We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Janet Burr”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Boar's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Janet Burr”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Made to feel very welcome, very helpful staff. Dog friendly. Clean accommodation Good food and good location. Would highly recommend as a good base for local amenities within the grounds of Ripley Castle.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi Janet Burr, many thanks for posting a review following your recent visit.
Great to hear that you gave a 10/10 for the time you had with us.
Keep an eye on our website for some more great deals coming up in the near future.
Regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    186
    65
    38
    14
See reviews for
89
409
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Upon arrival, excellent receptionist signed us in on our Groupon deal. We stayed in a small double room on the outer of the hotel called "The Poacher's Den" consisting of room, bathroom with excellent little extra touches. Cleanliness, service, facilities, and parking -all 10/10. This morning we had a lovely breakfast with a massive choice and all plentiful and perfectly presented. This was a great deal for us and hopefully we'll be back sometime in the future and we would highly recommend this lovely place to anyone interested. Well done to all concerned.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We are all delighted to read that you had such a positive stay with us recently.
I will pass on your very kind comments to the team.
Keep an eye on our website for more cracking deals coming up in the not too distant future.
Regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was given the Groupon voucher by our daughter as a birthday gift. On arrival the Receptionist guided us around the hotel, this was a first. for us. The service in the Restaurant was first class as was the food. Breakfast was a feast - I wish I could make scrambled eggs like that!!

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main road, I would recommend a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186411Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi Carol H, Many thanks for the kind comments.
If you want to know the secret of our scrambled eggs, then why not come along to one of our exciting cookery demonstrations. You can find the details of our demonstrations on our website.
Kind regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmfirth
Level Contributor
227 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

called in for lunch while looking round ripley. sounds strange but we had trouble finding the bar at first even thought we went through waht looks like the main door. maybe a sign pointing the way would help.
we were shown to a table and they bought us our drinks and we orderd our food. my sandwich came in a basket which was original. it was lovely, the beef was cooked pink and it melted in your mouth. my partner had the pork which he said was good and we shared a bowl of chips. i felt it was a reasonable price and the wine was good quality too

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiaHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for the high praise for the beef sandwich.
I have passed on your comments to the kitchen and they are delighted you enjoyed your meals so much.
We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Regards
Steve & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Sorry for the delay of this review but as promised here it is! I stayed with my partner in February for his birthday and we had a brilliant time, the staff were friendly the food was amazing and the room was fab. All the little touches like the home made biscuits, and the chocolate boars makes this place memorable. The only downside was the fact we only stayed for one night. Will be returning. Thank you all xx

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferebee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Don't wait too long to re book!!
Sounds like it wont be too long before we see you again.
I am delighted that you had such a fab time.
Keep your eye on our website for seasonal offers.
Kind regards
Steve & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here with our little dog on a Groupon voucher overnight, and paid an extra £10 for the dog. When we went to the room she had a dog basked ready and water in a bowl plus some little "treat" biscuits!

We had a very warm welcome at the Reception and our room - "Keepers 3" was adequately decorated considering we had a dog. I did see others more luxuriously appointed - probably for non-dog owners!

All the staff were very good and helpful. Although our Bistro food was only average our breakfast in the morning was excellent.

Ripley is a quaint village to visit and although we did not go inside the castle on this occasion, it is well worth a visit - I believe if you stay at the Boar's Head you get complimentary tickets to the gardens. However, you cannot take the dog but we were told about a lovely circular walk outside the castle grounds, which I can recommend.

All in all it was a lovely and friendly place to stay and also very close to Harrogate, if you want to combine it with a visit there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enuguevander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Also very nice if you aren't lucky enough to have a dog.
Many thanks for the review.
I am pleased to read that you had a nice stay, apart from the average dinner.....
I do hope that next time you come you leave with a higher opinion of your dinner.
There really are some fantastic walks around our area , with or without a dog, the surrounding area offers some of the most picturesque scenery you could wish for.
Kind regards
Steve & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Have just returned from a lovely three day break with my Mother.
The Boars Head Ripley was a fantastic choice full of old world charm coupled with top class service From the original booking to checking out the staff were a pleasure to deal with. Its situated just a short distance between Ripon and harrogate providing more shopping and culture than we had time for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDeniseH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
I do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back....... sounds like you need to return so that you can complete your session of retail therapy.
Kind regards
Steve & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripley
5.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
3.3 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
3.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Property: The Boar's Head
Address: Ripley Castle Estate, Ripley HG3 3AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boar's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Coaching Inn set within the magnificent Ripley Castle Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boars Head Ripley
Hotel Boars Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing