We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Markington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Courtyard Guest House, Barolin Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Markington B&B and Inns
Batley
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Spent 6 brilliant days a combination of horses /stately homes/ beautiful scenery and delightful breakfasts.
Would recommend to anyone - especially with horsey interests.
Very friendly guests and extremely obliging staff
Really enjoyed the riding lessons - despite aching muscles

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This place is the best kept secret in Yorkshire. Staying in the main house is like stepping back in time to England how it used to be. Everything about the main house is so impressive from the bedrooms to the sitting room and breakfast room. We stayed at Barolin Farm for 2 nights originally on our way up to Scotland but we enjoyed our stay so much that we booked in again for the night on our way back home to London. Belinda is a wonderful hostess who served us a lovely afternoon tea in the garden upon our arrival. The grounds are magnificent and the location is so peaceful, I could have stayed there forever. A 13 minute walk from the farm is the village of Markington which has 2 wonderful pubs. The Cross Keys serves delicious food and The Yorkshire Hussars is a pub which is full of character and charm. Fountains Abbey is about 2 miles away and the towns of Ripon and Harrogate are both great places to visit. This is a wonderful place to stay and a lovely part of England to visit. We shall be back very soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here with 3 other couples as we cycled the Way of the Roses route. I would guess these buildings were originally the stables and/or staff quarters of the manor house in whose extensive grounds this lovely property sits. Conversion to the present accomodation must have taken place quite a long time ago, as lots of interesting architectural features remain, both inside and out. Downstairs there is a large lounge with chairs and sofas, board games to play, and a tv as a last resort (none in the rooms). Photographs of family members at weddings etc gave the place a homely touch. The dining room is also huge with a long central table that the 8 of us filled. There was also a smaller table for 4 to one side. The furniture was "antiquey" but not of the type that you are frightened to touch - everything felt like it was meant to be used. The breakfast was plentiful and well cooked.
There are rooms on both the ground and upper floor. Ours was huge with fabulous views overlooking the lovely garden at the rear. The large bathroom probably needs updating, but somehow it seemed to fit in with the slightly ramshackle feel of the place. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The business is run by Belinda who is lovely if somewhat "dipsy" - she would have undercharged us by a considerable amount if we had not pointed out her faulty maths!
The property is a little of the beaten track and situated next to a more modern version of riding stables, surrounded by rolling fields etc. As a base for walking or touring the dales I would imagine it is great - although there does not appear to be anything nearby (pub etc) to walk to in the evening. As a stop over on the Way of the Roses it was great (and allowed us to cheat by missing out Ripon the next morning - oops, shouldn't have said that!).

Room Tip: Belinda can arrange for you to visit the working stables if you wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedCompliance11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I had a wonderful stay at the Courtyard guesthouse this summer. It was such a tranquil, idylic location. The house is beautiful and so are the large grounds. Hostess Belinda is very friendly and attentive to her guests and produced a delicious full English breakfast for us.
Definitely value for money, I would certainly recommend the place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah_h89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This was one of several B&Bs I looked at near Ripon, I am interested in horses, here, I was able to watch the German team being prepped for Burleigh.
Belinda is not "mad" and we were "soul sisters" after only two days.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2011

On arrival we were greeted by the lovely host who offered us tea and shortbread. We enjoyed our snack outside on the terrace overlooking the beautiful, private garden.
Our room was spacious, airy and well equipped. The bathroom huge and both of these rooms overlooking the beautiful garden.
The location is a little out of the way which was perfect for us, very tranquil.
The room was comfortable and our good night's sleep was followed by a fantastic breakfast. We would definitely recommend this guest house to a couple wanting a tranquil few nights away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenAndy1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Ok, first of all when you drive there you think (well, we did!) you might have made a wrong turn because we drove up through a stable yard! But we were ok and when we went round the corner there was a huge courtyard at the house. Apparently its part of a bigger estate.

Parked right by the front door, met by the house keeper Belinda, (might have been Melinda), and taken to our room. Wow, it was HUGE. I think most places would have shooved four beds in there! Great views of the garden an nice big clean bathroom. On the down side the bedside lights were a bit small, too small to use for reading. Also, no TV in room, but nice hospitality trays.

There's a big sitting room with a telly tho. Another couple there had a small dog with them and it was no bother. The place is really quiet at night . Breakfast was diffrent. In a big dining room with the biggest table I ever saw! Looked like something from King Arthur, lol. Not set up with all little tables like most places so evreyone came and went sitting at the same big oak table. It was kind of fun and a nice meal.

We would reccomend if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tifanny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Guest House, Barolin Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Guest House, Barolin Farm

Property: Courtyard Guest House, Barolin Farm
Address: Barolin Farm Guest House, Markington HG3 3PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Markington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Markington
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the delightful setting and well appointed accommodation of Courtyard Guest House, located in the grounds of Barolin Farm, Markington. The village of Markington is tucked between the Yorkshire towns of Ripon and the historic spa, Harrogate. Only a stone's throw to the famous historic ruins of Fountain’s Abbey. This lovely location is ideal for discovering the area, on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales a few short miles to Thirsk. We understand that your dog is an important part of your family, so a well behaved pet will always be welcome when you stay with us. As well as the guesthouse we also have the Barolin Chalets which are the perfect style of accommodation for people requiring self-catering, or clean basic lodgings for a short stay in the area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing