We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty expensive........but the view is worth double!”

Surfers Beach Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Takamaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $132
Cuisines: Indian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We're that wonderful, casual seaside spot where locals gather with old friends, and meet new ones. A welcoming, comfortable place for a family meal or a high-energy afternoon-evening & late-night rendezvous for drinks and meals. The Surfers Beach Restaurant has fresh, familiar, absolutely crave-able food, with a large seasonal open patio style decking and water views from every table. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The restaurant specialises in Creole & International & Indian cuisine and is an oasis of taste and visual beauty. The restaurant is open daily from 12:00pm to 22:00pm with last orders at 21:30pm.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Wife and I called in for lunch yesterday as we where staying five minutes up the coast.
First impressions are nice enough, and while the food was really just average, it is the best menu around for choices and without a doubt the view is worth the price you pay, it is magnificent.
We sat down the front, just 15 feet from the waves rubbing up on the white sandy beach, littered with palm trees, it really is paradise and that is what pay for the luxury of, it is stunning and well worth a stop off that’s for sure.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hubz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wessex1963, General Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear hubz72
Thank you for the comments and we are glad you enjoyed the magnificent views and setting. We beg to differ on your comment that we are expensive, when in fact our prices are much better and more competitive when compared to many other restaurants and eateries in the area including all the big high end resorts. If you want even cheaper prices and on a budget then there are other options like take out places which have some great menus and choices, however they are not restaurants and you do not get a sit down service with waitrons like in licensed restaurant. All our prices are clearly indicated on the menu when ordering and are inclusive of a mandatory 15% VAT & 10% service charge. Seychelles as you are aware is a group of islands in the middle of the Indian Ocean and all restaurants and eateries rely heavily on a lot of imported ingredients and foodstuffs from reputable suppliers with the exception of a few local produce available locally. We do get many good compliments on our food overall in general and we have a wide variety on the menu and our chalk board to suit just about everyones budget. We do not charge anything for the beautiful view from the restaurant, this is for free everywhere in the Seychelles. We hope you had or still having a great holiday.
The Surfers Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered one starter to share and two mains. Green tuna curry offered two options as a side on the menu - fries or rice. I asked for fries.
Starter was surprisingly nice (spring rolls). Green tuna curry arrived with rice. No big deal, we kept it as husband ordered extra portion of rice which the waiter forgot about anyway. Promised to bring the fries asap. The green tuna curry was...well, everything but green (pictured). It actually did not have curry in it at all. Tasted like tomato puree or very, very cheap tomato sauce generously garnished with hot chilli powder. Tuna was not fresh. Husband’s octopus curry was edible but we had better in most restaurants and takeaways in Seychelles.
Service was fast compared to other restaurants in Seychelles. Nice view, plenty of parking.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank KentGirl1246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wessex1963, General Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear KentGirl1246
Thank you for the comments, we need to explain the Green Curry, in the creole language it is known as "Kari Kreol Vert" which when translated means Green creole curry. This does not mean the appearance has to be green on the contrary, it is a local Seychelles curry and they are not normally green in appearance unless it is a vegetarian curry Seychelles style. We understand there are many different cuisines which do "Green Curries" i.e most Thai & Malaysian Green Curries are prepared with a green curry paste or some green veg garnishing on top. Our curries are prepared with imported curry powder (mostly Indian or Sri-Lankan marsala ingredients), we do not use tomato sauce or tomato puree in our curries like you have mentioned, we do use fresh tomatoes with garlic & onions plus some other ingrediants grounded to make a curry paste which is then mixed and cooked with the curry sauce. For our octopus curries we do get good comments and often diners will compliment the chefs for their octopus curries. The tuna that we use is sourced locally on a weekly basis and chilled/frozen and we do not advertise it as a Fresh tuna curry. We trust you enjoyed your stay in the Seychelles and had a good holiday.
The Surfers Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A nice beach restaurant on the south east of Mahe Island. We had fish curry with our feet in the sand while overlooking the ocean. This restaurant is ideal for parents with kids as it gives them the freedom to play and swim while parents can keep an eye on them from the restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Wilmien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wessex1963, General Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Wilmien S
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are glad that you enjoyed the occasion.
The Surfers Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic beachside restaurant.We got a table beneath the coconut trees just a few feet away from the waves. We had some delicious pizzas. We had two medium pizzas for 385 SCR, which was fair and acceptable.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank ebershibin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wessex1963, General Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ebershibin
Thank you for the nice words and review, we are glad you enjoyed the occasion with the great tasting pizzas in a great location by the sea.
The Surfers Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic view.
Beautiful beach and setting.
Food is very very basic.
Not like a restaurant level.
Fish served from frozen. Curry did not have any taste.
I left very disappointed with the quality.
But for people who eat anything this place will be ok.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank 572OlgaS572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wessex1963, General Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 572OlgaS572
Your comments are noted, we are happy that you enjoyed the location and setting. For your information our fish is not frozen but chilled and prepared accordingly on order. We find it difficult to believe that your curry did not have any taste, clients are asked when ordering curries if they want it mild medium spicy or hot spicy. If you had ordered a mild curry then perhaps you may have felt it was not spicy enough. Our curries all get good comments and compliments. Our menu has a wide variety and has a lot to offer, we are a licensed restaurant. It would have been more objective and constructive in you telling us more about what you did not find appealing in your curry instead of generalizing overall by insinuating we are not a restaurant after only experiencing the food on one occasion.
The Surfers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfers Beach Restaurant also viewed

Anse Royale, Mahe Island
 

Been to Surfers Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing