We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great place to stop”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monymusk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grant Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monymusk
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another Great place to stop”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stopped here on the way from Inverness to Aberdeen.
Just a great little hotel,Good rooms, Good Food, Good bar and atmosphere
What more can I say except I will be coming back
To top it all for business there was free wifi

Breakfast was also very good with lots of options

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 315AndrewW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
17
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Just read the review of someone who had a disappointing meal at the Grant Arms and I think this person must have been at a different hotel to me. My husband and I had lunch at the Grant Arms on Easter Monday and everything was excellent. My husband had steak & ale pie and I had scampi, we both had homemade chips which were crispy and delicious. (We both remarked on the fact that it was a nice change to get 'real' chips instead of frozen). The staff were efficient and very attentive. Absolutely no complaints and will certainly be recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizdow17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went for lunch on Easter Monday order was taken quickly and food arrived in a reasonable length of time. Presentation was poor, chips were burnt and tasteless thankfully the steak pie and burger we had was good but we have tasted better. After we finished our food we sat for 10 minutes or more and not one member of staff cleared away our plates despite 4 of them walking past our table. We asked for our plates to be cleared and told them about the chips which Im sure was obvious cause they were still on the plate. We got no apology what so ever and we were not offered pudding so we just asked for our bill. We then had to wait for this and when it arrived we were asked if everything was ok. No we said we told u just a minute ago. Again no apology. Poor service and poor customer care. I must add the place wasnt even busy just us and others who had already eaten and paid,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our fourth visit to The Grant Arms.but the first review.
Sue and Derek who took over the Grant Arms last year, are doing a stirling job.
Upon arrival we were greated with smiling faces and a warm welcome.
All the staff were wonderful and could not have been more helpful from the reception, to the domestic staff and restaurant and bar staff. Thank you.
The premises are spotless, never have we stayed in such a clean establishment.
The room was warm, cosy, and beautifully maintained. It was well equipped and the power shower is a wonderful experience.
Fantastic free wifi broadand, should you need it.
The food is excellent, with locally sourced quality steaks. The menu is sensibly priced with a good selection of dishes.
Great range of beverages, beers, whiskies etc.(with Taylors Landlord)
If you are visiting for a day or a week, you will not be disappointed.
Obviously great fishing and shooting.
Very quiet and wonderfully peaceful, opposite a lovely church and castle, you must visit.
IT JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER!!!
Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ideal for disbaled guests, with ground floor rooms if you need them. All the rooms we have had, hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candrew840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Having been booked into this hotel in order to attend an event nearby, I was unaware of what it would be like. I found the hotel to be just delightful in a most lovely setting of Estate village with superb old buildings forming a village square. Easy parking right outside is always a good start but the experience continued and the hotel ticked all the boxes. In fact I am somewhat surprised that VisitScotland only award them three stars. It is clean in fact pretty sparkling, the food is good, the bar is good and the staff more than willing to make sure everything is just right. Surely that is what four stars is all about. Well done the team at the Grant Arms.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the best electric shower I have ever had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McLean225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hadn't been to the Grant Arms for quite a few years, partly because the food often seemed to be of the a la freezer variety, but it is back to a good standard of food, freshly made. Had a lovely early Saturday evening dinner. The service was good and attentive and the atmosphere was warm and friendly. Only negative thing - they need to douse the lights a bit - too much lighting and it's too bright - spoils slightly what is a beautiful old building. The menu had just the right number of choices and these catered for a range of tastes. My home prepared gravlax was perfect and the following duck breast was cooked perfectly. Bill wasn't expensive for what we had and will certainly return to sample the other dishes on the menu.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macallan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Grant Arms is a welcome respite from the stresses of modern life, good rooms, the food is most excellent, free wifi in the rooms now. Have been here for business and pleasure in the form of Trout Fishing. If you are an Angler this hotel is not to be missed, 10 miles of fishing on the River Don, fly only, fishing for wild brown trout. The Salmon fishing is good as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aitchie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grant Arms Hotel

Property: The Grant Arms Hotel
Address: Monymusk AB51 7HJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Monymusk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monymusk
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Grant Arms Hotel Monymusk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing