We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
106
37
8
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
37
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh fishfacing the roadstayed here for four nightsclose to the airportfull kitcheneach morningbeach frontpaulislandmahevillaansepensionconvenience
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 154 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2015

We absolutely LOVED our stay at Ocean Jewels Resort, from the second we arrived the owners Paul and Brenda could not have been more helpful or friendly. The villa was spacious, clean and well kitted out and the beachfront location was particularly special. The grounds were well kept by Andre the gardener with a lovely BBQ on the beach which we made use of on a couple of occasions after asking Andre to buy freshly caught fish for us.

The villa was cleaned everyday and our bed was turned back for us each day which was a pleasant surprise seeing as it;s a B&B / self-catering holiday.

The bus stop was 50 metres from the entrance and for 5Rupees you could go anywhere on the island. We stayed for 2 weeks and didn't need to hire a car as the bus service was reliable and efficient. We regularly took the bus down to the Port to catch boats across to the other islands. We ventured out to the bigger supermarket via the local bus but actually found the mini store directly opposite Ocean Jewels was more than adequate for our needs and far less hassle than getting a hot bus.

Not only did Paul & Brenda help us book our day trips and offer advise on tour companies and boat trips; Paul even came to the rescue when I stepped on a sea-urchin! He also located our lost luggage at the start of the trip (it was not transferred from our connecting flight in Abu Dhabi), and drove to the airport to pick it up before hand delivering it to our room. He really couldn't have been more helpful.

The trip was our (belayed) honeymoon and Mat and I could not have asked for a better holiday.

Room Tip: The seas facing villas were more private than the road facing apartments so if your budget can stretch, I recommend booking a villa
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fionaf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2015

I have traveled a lot and usually I never write any reference due to lack of time but Brenda and Paul and Ocean's Jewel Resort deserve my review. The location is perfect, right in front of the sea, and close to any relevant spot of the island. The resort is nice, new, big, beautiful and comfortable. But probably it is even better the way Brenda & Paul treat their guests. We were not able to stay many days in this resort since I did a mistake when booking our room but they helped us to move to a hotel near to this one after the first night. Even though we were not their guests anymore, they kept on taking care of us: they gave us great info about the island, they took us to the Lemuria resort for us to been able to go to Anse Georgette, they helped us with the ferry tickets and many other things.
Besides that, their WIFI connection is for free which could sound like peanuts but it is unusual and it helped us to be in contact with our family during those days.
Thanks Brenda & Paul for being such a fantastic hostess and for having such a great spot in your beautiful island.
Ana

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnaDS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It brings us great pleasure to assist all of our guests to ensure that they have the best vacation possible, so reading your review makes us proud that our work is being appreciated, moreover your reviews are truly invaluable to other travelers and your contributions are therefore much appreciated by all.

It was a pleasure to have been part of your vacation and once again, we thank you for having chosen our property.

We look forward to having you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Paul & Brenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2015

Thank you, Ocean Jewels team for our fantastic stay with you.

Everything was amazing, we felt like celebrities living in one of 4 villas. The service was more like in a luxury 5 star resort. If we had any questions about Praslin, places to eat or visit, Paul and Brenda were ready to help us and even organised the entrance to closed resort to visit Anse Georgette beach.

Why should you stay in Ocean Jewels:

-Villas are big, but at the same time very cozy and you will feel like you are at home
-Housekeeping is coming every day to clean the villa
-Breakfast is delicious.
-Wi-Fi is good
-Location is one of the best possible on Praslin (you’ve got many shops and restaurants in a short walking distance from resort, if you don’t wanna dine somewhere else you can always get pizza from local pizzeria which is nearby as well)
-Beach is amazing, just in 3 steps away from your door ( we had beach front villa and could hear the sound of the ocean while sitting on the balcony).
-Service is one of the best we experience while staying in different hotels. Everyone we met there had a smile on their faces and were always very polite and helpful

Why shouldn’t you stay in Ocean Jewels:

There was only one negative point: after staying in Ocean Jewels it will be difficult for you to find the same good place to stay on Seychelles))) ( we stayed in 2 more propertied on Mahe and La Digue and they were not that good as Ocean Jewels (even though it cost us less to stay in Ocean Jewels)….

Jokes aside, there was nothing negative in Ocean Jewels, we are still under impression how good the place is.

A special thank you for your surprises on our wedding day. We didn’t expect that and were very surprised to see all these decorations and gifts.

Once again thank you a lot and we hope to see you again)

Artjom and Marina

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artjom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It brings us great pleasure to assist all of our guests to ensure that they have the best vacation possible, so reading your review makes us proud that our work is being appreciated, moreover your reviews are truly invaluable to other travelers and your contributions are therefore much appreciated by all.

It was a pleasure to have been part of your vacation and once again, we thank you for having chosen our property.

We look forward to having you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Paul & Brenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2015

If you want perfection like at home, mode this place offers you will discover you do not need them.
Excellent location for walking around the Praslin. Close to the airport (you can also walk), close to the market. The rooms are well-equipped, comfortable. They have everything we needs. Even the beach is pretty good, but better to have a rent a car and and explore this beautiful island. Perhaps a little problem with the WIFI, but everything else isthe best. Definately back just in this house again if I get to Praslin.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valeriSlovenija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It brings us great pleasure to assist all of our guests to ensure that they have the best vacation possible, so reading your review makes us proud that our work is being appreciated, moreover your reviews are truly invaluable to other travelers and your contributions are therefore much appreciated by all.

It was a pleasure to have been part of your vacation and once again, we thank you for having chosen our property.

We look forward to having you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Paul & Brenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2015

Ocean Jewels is a gem on the island of Praslin. Terrific beach setting, and of course, Brenda , her husband and the staff are fabulous hosts. Breakfast each morning on the sandy beach was a real treat for us. The long long beach is amazing, as few people around and water is clean and clear. Some good beach side restaurants very close by too for romantic evening dinners. Walk the beach back to Ocean Jewels from the restaurants at night under the stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room near the beach. Bit noisy in the rooms near the main road. Wifi signal was not very strong in the rooms neither. Had to sit out on the steps nearer the office to get a stronger signal. Get up early and walk the long beach. So quiet and not many people around.
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Sun4meToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It brings us great pleasure to assist all of our guests to ensure that they have the best vacation possible, so reading your review makes us proud that our work is being appreciated, moreover your reviews are truly invaluable to other travelers and your contributions are therefore much appreciated by all.

It was a pleasure to have been part of your vacation and once again, we thank you for having chosen our property.

We look forward to having you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Paul & Brenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews