating
162
396
176
62
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
396
176
62
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueensbay mallbusiness tripsea viewthe executive loungewalking distancebusiness hotelconvenient locationindustrial areaqueens bayeasy accesspleasant stayswimming poolclose to the airportbreakfast spreaddeluxe roomshort staygeorge town
Filter
Updating list...
742 - 747 of 822 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Had read some negative comments earlier by fellow reviewer so had out off bokking this hotel till now as my customer had corporate rate. Like one reviewer mentioned, this hotel is "neutral" such that there isn't any major complaints, but there isn't much to shout about either.
First of all, it was supposed to be new, but some parts seem to be showing their age. Check-in wasn't fast and smooth and by observing me and others checking-in, u feel they could have been better trained and organised. Had requested for non-smoking room when booking 3 weeks ago, but they still not able to provide one. The sun could be too strong that day, but somehow I feel the lighting is pretty dim in the hotel, including the lift and then the room, as I need to draw the curtain becuase it faced the highway and also had the full blaze of the afternoon sun. This problem extend to the toilet as well where the light is on the front half and not the back where the shower is. Also there is no light for the small cupboard they have.
As for the room, as all new hotels are now, it is small and u can't move much if someone is at the writing desk. The toilet is small as well, with no bathtub, and the door opens blocking the toilet bowl, making it inconvenient to use. The TV was set way too high up on the wall and the digital alarm clock was pre-set with an early timing without my knowledge. This wake me up earlier then I need to for 2 mornings even though I tried my best to reset it, without any instructions provided. The pillow is kind of soft and flat, so u need to stack them up for the night. Sleeping quality is compromised, and it definetely don't help with that alarm clock and the constant reminder from the traffic that the room is next to a highway.
Breakfast was ok in term of spread and taste, with reasonable seating space, though they don't seem to have much changes in the menu especially if u need to stay longer period there.
The positive things are they are nearby to a huge mall, with good dinning and shopping options, as well as groceries. The hotel location is near the bridge as well, so ideal for business traveller who need to visit either Bayan Lepas or the mainland like Prai, Kulim and SP. But for leisure traveller, it is away from Georgetown and thebeaches.
Overall (with the lower corporate rate), it is quite ok for a night or 2 for business stay. But at the full rate, I am not too sure, as I feel they could had been more organised.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leslayang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Pros:
Rooms were comfortable
Bed was GOOD.
Bathrooms were very clean with separate shower.
Working desk etc.,
Located strategically. Close to Intel,Altera (15 mins drive away)
20-30 mins drive to Georgetown,Butterworth,Gelugor
Not so nice:
We paid for the breakfast buffet which is a colossal waste of money unless you NEED a continental breakfast.
Not convenient unless you rent a car as taxis are not very economical or frequent in Bayan Lepas

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheeba4gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Hotel itself is basic business style hotel. No character, but had very comfortable beds, good bathroom, and better than average food for this style of hotel and the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JezMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We booked 3 rooms in the hotel for a family trip. No problems with check-in or check-out. Becuase we were there on a weekend, the rates were very good, and allowed a late check-out. Rooms were clean and well appointed, but certainly too small to accommodate 2 adults with 2 young children. Glad we booked an adjoining room for the kids (with added cost of course). Only minor problem was the shower had a very low pressure and hot water wasn't particularly hot! Location was terrific being next to the Queensbay Mall which is awesome for food and shopping. Pool was very clean and quite adequate given it's really more of a business hotel. Free wi-fi was a nice surprise albeit a little slow. All staff we encountered were helpful, certainly no issues with attitude etc. Can't help but give the experience a big thumbs up! Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank botak67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Eastin is situated far from the city and happenings of Penang. The so-called 'Sea-view' room was blocked by Jerejak Island and not worth the money especially the Hill-View had a better view for cheaper price. The room was clean with tea/coffee facilities, etc.

The check-in took very long time as the the Front Desk is inefficient. The man who was did the check-in was arrogant, lazy, not bothered to show us where they lift was, which floor our room was or other facilities of the hotel. The Front Desk did not answer our phone calls from the room and we had to come all the way from downstairs. To be frank, it is a bit dissapointing and not worth the penny we paid for this hotel

As Penang is a small, laid back, relaxed destination especially if you would like get away from fast-moving Kuala Lumpur. People are friendly in Penang and always happy to help.

Dissapointed with Penang's taxi as they prices are dictated by the drivers (not meter) although there is a sticker on the car '... it is not permitted to haggle the taxi fare...'
Avoid, the city centre at night, especially the Komtar area as there were dodgy people and private cars hassling for taxis.

One good tip is the bus services is good, punctual with good connections, clean and also has Wi-Fi services on board :D Yes I was bit surpised pleasantly.
So we ended up taking buses, which was a great sight-seeing tool and managed to go a many places and would have been charged with extortionate taxi idiots.

Tip, hotels are fully booked in the weekends at the City Remember, don't forget to take the bus.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveldizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews