We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gig night”
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Boar's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gig night”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed one night as we were going to a gig at Ripley Blues . The location was excellent as we were across the road in Hollybank and the hall was approx. 100yds up the road. We were shown the lounges and where breakfast would be served the following morning and then taken across the road to our room by a very nice lady who was on reception who once again explained everything in the room. Nice touches of a small sherry decanter and a chocolate boars head on both pillows.It was very clean but there were a couple of frayed patches of carpet and the bathroom could do with freshening up slightly.However, the facilities were excellent but an extra light over the vanity area in the room would have been an advantage and maybe bottled water with the refreshment tray for during the night would be appreciated. The staff were very welcoming, polite and friendly and could not be faulted.We had lunch in the Bistro and on the recommendation of the waiter I had the burger, delicious and I would definitely have that again.My Hubby had the roast beef sandwich which he thoroughly enjoyed but would have preferred to have had it served on a plate instead of a basket.Great nights sleep and quiet even though it is on a main road.Breakfast was plentiful and the warm pain au raisin were very tasty.Eggs Benedict was one of the best I have had and Hubby said the cooked breakfast was very tasty.Well presented and hot.Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for the 5 out of 5 !!
We are all very grateful for your positive feedback.
We are currently doing some refurbishment works in a number of rooms and addressing the issues that you pointed out.
As you mentioned, we are located on the main road, but I wouldn't want anyone to think that was a busy road , its well used during the day , but is very quiet during the evening and especially at night time.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed it so much that you plan to return , and we hope it wont be too long before we see you again for another great stay.
Kind regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    191
    67
    38
    14
See reviews for
91
417
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have just returned from the Boars Head. We have stayed a few times and always loved it and couldn't wait to return, however this time we felt something had changed. Staff lovely, rooms tired and in need of upgrade, but nice touch again with sherry , biscuits etc. Shower very small in Cayton room, but bath nice and water really hot. Room red hot all night. Food seemed different , new chef? Will visit again but might wait a while.

Room Tip: Ask for the farm house lovely big rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Many thanks for the review.
We are currently upgrading rooms and this is being really well received.
We are always looking to improve our guest experience and with this in mind we do, from time to time change things based on feedback. Depending on when you last stayed with us, we did change the style of our menu and dining options over 2 years ago, from a fine dining experience to more of a Brasserie type menu, and in the majority of cases, this has been met with very positive feedback.
All of our radiators are individually thermostatically controlled and can be adjusted by simply turning the dial up or down and we would have been happy to turn them down if we knew you were too hot. We aim to leave the rads on medium , but they can be change very easily.
We are currently putting an information sheet together to cover such matters , over and above the guest directory that is already in the rooms.

I do hope that you won't be waiting too long before coming back to see us again.
Kind regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We have just enjoyed a 2 night stay at The Boar's Head and it was delightful. We stayed in the yellow room which was very clean and comfortable. We ate both nights in the hotel and the food was excellent, different dishes added to the menu on a daily basis so plenty to chose from. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Excellent review, many thanks.
we are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent 2 night stay with us. I do hope it won't be long before we are welcoming you both back again soon.
Keep an eye on our website for some cracking special offers.
Regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was a great Groupon offer. Our room was lovely, charming and clean. Chocolate boars on the pillows and tea/coffee/biscuit facilities made it feel very homely. The staff were all very friendly and efficient, booking us in quickly and even taking us to our room to make sure we were happy. We enjoyed a very nice meal in the Bistro and a good hearty breakfast in the morning. We were advised on booking that we would be able to visit the castle and grounds included in the stay. Bit disappointed that the castle was closed for decoration on our stay so had to change our plans and find something else to take up our time. Ripley, although very pretty, is small and there's not much else to see/do - you need to get out and about in the beautiful countryside . However, we were given tickets to visit the castle at some point in the future, which we will make a special visit to take advantage of. We would definitely stay at the Boar's Head again, especially if there are any good offers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FizzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We are all very pleased to read that you had such a nice visit recently.
I do hope that you will be planning a return visit when you come and visit the Castle.
Keep an eye on our website for the great special offers.
See you again soon.
kind regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stopped for one night using a groupon deal, which we'd upgraded to a superior room. The initial impression was great - we were warmly greeted by a friendly smiling receptionist and not just directed, but taken to our room (which was in a different building (only 20 yards across the road)).
The room was lovely, spotlessly clean with nice touches like a decanter of sherry (we didn't partake of, but it's still a great example of attention to detail), chocolates and an orchid.
We also ate in the bistro that night, the food ranged from good to great (I had the veggie burger, which was a little lacking in flavour, but perfectly ok - my wife had the hake, which she said was beautiful. Both starters were great) .
Breakfast was excellent - eggs florentine for me - unusual, and a bit a of a treat - obviously freshly cooked and cooked perfectly.
We probably wouldn't have paid the tariff price for a superior room (about £150), but at the deal rate, it was excellent. Even at the tariff price, though a lot of money, we wouldn't have felt ripped off, given that everything was spot on.
On top of everything else, if you stay at the Boar's head, you can obtain free tickets for Ripley Castle house and gardens. The castle was temporarily closed, so we were given tickets for the gardens and another set of tickets for the castle+gardens to use any other time - very well thought through and another nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_1_m_1_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit.I am delighted to read that you had such a great time.
I hope that next time that you are considering a short break, that you take a look on our website and take us up on one of our special offers.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Steve & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

stayed for 1 night lovely room and facilities,excellent food in restaurant and great breakfast.only disappointment booked so we could go round castle on thur as this was day it. opens but was closed due to decorating but enjoyed walking round the gardens

Room Tip: stayed in yellow room very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Great review.
Many thanks for the kind comments.
I am sorry that you could not visit the castle due to the redecoration that was taking place.
We did give tickets to be used at a future date to lots of our guests over this period , I hope you got some and we will see you next time you are in Ripley.
Regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Made to feel very welcome, very helpful staff. Dog friendly. Clean accommodation Good food and good location. Would highly recommend as a good base for local amenities within the grounds of Ripley Castle.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi Janet Burr, many thanks for posting a review following your recent visit.
Great to hear that you gave a 10/10 for the time you had with us.
Keep an eye on our website for some more great deals coming up in the near future.
Regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripley
5.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
3.3 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
3.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Property: The Boar's Head
Address: Ripley Castle Estate, Ripley HG3 3AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boar's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Coaching Inn set within the magnificent Ripley Castle Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boars Head Ripley
Hotel Boars Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing