We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fabulous Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Well Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Well Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Ewen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at Well Cottage for two nights whilst visiting friends in Gloucester and en rout to Thornbury. I can only endorse the other comments here as the place and hosts are/were exceptional. Room and shower brilliant, breakfast superb and the location very convenient.
Given the opportunity this is definitely a repeat stay must (if we can get in!). Also the local pub is very handy.

Room Tip: Just take whatever is available! You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waldodw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
86
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here for 2 nights, although a little far from town it is by far one of the best places we have stayed on our 6 months of travel through Europe and the UK. The hosts (Bridget and Neil) are the most enjoyable and interesting people you could wish to meet. If anything they should be one of the attractions for the region, sounds crazy but it is true.
This is the place to stay if you are in the area, the rooms are lovely clean and warm, it is like staying at your grandparents place. I cant say enough about this place and the hosts.

Room Tip: Take whatever is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Little2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had a short 2 day stay whilst on business in the area.
The hosts were very welcoming and the room was of a very high standard with a spacious on suite wet room shower area.
The English breakfast was a perfect start to the day, with a good supply on fresh ground coffee.
With ample parking and a good location, I would highly recommend the Well Cottage :
Steve S Taunton Somerset.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have stayed in many B&Bs over many years and have seen the good, the bad and even worse. Well Cottage and its perfect hosts, Neil and Bridget, was the best of the lot. This is a superlative B&B from the very large bedroom to the wet room and the locally sourced breakfast. A memorable stay and one worth repeating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

What a lovely Cotswolds Cottage. Bridget and Niel are the perfect hosts, made the four of us very welcome and can gave us good advice about all the local attractions. Rooms were absolutely excellent, well equipped and spacious for a cottage - and scrupulously clean. Break fast was totally full-English perfection (only lacking black pudding). Wi-fi running at 6MB was also v. welcome. An absolute gem - this is what all B&Bs should be like.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanMcAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford,UK
Level Contributor
202 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here on a weekend break to Westonbirt Arboretum and Slimbridge . It is a very good base for many places of interest . The village of Ewen is very pretty and the house charming. Very hospitable owners and we had a comfortable night's sleep . The room was clean , stylish and neat and not twee or full of nicknacks as some B and Bs can be.
We walked down to the Wild Duck Inn for dinner and were not very impressed with the food , although it was convenient not to have to drive .
A hearty breakfast at Well Cottage got us off on the road with a great start .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. ‘Well Cottage’ is a lovely old stone cottage in the peaceful hamlet of Ewen. The B&B accommodation is in a purpose built annex with separate guest entrance and there is ample parking.

Our rooms were immaculate with quality beds, furnishings, shower and they had lovely views the garden and fields - very tranquil and relaxing. There are tea/coffee/Wi-Fi/TV facilities in the rooms. Breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious. The hosts Neil and Bridget are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

There is an old 16th Century Inn down the road called the ‘Wild Duck Inn’ for evening meals but booking advised as it is very popular.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZigZag-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewen
3.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cirencester Town Centre
3.8 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Riverside House
Riverside House
#8 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
4.1 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Well Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Well Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Well Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ewen, Cirencester GL7 6BU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester > Ewen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ewen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Well Cottage Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well Cottage is a 200 year old Cotswold cottage which has recently been extended to provide comfortable Bed and Breakfast accommodation with all the latest facilities including en suite shower rooms with power showers and LCD televisions incorporating Freeview. If you need to stay in contact with the internet we provide free WiFi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Well Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing