We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Engadine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic retreat”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

What a fantastic find we had here. Chris and Shari-Lynn made us so welcome, they were most helpful in suggesting our daily walks and the food was great and plentiful. I said to my husband as we were leaving, 'it is a good job this is not our last night in Canada, because I would not want to go home!' Thank you for making the start of our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyPieLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
71
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Each year in June we spend a week with Inn Keepers Shari Lynn,Chris and their crew. If you are looking for an all inclusive escape right here in Alberta with a high standard of service, close attention to details and good quality you found it. The meals are the highlight of my stay....... It is like being at home but not having to lift a finger other than to entertain yourself, but then again your hosts at Mt. Engadine are excellent at entertaining you as well! We are booked in this June for our 5th year. It is complete bliss in the mountains.
Lee Anne, Jerry & Charlee (the dog)

Room Tip: We travel with our dog and stay in the Whiskey Jack Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leerudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Chris and Shari-Lynn have done a truly splendid job of providing a warm and relaxing environment to enjoy the beauty of the natural surroundings after an exhilharating hike with some delicous sweets and savories to go with the wide selection of hot and cold beverages. We're looking forward to finding the opportunity to stay overnight so we can get the full experience of lodge, especially now that the decks are wider and the new railings provide for a better view of the surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Normand L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We are so very fortunate to have Mt Engadine Lodge right here practically in our back yard !! The food, the hosts, the rooms, the views, the moose, the ambiance, the laid back atmosphere, the mountains, the air, the wild - I cannot say enough about the beauty of this place. You will not forget this wonderful place !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

If you are looking for a small backcountry lodge in the Canmore/Kananaskis area of Alberta, do not hesitate to make a reservation at the Mt. Engadine Lodge. Everything was outstanding - the innkeepers were so accommodating, friendly and knowledgeable. Chris went out of his way to give us some gas (and call the rental company to find out where the funnel was located), suggest hikes, and even write a detailed map with suggestions for a final dinner and where to wander around in Calgary before we went to the hotel there. The lodge is wonderful, with completely updated, spacious rooms with ensuite baths, a large deck overlooking a meadow where moose come to visit in the early morning and evening, and terrific meals - all 4 of them, including afternoon tea. The staff is so nice, and everyone made us feel as if we had been coming there for years. We will definitely be back and will recommend the lodge to all of our friends.
Maxine Solomon

Room Tip: Ask for the OWL room, as it is a corner room and has 2 windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bungymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We enjoyed 3 nights at this lovely lodge in Alberta last week. The inn keepers were friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious, served family style so that guests would chat with each other. With moose sightings morning and evening, and fabulous views of the mountains nearby, it is hard to imagine a prettier spot away from the crowds of tourists. We enjoyed many nearby hikes and even saw a couple of bears. Although communication with the outside world is limited while you are there, this lodge is definitely worth the ride on the gravel road from Canmore.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a view of the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife and I are two of a group of geriatric bikers who have just spent our third visit to Mount Engadine Lodge. Between 7 and 10 of us have been hiking together for nearly 10 years, including many mountain lodges in the area. This last three days of hiking were better than ever, and it is all due to the management at the lodge which exudes teamwork and a family atmosphere. The essential ingredients of a wonderful mountain experience are a) the superb location - you can drive to the door b) the rustic yet fabulously comfortable rooms c) the exquisite food - what I would call gourmetb "farmhouse fare" d) the proximity of excellent hiking in the Canadian Rockies and e) last but not least the welcome of Chris and Shari-Lynn who run a superb operation ably assisted by Bree, Carol, and Johanna. You cannot do better in the area if you want to experience hiking in the beautiful wide open spaces of Alberta, with superb advice and hospitality gratuitously thrown in

Room Tip: All rooms are superb in the main lodge - size is the only variable of note
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Engadine
14.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
10.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananas...
#13 of 33 in Kananaskis Country
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
17.0 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
17.6 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
18.4 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Engadine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Engadine Lodge

Property: Mount Engadine Lodge
Address: Mount Shark Rd, Mount Engadine, Alberta T1W 3H9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Mount Engadine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mount Engadine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Engadine Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Engadine Lodge, tucked away in the pristine Spray Valley Provincial Park, is one of Kananaskis Country's best kept secrets. This unique, all-inclusive property features back-country access to world-renowned skiing, snowshoeing and hiking, with the amenities and comforts of a modern resort. Enjoy a weekend away, or stop in for afternoon tea at our licensed restaurant. Mountain views can be admired from the comfort of many rooms, in addition to our two sitting rooms with stone fireplaces, where guests are treated year-round to the sights and sounds of local wildlife. Guests can also treat themselves to a relaxing massage or trip to the sauna. All our rooms and cabins feature private bathrooms, hot showers and can accommodate single-travellers, couples, families or corporate retreats alike. For those that just can't disconnect, complimentary WiFi is available Our front desk is available 24 hours a day with complimentary luggage and ski storage, staff recommendations for the area's best outdoor attractions as well as a gift-shop. The Lodge is located just 13 minutes away from Spray Lakes Reservoir, 38km from Canmore's town-centre and 2 hours away from the Calgary International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Mount Engadine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Engadine Lodge Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing