We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Surfers Beach Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Takamaka
Price range: $11 - $67
Cuisines: Indian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We're that wonderful, casual seaside spot where locals gather with old friends, and meet new ones. A welcoming, comfortable place for a family meal or a high-energy afternoon-evening & late-night rendezvous for drinks and meals. The Surfers Beach Restaurant has fresh, familiar, absolutely crave-able food, with a large seasonal open patio style decking and water views from every table. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The restaurant specialises in Creole & International & Indian cuisine and is an oasis of taste and visual beauty.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
“Magical”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Truely magical experience. One of the best locations on the island. Also with open or covered seating, this venue can be enjoyed whatever the weather. Fantastic service and good food selection. Ideal for a quick bite to eat and drink or a full day enjoying the beach and good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank royal1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review on Surfers Beach Restaurant, we are truly elated to get such a good reviews from happy customers who appreciate the whole concept of a family run business and what its all about with the added finishing touches. We hope to see you again soon at the restaurant for some more of our delicious cuisine and hospitality.

Our Very Best Regards

M. Young
Manager & Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    209
    92
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Truely magical experience. One of the best locations on the island. Also with open or covered seating, this venue can be enjoyed whatever the weather. Fantastic service and good food selection. Ideal for a quick bite to eat and drink or a full day enjoying the beach and good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank royal1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear royal1972
Thanks so much for your short and excellent 5 star review on Surfers Beach Restaurant. We are so happy that you enjoyed the dining experience and also the beach and the inviting sea with its perfectly safe swimming conditions. Please don’t hesitate to return for another enjoyable day with food and good service. Your comments have been passed to the staff who enjoy getting good compliments.
Best Regards

M. Young
Manageress & Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent service and food in the most scenic spot of the island. Beach side restaurant does not come better than Surfer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank damienB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Owner at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
The pleasure was all ours and we are happy you enjoyed the experiance at Surers Beach Restaurant. We sincerely look forward to seeing you again soon on one of your many trips back to Seychelles.

Best Regards
R. Young
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Seychelles beach experience”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Fine-sand beach, calm lagoon waters, a stone's throw from the protective coral reefs (exposed at low tide) where the ocean waves break with different intensity depending on season.

Local brew is ice-cold as too the soft drinks, delicious fish dishes. Fried fish and (potato) chips on one occasion, grilled snapper in coconut curry sauce on another. Wouldn't go looking for bangers and mash in Italy, but hey, if it's your fancy, pizza is on the menu too.

Take time to relax in the outdoors, enjoy the sunshine during the day or moonlight shining off the ocean while coconut palm fronds gently sway. Feel the sand at your feet while dining at absolute sea level or perch higher up on the deck. An excellent seychelles beach experience with the convenience of food, drinks and toilet facilities.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeMeriken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Owner at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear JoeMeriken

Thank you for your visit to Surfers Beach Restaurant and your very nice review and comments. We are glad you enjoyed the overall experiance, setting, service,atmosphere and cuisine at our establishment.

We are very happy when we get such good reviews especially from those who understand what it is all about. Please do return for more of our hospitality when you return to Seychelles and we will be happy to serve and receive you again.

Once again many thanks for the business and custom.

R.Young
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pricey and bad service”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I really do not enjoy paying the 10% service charge as I do not get good service here in Seychelles.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your short review on Surfers Beach Restaurant. We note your comments about bad service and would like to say that at the moment Seychelles is in a low season and we have not been busy over the last 2 weeks, therefore your comment about bad service cannot be right. When clients enter the restaurant the waitressing staff attend to them in a timely and freindly manner and take the order which is then passed on to the kitchen,the food order is then prepared and cooked and is served to the clients within a very reasonable waiting time. It would have been more appropriate to be more specific about what you felt was bad service at our establishment and we also do realize that it is very easy for people to write bad reviews about small busineses in a negative manner. However as the majority of the reviews on Surfers Beach Restaurant are good ones and above avarage only proves to customers who read these reviews that comments such as yours cannot be reliable. Your comment was written in your overall opinion about service in the Seychelles which is unfair to do this under Surfers Beach Restaurant.

We would also like to add that a service charge is normal in Seychelles in all restaurants and is allowed by law whether it is hidden in the price of the dish or not. A percentage of this is shared amongst the staff and the rest goes to the establishment. We choose not to hide it in the price but instead charge it seperately and this is clearly stated on the menu which you would have seen when placing your order. We are also a non regitered VAT business and do not charge VAT as is the case in many other countries.

Our prices are very resonable and competitive when compared to other eateries in Seychelles and other countries in general.

Thank You

M.Young
Co-Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfers Beach Restaurant also viewed

Baie Lazare, Mahe Island
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 

Been to Surfers Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing