We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped, cozy cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ripley, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VanDonks
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well equipped, cozy cottage”
Reviewed January 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Just had a pleasant stay at Scarah Bank Cottage. Photographs show property exactly as it is. Photograph is of number 7 NOT number 6 as a previous reviewer had incorrectly stated.
Cottage was very well equipped, kitchen even had a slow cooker. Plenty of coal in the coal bunker and full bag of kindling, along with several newspapers, so no problems in having a fire.
Very comfortable bed and spotless bedding. Bedroom really was a lovely, light, sunny room.
Dressing room could certainly be used as another bedroom which I am very surprised it isnt as property is big enough for 3 people.
Shower worked perfectly and bathroom in excellent order.
Wall mounted electric heaters heated property to a lovely temperature. Only room that was uncomfortably cold was the kitchen as we couldnt get the radiator to work, but we managed fine.
Nice back garden, all secure which was great for our little dog.
Yes the cottage is situated on a busy road and traffic noise can be heard.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This photo is showing number 6 next door and NOT 7 Scarah Bank Cottage”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The shower is broken and doesn't work properly.
Only 1 bucket of coal left for us no kindling.
TV aerial defective ie, broken wires, spasmodic reception.
As we had no coal we had no heating in the kitchen, bathroom or bedroom. The open fire heats the radiators in these rooms.
There are only 2 small oil filled electric heaters to keep the whole house warm.
We had snow, rain, high winds and the temperature dropped to minus 2 so we were exceptionally cold.
We found the fridge smelly and the kitchen bin lid was filthy when we arrived.
The bin for the ashes was full to the brim.
Couldn`t get an answer from the owner when we rang.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The bed
Liked least: The cold
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ripley hotels

So. California
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maureen H
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice------BUT!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Nice cottage, lovely patio at the back, everything you need, but it is on a very busy B road so quite noisy from the front bedroom. Nowhere to walk our little old dog easily, to get in the car & drive somewhere defeats the purpose of the walk especially in the evening. Our info described a shop, pub & river walk 5 mins. WE presumed to walk, (in which direction)? but its 5 mins by car as its 1.5 miles away, we discovered it 4 days into our holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Back patio
Liked least: Noise from the road
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing