We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Boar's Head
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The New Inn(Harrogate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duke's Place(Bishop Thornton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel(Harrogate)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Old Swan Hotel(Harrogate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveler rating
461
212
74
40
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
212
74
40
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsripley castleboarfree entrycomplimentary ticketsyellow roombar bistrosuperior roomkedgereecharming villagebiscuitsdeer parkthe main hotelbeer gardenwell worth a visitfish piebus servicelittle touches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
587 - 592 of 803 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent two nights in February at this charming inn. It lived up to its billing in the Good Pub Guide. The room was comfortable, the food excellent (and the local beer) and the staff really helpful. Top tip is to use the complementary tickets and visit Ripley Castle. In the same family for 700 years and steeped in history. Situated in a quaint village near Harrogate, great for the Turkish Baths and shopping.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicols_Altrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

A perfect weekend review...
We are all very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay.
The food, the local beer, the staff, the comfortable room and complimentary tickets to Ripley Castle.
All of these things come together to bring you The Boar's Head experience, we hope you will come back and enjoy it again soon.
Regards
Steve & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed on the 16th, booking last minute on a winter warmer. The hotel comes highly recommended and therefore expectations are high. Being the weekend after valentines you'd expect it to be busy. Despite all tables in the restaurant and bistro fully booked the quality of the service and food was brilliant. Even with a power outage on the tills didn't create a distraction with the staff sparing a moment to chat, and demostrating a great sense of humour. In particular Maria on reception who I'm sure will remember the black beauty theme tune :-) and ula at breakfast who provided a sympathetic smile whilst we recovered from the night before and digested the vast breakfast menu.
Food was excellent and the winter warmer special, 3 couses inc. bottle of wine was fantastic value. All food sourced locally and a good selection of beers and wines. I'll add at this point, the price for a pint £3.20 is great to observe. in so many places we pay over the odds for poor beer. not at the boars head, the beer was excellent. The waiters in the evening were attentive yet discrete, after dinner we relaxed in one of the many lounge areas. The staff were more than happy to provide history of the area and the buildings.
We were located in the house across the road, Birchwood, absolutely beautiful. Complimentary sherry is a rather nice touch and sets it apart from the std tea and coffee(also in the room). we stayed in Newton, a large room nicely decorated and well maintained. The age of the building and the sturdy walls prevent any noise from noisy neighbours maintaing a relaxing and peaceful nights sleep.
Following breakfast, we ventured to the castle courtesy of the complimentary tickects from the hotel. the guided tour was extremaly informative and provided a sense of history and importance of the village through time. afternoon tea in the cafe and then it was time to come home :-(
This is a top clas hotel, with great food and importantly great staff.

Room Tip: Birchwood is quiet across the road
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

A perfect winter review.
Many thanks for the glowing comments.We are all delighted to read that you had such a great time during your recent stay.
It sounds like you enjoyed many aspects of what we have on offer in Ripley ,so keep your eyes on our website and get another booking in with us again soon.
We look forward to welcoming you both back again very soon.
Kind Regards
Steve & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

we visited the hotel after going to the xmas market at Ripley Castle and had a drink and warm mulled wine. could not have been more helpful, excellent choice and knowledge of beers for me and superb glass of mulled wine for my wife in very comfortable surroundings. worth a stop whenever in the area as also heard the food is good.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thanks for the very kind comments.
I notice from your ID that you live locally ,so why not come and try the food that you have heard about.I am sure that you won't be dissapointed.Choose from a selecton of local and regional dishes with a few old favourites thrown in for good measure.You are sure to find something to tempt all tastes and budgets.
We do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you soon.
KInd regards
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We had booked a two night stay at this quaint lovely homely hotel .
We received an excellent welcome and were checked in quickly and efficiently.
Our room was in the courtyard upstairs . It was warm with a king size bed and a large bathroom with shower over bath and lovely thick fluffy towels. There was even a seperate towel and dish for our little dog.
The hotel is really dog friendly and she could come and sit in the lounge with us in front of the roaring fire which she loved and of course all the fuss that was made of her.
Everyone of the staff we came into contact with were absolutely first class and could not do enough for us.
The food was excellent, breakfast cooked to order and very substantial. The dinner menu is really different and it was good to try different dishes.
So all in all an excellent stay in a special hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebsgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

A great review with lovely comments.
We are so pleased to read your comments about your recent stay.
A dog curled up in front of the fire, a cosy and comfortable bedroom, delicious dinner, beautiful breakfast and all set amongst The historic Ripley Castle Estate.
I can see why you and your dog enjoyed it so much.
I will share your kind words with all the staff concerned.
Please don't leave it too long before coming back to see us again soon.
Kind regards
Steve & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Boar's Head is located in a lovely Village ripley 3 miles outside Harrogate . we stayed on a winter warmer special offer which included a 3 course meal ( anything off the menu which was all local produce ) and bottle of wine , excellent value for money we stayed in Birchwood house large rooms with everything you needed and more its the little thing that impress ,homemade biscuits in the rooms , a massive bed and filtered coffee facilities etc etc .

The bar had real ale from the black sheep brewery , the staff were very friendly and helpful and cared about what they were doing

The breakfast is a winner perfect in every way poached eggs were the best i have seen

you get free tickets to Ripley castle which was very impressive the house and the grounds well worth a visit especially as its free ,

WELL RECOMMENDED

COSY TRADITIONAL AND VERY FRIENDLY

Room Tip: Birchwood House is well recommended
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaz_Raf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

This looks like we have written it ourselves.......but I can assure you that we havent !
Many thanks for a fab review. I will pass on your comments to the entire team as it is only with them that these results can be acheived.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kindest regards
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews