We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Second review, forth or fifth visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Boar's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Second review, forth or fifth visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Nice place in a peaceful area with free parking and free wi-fi. OK so The Boars Head is not in the centre of Harrogate, but I'm sure a short drive or taxi won't hurt if that's what you want.

For me, peace and quiet, a good bar with real ale and a varied menu serving quality food, not to mention a great breakfast.

This may have been my last visit of 2012, but I hope to return in 2013!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinHemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Keep them coming!!!
The best result for us is when guests choose to return, so we hope to see you early in 2013 again.
It is always a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Steve & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    177
    62
    36
    13
See reviews for
80
391
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

If you are considering booking here - DO!!! Great food, great atmosphere - it's like staying in a good pals Country House . Finally no problem unsolvable - in a tearing rush at 8am this morning, the car had a flat battery - sorted by the Hotel in seconds and we were en route. Go ahead and book it to see for yourself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
High praise indeed.

I am delighted to read your comments following your recent stay with us.It was a pleasure to help you with the flat battery and get you started again.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.I will have the jump leads ready ,just in case.........


Kind Regards
Steve & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is positioned well, next to Ripley Castle. Snug room with big roaring fire.Restaurant smelt and looked very appetising .The Coachman Bedrooms were nice and warm,quirky and cottagey with good sized Bathroom.
Very helpful and friendly staff,from the receptionist to the night barman lovely, freshly cooked breakfast and free tickets to go and visit Ripley Castle.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Many thanks for posting a review.We are all very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.It is great to know that you made time to enjoy the complimentary tour of the Castle during your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Steve & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
186 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

An old coaching inn and part of the Ripley Castle Estate. The 25 bedrooms are split between the main hotel, a house opposite, and the converted stables. They are tastefully decorated, well appointed, and very comfortable. There are even toys to play with in the bath! The staff are very courteous and attentive, and the food is excellent. Real ales and good selection of wines are also available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Many thanks for posting a review.We are all very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
503 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Met friends and had a lovely lunch here. Nice dining room and bar, we ate in the dining room which is spacious and tables well spaced so you're not having to listen to everyone else's conversations. Food was very good, plenty of choice on the menu. Particular stars were the pigeon breast starter, and for the main course lamb shanks were good but I had the honey roast ham which was very tasty indeed. No room for pudding but one of our party had the creme brulee which looked very good. The cafetiere coffee was not brilliant but otherwise it was very good. Staff were helpful and efficient too. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWMW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit.
Try to leave enough room for dessert next time.....They really are worth it.
Regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked this hotel for a one night stay to "get away from it all" and did not have too far to travel to get there. Our room was overlooking the main road and was fine, the bathroom was good and really had no issues with it at all. The area is lovely, we had a good walk in the afternoon in the nearby countryside which was very enjoyable. We chose to have dinner in the restaurant, the food was excellent, it was rather quiet, only one other couple in though the bistro part was busy. Our Spanish waitress was excellent and looked after us very well.

We were unable to visit the Castle the next day as we ran out of time but look forward to going back again and will definitely do it next time. The two shops (gift shop & delicatessen) are a credit to the Castle "business", I started my Christmas shopping there.

We intend to go for two nights next time back to the Boar's Head to make the most of seeing a bit more of the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julied186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Lovely review.

Many thanks for your kind words.
The fact that you are already planning your next visit is all that we can wish for.
See you again soon.
Kind Regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were looking for somewhere cheap to stay for the night as we were having repair work done at home. We found this place for £35 which is insanely cheap but as I understand the room we had would normally be £79. The hotel has tons of character and friendly staff, in particular the friendly helpful lady on reception.

In our incredibly cosy room we found nice bathroom products, proper filter coffee, tea and a teapot, biscuits and chocolates. We also got breakfast served in our room at 6:15 and tickets to Ripley castle worth £9 each all included in the price.

A lovely hotel that I would definatly reccomend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeedsTravelTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Delightful comments, with our thanks thrown in.

Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
We do hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you both back again soon.
Kind Regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripley
5.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,254 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel Yorkshire
Cairn Hotel Yorkshire
#11 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Property: The Boar's Head
Address: Ripley Castle Estate, Ripley HG3 3AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boar's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Coaching Inn set within the magnificent Ripley Castle Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boars Head Ripley
Hotel Boars Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing