We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely find”
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Boar's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here on May 30 th for 1 night . We checked in and were shown around and then shown to our room . We had a lovely room in the court yard ,it was a small double that we booked but it wasn't small at all I didn't think . It was a lovely room with a nice tea tray with home made biscuits too . We had a meal in the bistro which was very nice , breakfast delicious too . We got complimentary tickets for the castle and gardens too . We really enjoyed them and the tour guide who showed us around the castle was very informative . We would love to return again sometime maybe for 2 nights next time

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chillouttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Lovely review...
Many thanks for posting your comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much that next time you are here you hope it will be for longer.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
kindest regards
Steve & The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 794 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Boars Head is a beautiful small hotel, with lovely staff, a great bar and restaurant and nice rooms. We only live at Pateley Bridge and visit there most weeks for a lunch or dinner either in the bar or the restaurant - both equally enjoyable. We have even stayed over in the hotel for our wedding anniversary and will do so again. It's such a relaxing place. And after staying there we even got free entry to Ripley Castle in the village. The quality of food is second to none - be it a sandwich/snack or a main meal, so we are always happy to take friends there with us.
Pay it a visit - you'll not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We had a lovely light room overlooking the square in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Wonderful review!! Thanks.
We are very pleased to read your comments and it sounds like it wont be too long before we see you again.
It's great to read that you had such a nice anniversary with us recently and we look forward to your next visit.
Kindest regards
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Not sure where I can start
Room pleasant to look at until you looked close, In the bath room tiles cracked and very sharp, bath very narrow you ether touch the wall (tiles not clean and have black mould in the grout) or you have a shower curtain sticking and rapping round you as you try to shower? (Curtain not clean) This is not what I am use to and do not like as it invades my cleaning space.
Hotel needs to look at the rooms, as if they would live in the room and would it be what they would expect?
Food not to bad but good plate of meat, potatoes and Yorkshire pudding, please trim the fat from the meat before carving (keep it on to cook only) very small dish of veg, cheese board came with there small plant pots with food in and was chipped and cracked, would not use a plate that was chipped so way a small pot, again would you serve this to your boss or the owners, answer no so don't to the public, service slow, poor and with a not bothered type aroma, asked for drinks twice?
Please just walk around and look as if you are an out sider if you see things you do not like change them please.
Did not make my stay enjoyable.
Please look at what should be a very nice and enjoyable stay being part of the castle, make every ones stay as if it was you saying there(this it to the staff)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

I am sorry to read that , on close inspection, we did not meet your expectations.
We are currently part way through a refurbishment programme, so I will factor in your comments when we are planning the next area to carry out work.
The chipped plant pot in which your grapes were served , was discarded immediately after it had been identified as broken and we will ensure that the rest of the pots are checked more thoroughly before using them.
I consider myself to be very fortunate to have such a fine team of staff, so I am surprised you didn't find them more positive than your report suggests.
I do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back again in the future , in the hope that you will have a much more positive experience with us.
Regards
Steve & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Having visited Harlow Carr, we drove 10 mins to The Boars Head, parking was easy, just outside the entrance. We were greeted by a cheery receptionist, who showed us to our room. This was most comfortable, and clean, it included tea/coffee making facilities, even a cafetiere and home baked biscuits! We had booked a table for an evening meal, which is essential, the restaurant, service and food was excellent, We had a very comfortable night, and in the morning enjoyed a breakfast which was hot and cooked to order. We were given complimentary tickets to Ripley Castle and gardens, which unfortunately we did not use as we were en route to Fountains Abbey which is about a 20 mins drive away. An excellent hotel to stay and central to lots of interesting places to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay.
I am delighted to read that you had such a great visit and it sounds like you didn't have enough time to see all of the fantastic things that are in the area.... you will just have to visit again!!
We hope you will come back and stay with us next time you are planning a visit to the area.
Kindest regards
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Located in the grounds of Ripley Castle, the Boar's Head was well worth the £140 / night price tag over a May bank holiday weekend. Unlike any other pub/inn hotels I've stayed in, you could barely hear a peep from the other guests and could have been staying in a remote rural location. We had a room in one of the cottages adjoining the lovely back garden, birdsong evening and morning.. The hotel staff were very helpful, a good selection from the dining room breakfast buffet and plenty of hot dishes to choose from for my fairly fussy children.... And they brought breakfast to the room on our second morning for no additional charge. The room was clean and comfortable, my only complaint would be that the fold-out campbeds for the kids would only be suitable for a 3-5 year old as they were old and sagging, so should be replaced.

Room Tip: courtyard rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Boar's Head, thanks for the review.
I will share your positive comments with the Team and also ensure that the child's bed situation is looked into and rectified.
I do hope that we will welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

An excellent Hotel,
clean with a comfortable bed, tea coffee and tv in the room, a top restaurant with very good food and good beer, with good service and to top it off a free ticket for the castle and grounds, there is also a half hour bus service outside the hotel which we found very useful to visit other towns in the area without having to use the car, we were able to leave the car in the Hotel car park either front or back,
there is however no fitness centre and no swimming pool but that did not bother us,

we can recomend this hotel, we will be going back when we find the time, over all we were very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: book early, also there are no lifts which might be a problem for some, but there is not a lot of sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thanks for the review.
I am pleased to read your comments and delighted to hear that you are planning a return visit.
We don't have a fitness centre , but we do have some of the most fantastic country walks in the area and if you prefer cycling, then the Sustrans Greenway that links Harrogate, Knaresborough and further on into the Dales will keep you as fit a you would like to be. If you are a real serious cyclist, then the Tour de France route brings you through Ripley so maybe you could incorporate an over night stay with us to rest your tired legs and enjoy some well earned relaxation part way round the course of the 1st day of The Grand Depart.
Your comment regarding stairs...We have rooms on the ground floor for those who do not feel up to climbing the stairs.
Kind regards
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have been staying here for the last 8 years or so. A lovely place to wind down and a good location halfway to everywhere. The rooms are a bit tired but perfectly clean and considerately furnished. Sherry awaiting you on arrival. Yum. The dining room is excellent. A superb chef. Never have any doubts about what to eat - you could have everything and it would be terrific. Breakfast was delicious and one of the best overall anywhere. Full English was delicious. The hotel is a part of the Ripley Village and the family owns it all. But it is so well kept and everyone is so friendly. It really does feel like home away from home. Really a great little place only a few miles from Harrogate. What could be better?

Room Tip: We have never stayed in the main hotel; we always stay across the courtyard but I am sure every room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OAPsfromSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Many thanks to the OAPs from Surrey.
We are delighted that after 8 years , that you are still enjoying staying with us.
All of the great things you mention ensure that lots of our guests keep coming back to see us.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kind regards
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripley
23.8 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,056 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
801 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
659 reviews
12.7 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
3.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Address: Ripley Castle Estate, Ripley HG3 3AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Price Range: $118 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boar's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Coaching Inn set within the magnificent Ripley Castle Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boars Head Ripley
Hotel Boars Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing