We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashburnham Estate
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A&B Events(Matale)(Great Value!)
$14
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$76
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
200
25
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
25
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea plantationsri lankaother guestsafternoon teaone tree hillmr dascooking classthe managersprivate waterfallstunning viewsguest houselog firewatching the sunsetgreat hostsfamily roomblown awaytea picking
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 230 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent three nights at Ashburnham in late March and it turned out to be the highlight of our two week stay in Sri Lanka. Carrie and Andy were fantastic hosts. They provided some great recommendations for food and getting around which we followed (ask about the restaurant in Ella - superb!) and made our stay really comfortable. As we were the only guests at the time, they really went the extra effort to ensure we were looked after, which we appreciated. The location was stunning - eating outside on the verandah and looking at the sweeping views below was a delight. The room we stayed in had a balcony, perfect for our little 2 year old daughter to hang out on, was very clean and well presented. Even though it rained during our stay, there was still plenty to do. The short walk to the nearby waterfall was a treat. The pool (and slide) was great for a swim and we also did a cooking class with Regis, the chef. The food was definitely the highlight of our stay. Breakfast was al a carte, made to order with a large range of options. The dinners (we ordered curries) were easily the best we ate on our trip which is saying something because we ordered Sri Lankan curries everywhere we went! We were blown away with the variety of curries we were served different dishes each night, even the desserts were great. We couldn't get over how good the food was - seriously. Carrie made us scones one afternoon which was really sweet, she also made sure that our daughter's food was looked after and Andy was quick to help with fixing the flow on the shower when asked. He even offered to drive me to the waterfall one day when we were spent from trekking around! All in all, this place is highly recommended - thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101Arabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

For us this place was everything we could have wished for to make a great holiday. The only downside was the 1 hour bumby road to Kandy. We had a spacious suite with private terras overlooking a beautiful garden. Great hiking options through the villages and on the esatate. Great food prepared any moment you like (perfect when you have kids). One afternoon we did a cooking class with Reggie, the chef, and after that we are even more appreciating his splendid curries. Other afternoons were filled with splashing in the pool, some board games in the living room and we even played some tennis. There was hardly any time and space in our tummies left for the complimentary high tea. Thanks Carrie and Andy and all your staff for making this a truly special holiday.

Room Tip: The Ashburnham suite with 2 seperate rooms is great for families
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Loved the location of this bungalow, off the usual tourist path and surrounded by the tea plantations. Watching and learning about the tea picking process was excellent and there is a good walk to an old factory nearby.

The staff are lovely and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The pool is nice for a dip and the lounge comfortable for relaxing. The house is a little tired looking in places.

I was disappointed by the food. Very expensive by Sri Lankan standards ($28 for 2) and very (I never expected to say this about sri lankan food) bland! One day we were given the same curries for lunch and dinner, one dish we really disliked and didn't eat it yet we got it again that evening. Another evening the dinner was completely cold. We were never asked if the food was ok. There is no where else to eat and the food is extra to the room price.

Overall, it is a nice place to stay but over priced compared to other places. There isn't lots to do in the area, one or two nights would be enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshburnhamKandy, Manager at Ashburnham Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, we appreciate the many lovely comments you made. However, we are shocked to hear that you felt the food to be disappointing; looking through our guestbook there is praise after praise for the food. Whilst you were staying with us, you had the rice and curry for lunch and dinner for two days, I’m surprised you had it so often if you say you were not enjoying it. We serve a range of Western dishes, which you could have chosen. We are friendly, socialable hosts and are always available; therefore, if you had any problems we were here for you to raise them to and are disappointed you didn’t mention your thoughts when we could have done something to rectify it.
As stated on our website, there is a range of activities that you can do whilst staying at Ashburnham Estate, including beautiful walks and stunning scenery to enjoy, you can also take day-trips to Kandy, Dambulla and Sigiriya; no guest should ever get bored!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Ashburnham Estate for only two nights and it was by far the best two nights we have had yet in Sri Lanka.  After 3 hectic days in Kandy, we drove up to the Estate. At 2,600ft the more temperate climate is a breath of clean, fresh air. But be warned - the sun is still incredibly strong!

Run by a fun, young English couple, Carrie and Andy, the place runs like clockwork. They are more than willing to assist with routes for walks, ideas for things to do or just have an interesting chat!

We had a gorgeous twin room with our own private balcony and chairs. The room was immaculately clean, with crisp linen and pretty, but functional mosquito nets. The bathroom was large, had a strong shower with hot water and was filled with local yummy smelling shower gels ect. 

Our food was excellent. Breakfast was a large spread of delicious goodies including many things off the estate such as the tea and eggs. Highly record the buffalo curd and pancakes!!
For lunch there is a good selection to suit all tastes. The quiche is great, as is all the homemade sauces for pasta. 
Dinner is something different every night. Our first night we had a selection of different curries, dahls and salads. The second we had chicken breast in a creamy sauce with beetroot, mushrooms and roast potatoes. Pudding we had caramelised local bananas, apple crumble and home made cream. All cooked to perfection. 

Each day there is a complimentary tea with freshly baked  cupcakes and icing piped by Carrie. Everything is presented immaculately in lovely china and thought out down to the cute checkered tablecloths. 

Walk down to the private waterfall and bathe with nature. The terrace and pool both have fantastic views over the surrounding countryside and set the scene for a perfect sunset. Make sure you take a tour of the tea plantation where you learn about the whole tea process and get to try your hand too!

We loved our short stay here and will recommend highly to anyone who'll listen. Perfect for families, walking enthusiasts or as a romantic getaway - we can't wait to come back!

PS the website has the best pictures!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMG921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Heavenly setting on a tea plantation in Elkaduwa . A warm welcome by Carol and Rex who provided us with a charming hospitable stay .
Drinks on the verandah , English afternoon tea from Carol and great Far Eastern stories by Rex over GnT's

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claredesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews