We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Praslin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Jewels Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Amitie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brad, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Praslin”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Ocean Jewels Resort from Praslin is a fantastic experience, while Brenda and Paul are very good hosts, always friendly, patient and willing to help you with anything that you need. The apartments are very cozy, while there are a lot of good places to buy food from : some small shops close-by, or larger shops from the Grand Anse Center. For those who are willing, fresh fish can be bought at a really good price, which can be cooked in the perfectly equipped kitchen.
In order to travel around Praslin island, you can rent a car or use the public transport network, which is both efficient and cheap : 5 SCR per trip, the equivalent of 0,3 euros. For efficiency in organization and in order to include as many areas of interest around the island as possible, you will need to acquire the bus timetable beforehand.
Valee de Mai is a must-see amd a really unique experience : here you will feel just like in a prehistoric forest where you would almost expect a couple of dinosaurs to suddenly appear. There are a couple of brilliant beaches that should also be included in your tour. If you want to see Anse Georgette, talk to Brenda, and she will announce your arrival to the main gate of Lemuria Resort, on whose territory you will need to pass through and which has an impressive golf field. In order to get to Anse Lazio you will have to undertake a longer road, but it's worth it. For a high point landscape of the island and the surrounding sea you should go to the zone called Zimbabwe, which is less frequented by tourists and has a number of sharp turns and steep roads on the way to the top.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank IULIAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Julian,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. Your comments and recommendations is definitely helpful to anyone dreaming of travelling to Praslin. We hope to see you back on our shore very soon.

Warm Regards,

Paul & Brenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    33
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
85
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Spacious and confortable appartement fully equiped kitchen, spotless cleaning, we had the best sleeps ever, bedding is really nice, and the owners are very kind.
The beach in front is beautiful and nice to snorkel, perfect to catch a taxi boat from there to visit islands around praslin.Thanks Paul & Brenda you made our stay very nice and confortable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JulieWorldTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear JulieworldTravel,

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to post this review. We really appreciate the special effort and again thank you for choosing us.

We look forward to having you back very soon!

Regards,

Paul & Brenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This perfectly situated hotel is No. 1 choice if you plan to stay at Praslin. First we were a little worried by airport proximity, but the planes do not disturb you any. Nice clean place, beachfront villa and attentive management make your holiday really relaxing. Self catering is a plus as you can cook whatever you want to. We would like to thank the stuff for offering us a freshly caught red snapper. To say that this fish is delicious is to say nothing about it!

We would highly recommend all our friends going and visiting this marvelous place!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Vladimir K,

Thank you for posting your review and sharing your experience. We truly enjoyed having you and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to our shores.

All the very best for 2014!

Paul & Brenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ocean Jewels Resort for 5 nights in a 1 bedroom Vila. This was well appointed. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and thought the breakfast was good. The location is ideal for getting on the bus to explore the rest of the island. Paul and Brenda are attentive hosts and nothing was too much trouble. They were very informative about Praslin which was of great help when we were deciding on our itinerary. We would certainly stay at Ocean Jewels again should we visit Praslin in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAP1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear JAP 1973,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was our pleasure to have you and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back. Your wonderful comments are much appreciated.

Thank you again!

Paul & Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent me and my wife some days in Praslin, in a trip to the Seychelles. We had an excellent stay at Ocean Jewels. We were upgraded to one of the houses in front of the beach. The house was comfortable, safe and very well equiped. The owners of the business were very attentive and helped us with everything we needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lluis-Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Lluis-Advisor,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was our pleasure to have you and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back. Your wonderful comments are much appreciated.

Thank you again!

Paul & Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the Ocean Jewels Resort for 5 days in September. We were very pleasantly surprised by the hospitality of the Owner. The hotel owners are very positive and wonderful family Paul and Brenda with two wonderful daughters Victoria and Valentina. Great house with everything you need and even more. Everything is thought out to the last detail. In the presence necessary information about the schedule of buses, ferries. Also, there are recommendations of restaurants and beaches that are worth visiting. Paul is always ready to help and to answer any question. Near the house a bus stop and shop, near a great restaurant and take away. The hotel is located near the airport, so it is better to fly from Mahe witn local airlines (15 minutes). We even regret that not stopped for a long period in this wonderful place.
On the last night of our stay Paul organized a barbecue for his friends and invited us to join. And we spent a wonderful evening in the company of interesting people. Barbecued fresh fish was also delicious. We remember the Ocean Jewels Resort with great warmth and gratitude to its owners. Highly recommend this hotel and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inna1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Inna1606,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was our pleasure to have you and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back. Your wonderful comments are much appreciated.

Thank you again!

Paul & Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet and peaceful place to stay on Praslin, then the Villas of Ocean Jewels are the right choice! Furthermore you have the unique opportunity to be very close to the famous and beautiful beaches Anse Lazio and Anse Georgette. And its a good starting point to explore this amazing Island as well!
We stayed for 9 days during August and enjoyed the coastline of Grand d' Anse during Seychelles Winter. Pure Nature! Even there will be seagrass on the beach, its a very natural and beautiful look. Coming back from a day trip and walk this beach in the evening made us very happy. The local fishermen return at night time - just look out for their boats to get the freshest fish to grill at your self catering Villa kitchen.
Paul and Brenda, the charming, kind and very helpful owners with their gorgeous kids have excellent taste, are open for all kinds of questions and try to make every wish come true.
Everything is super clean, the service personal makes an excellent everyday job, the atmosphere of this place is relaxing mind and body - just good energy!

Thank you Paul and Brenda for this nice memories, whenever we shall return to Paradise, we will come back to you!
All the best, Matthias & Iv

Room Tip: Get one of the two Villas at the beachfront - its quiet and lots of space. Get one Apartment in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wideworldwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Matthias & IV,

What can I say, you guys make a beautiful couple and we would like to take this opportunity to wish you everything of the best for your future together. Thank you for having chosen us to spend such a special occasion with.
We miss having you around and can not wait for your return to our shores. Good luck with the exhibits and your business.
Thank you for your wonderful and kind comments, we truly appreciate the effort.

Warm Wishes,

Paul, Brenda, Victoria and Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amitie
9.0 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
3.6 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.0 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Indian Ocean Lodge
Indian Ocean Lodge
#2 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Jewels Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Jewels Resort

Property: Ocean Jewels Resort
Address: Amitie | Grande Anse, Amitie, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Amitie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amitie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Jewels Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit Seychelles, the Pearl of the Indian Ocean, the Ocean Jewels Resort, will allow you to have it all, a home away from home as well as the powder-white sandy beach, literally, right outside your doorstep. These six self-catering, luxury, modern chalets, complete with air-conditioning, will give you the comfort and tranquility you desire, not to forget the flexibility to do things at your own pace and leisure.Perfectly situated near car rentals, bus stops, shops and the beach, the Resort will give you the opportunity to plan your holiday as you want it. Put away your watches and enjoy the surroundings of the Resort which will give you the chance of living the fantasy; have breakfast in a tropical garden and cocktails on the beach watching a kaleidoscope of sunset colors after a day of snorkeling, diving or island-hoping.At Ocean Jewels, your comfort is our priority. Bedding, Crockery and island warmth will all be provided at no cost to yourself. Our helpful staff will ensure that you have what you need: the space to relax with the added comfort of home. Enjoy paradise your way, at your leisure, at the Ocean Jewels Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Jewels Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Jewels Resort Praslin Island, Seychelles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing