We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found Tranquility in the Hills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hunas Falls by Amaya
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The decision to select this hotel for a stay was based on the positive reviews and recommendations I received from my friends who were there before. And it was great as expected. Made a booking for two nights stay and reached there in the evening around 6 p.m. It was easy to find the road from the nearest main city Kandy as they have placed direction boards everywhere, making it convenient to find the way for first time visitors like me. The staff was friendly and polite. Checked in without any delay. We had booked a suite room; they gave us a free upgrade to the best suite room !!! The room was clean and cozy. Our stay there was like a dream during the two days. We enjoyed the nature and cool climate at its best. The food was tastier too. We were served with buffet meals except for one. There was nothing to complain about food and service.

Overall, it was a great stay for us!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iWeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager... ., Manager at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear I Weli,

Ayubowan!

Thank you very much for the very positive and all round comments . We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are very encouraging and is what we try to achieve and to elevate to a higher level.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Hunas Falls By Amaya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Hunas Falls by Amaya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 409 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

this place is like heaven.. you must get a ground floor room , then it opens upto the garden and its really a lovely feeling staying here... you have hiking , fishing, boat rides, planting trees... so much more... should witness the sun rise .. it was amazing ..

Room Tip: always go for the ground floor rooms as it directly opens up to the garden
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tavinya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager... ., Manager at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Tavinya,

Ayubowan !

Thank you very much for your valuable comments. We are extremely happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

While thanking you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to Hunas Falls by Amaya in the hills of nearby Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Hunas Falls Hotel for one night. It was an AWESOME experience. We stayed at the Cardamon Suite. The Butler (Mr. Wasantha) made us feel at home by attending to all of our needs.

The foods was brilliant. The hotel is well maintained. Ideal for couples.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuSa698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager... ., Manager at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear SuSa698,

Ayubowan !

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. I have conveyed your kind thoughts to Mr. Wasantha and the rest of the team.

Hope we will see you once again at Hunas Falls by Amaya in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at Hunas Falls Hotel for three nights to celebrate our anniversary, and felt pampered during our stay. There are many comments about the approach road on Trip Advisor, and we were prepared for the worst. We love three wheelers, so decided to take one from Kandy (after arriving from Colombo on ExpoRail, which was a great experience). The journey from Kandy to Elkaduwa cost Rs 1200 + tip which was very reasonable for the 90 min journey. It was day time and the ride was not bad at all! I can imagine it would be a little scary at night since the road is quite narrow.

The hotel reception staff were helpful and friendly, and the welcome wood apple drink was very tasty. Our room (overlooking the beautiful grounds, surrounding forest and mountains) was spacious, comfortable and well appointed with a nice balcony. The decor of the hotel is somewhat dated, the TV was old and small, and the bathroom needed an upgrade, but the surroundings, food, service and helpful staff more than made up for it.

Since it was our anniversary, we were presented with a yummy cake and a basket of fresh fruit. There were flower petals and chocolates on the bed, which was a lovely touch. Our anniversary dinner of traditional Sri Lankan rice and curries was marvellous, with 14 separate dishes!

The breakfast buffet was excellent, as were the a la carte dinners we had. The wait staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. The food is reasonably priced and menu items include all taxes and service charges.

The hotel grounds are beautifully kept, and the nearby forest and network of water falls are just gorgeous. WARNING: if it has been raining, ask for leech socks at hotel reception and wear closed shoes before venturing into the forest. We wore walking sandals, and were attacked by more than 30 leeches between us during a 20 minute walk. Leech bites are not poisonous and create impressive blood splattered wounds, but if you don't enjoy the idea of blood sucking worms clinging to your extremities and crawling up your legs, be adequately prepared!

The hotel offers a range of natural, relaxing and adventurous activities such as bush walks and trails, boating, bird watching, visits to village and tea factory. There is also a pool, library and a herbal spa.

It is a lovely place for a honeymoon, special celebration or just some R&R with the kids.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukiHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager... ., Manager at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear SukiHarding,

Ayubowan,

Thank you very much for the very positive and details review of Hunas Falls by Amaya. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would also like to thank you for selecting us to celebrate your special occasion.

The hotel is going through a refurbishment programme at the moment and all the rooms and bathrooms will be upgraded. We will upload some photos of the new bathrooms to this page for your reference.

We are sorry that your walks were disrupted by the leeches. We take every possible step to inform the guests of same and to provide leech socks as you have mentioned.

Once again, thank you very much for you very detailed review and your kind effort sharing your experiences with fellow visitors about Hunas Falls by Amaya.

We hope that we get another opportunity to welcome you back to Hunas Falls by Amaya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The view & climate was superb. Access to the hotel was bit of a problem. It take at least 1 hour to reach the hotel from Kandy city. Food was alright and the room was also good with a nice view.
It's good for recently married couples to stay few days without much disturbances from out side the world.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACTPerera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager... ., Manager at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear ACTPerera,

Ayubowan,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After staying at Cinnamon Wild , Yala, it was a bad experience. On arrival they said that there is no free Wifi even though it said complimentary wifi while booking.You have to purchase the Dialog card. On top of that, there is no WIFI in rooms, it is available only in selected area on 2nd floor.

Food was exorbitantly priced. The dinner buffet was horrible including the service.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Suman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager... ., Manager at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Suman C,

Ayubowan !
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are disappointed to note that we have not met your expectations. However, Having Read your comment, one could feel that your whole experience and comments may have been based on the non availability of WIFI facility.

We have taken your comment very seriously though and are delighted to inform you that we are working on offering free WIFI facilities in several selected areas of the hotel in the near future.

We hope to welcome you once again to Hunas Falls by Amaya in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stay there for our honeymoon, its really nice place to stay and relax. especially very good service by staff. nice atmosphere. Bit away from busy city. Can get a village feeling. I would recommend for honeymoon couples and photographs

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amila_Jaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager... ., Manager at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Amila_Jaya,

Ayubowan !

Thank you for reviewing Hunas Falls by Amaya on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to place on record our appreciation of the wonderful comments and the recommendations given about us.

We wish you all the very best for your future.

Kind Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkaduwa
1.1 mi away
Green View Holiday Resort
2.3 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
6.7 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ashburnham Estate
Ashburnham Estate
#1 of 3 in Elkaduwa
195 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
9.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunas Falls by Amaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunas Falls by Amaya

Address: Elkaduwa 21012, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hunas Falls Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Elkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Price Range: $143 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hunas Falls by Amaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A score of spectacular waterfalls tumble down over rocks and precipices throughout the cool high country of Sri Lanka. Among them is Hunas Falls, which derives its name from Hunasgiriya Peak, the forest covered mountain which overlooks this tranquil landscape. Located close to the former royal capital of Kandy, Hunas Falls provides an astonishing setting for Hunas Falls by Amaya. Sprawling gardens with walkways, flowers and the lake with a bridge to cross it, a waterfall and a mini golf course all constitute a most beautiful background to the calm serenity of your room. Considered one of the most scenic spots in the country, Hunas Falls by Amaya is an alluring Sri Lankan honeymoon hotel. It is committed to energy saving practices, recycling, giving back to the community and reducing wastage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hunas Falls by Amaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Hunas Falls Elkaduwa
Hunas Falls Hotel
Jetwing Hunas Falls Hotel Elkaduwa
Hunas Falls By Amaya Sri Lanka/Elkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing